Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 03:16:32
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
Can the archeotech artefact Virus outbreak target a unit inside of a transport, it is within range.
|
"There is no escape from chaos, it marks us all."
"Only i can hear your prayers here my friend, and i'm afraid i will not answer them."
"It must be magnificent to see a planet writhe and scream to feel it compulse beneath your own feet, witness it dying with living eyes such marvelous spectacle, the skulls are my gift, in time perhaps i will share this gift with every living soul in the galaxy."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 03:31:25
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
That is probably going to be a judgement call. I believe archeotech rules kick in when a model gets too close. I don't have my BRB with me, but I guess any model, including transports, would kick it off. The question I have is how was the archeotech activated? By a transport or a different unit? If the transport caused it then a transport doesn't have a toughness attribute, so it can't be called upon to make that test. Therefore virus outbreak has no effect and stops there. -- If a non-transport unit caused it, then that unit has to take a toughness test. If it fails AND casualties result, then I'd say even units within a transport up to 12" away simply because the rule says "every unit within 12""
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/23 03:32:47
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 12:14:51
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
No, the only thing thats affects embarked units is a psychic power from a psyker embarked in said transport ( I.e can cast on himself and embarked unit) firing out of a firepoint and lastly exploding/stunning/shaking the transport, nothing else effects an embarked unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 17:58:59
Subject: Re:Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
Anyone else have a say? it would seem like it could affect them because it does say every unit, i think it might of clarified saying except embarked units or something?
|
"There is no escape from chaos, it marks us all."
"Only i can hear your prayers here my friend, and i'm afraid i will not answer them."
"It must be magnificent to see a planet writhe and scream to feel it compulse beneath your own feet, witness it dying with living eyes such marvelous spectacle, the skulls are my gift, in time perhaps i will share this gift with every living soul in the galaxy."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 22:46:02
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Embarked units cannot normally be targetted
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 00:37:21
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Embarked units aren't being targeted as there is no to hit roll and LOS doesn't come into play. It's an area of effect that occurs in the movement phase; so nothing about LOS, cover, etc have any meaning.
To restate: the rule simply says " Every unit within 12...". Emphasis on the "every" part. An embarked unit would qualify here as there isn't a rule specifically excluding it from "every" and nothing in the shooting section applies.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 02:06:41
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
clively wrote:
Embarked units aren't being targeted as there is no to hit roll and LOS doesn't come into play. It's an area of effect that occurs in the movement phase; so nothing about LOS, cover, etc have any meaning.
To restate: the rule simply says " Every unit within 12...". Emphasis on the "every" part. An embarked unit would qualify here as there isn't a rule specifically excluding it from "every" and nothing in the shooting section applies.
The unit is removed from the board when it embarks. Therefore it does not matter that there is no "to hit roll". Look at the precedents.. you cannot shoot the unit, you cannot target them with psychic powers, or demonic powers (boon of mutation), nor special abilities (Doom's spirit leech). A Grey Knight Librarian failing a Vortex of Doom roll while embarked, does not affect the unit inside.
You will be hard pressed to find anything that is allowed to affect the unit inside a transport, unless its in the transport with it. I can think of SiTW offhand.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 02:44:17
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Your right that not much impacts passengers. Shaken and stunned results on VDT do, but the mechanics for that are very different than this.
Regarding the location of the unit, while embarked they can make shooting attacks out of the vehicle. I think this is a strong indication that they don't just go to vapor but are considered still there...
You mentioned SiTW. Interestingly, that power has very similar verbiage to the archeotech one. "Any enemy psyker within 12"..." and, as you point out, does impact embarked units.
Although Spirit Leech, same codex, also has similar verbiage and was faq'd to be clear that it doesn't impact embarked units.
I don't think there's a RAW answer here.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 04:48:20
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
We have played that it effects embarked units in open-topped transports, but not in closed-topped ones. It's a bit fluffy, but theoretically the virus couldn't get through the vehicle seals/air cleaners.
Although, perhaps the virus is especially nasty. I think it's up to you. Maybe discuss it beforehand? Or, if you and the opponent can't agree, re-roll the Archeotech.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 14:02:41
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Flailing Flagellant
|
I believe that RAI is that the embarked passengers are not affected by these types of effects. Nevertheless, the only potentially relevant rules quote under the Transports section of the rulebook is:
If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.
This is normally interpreted to be talking about special wargear and abilities that benefit friendly models; however, I see no reason why beneficial abilities are all that need to be covered by this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 19:26:50
Subject: Virus Outbreak
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Agreed. It does appear to me that this should and will affect a unit in a transport.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 22:45:28
Subject: Re:Virus Outbreak
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
Alright guys thanks, we imagined it as to be a massive shell or something from the Horus heresy on istvaan 3 and compared it be like the life eater bombs or whatever they were called, and since they only got into the dreadnought because his armour was cracked we decided that it shouldn't get into the transports either. I think if your vehicle has lost any hull points that you should and / well play it as it can affect the embarked unit.
|
"There is no escape from chaos, it marks us all."
"Only i can hear your prayers here my friend, and i'm afraid i will not answer them."
"It must be magnificent to see a planet writhe and scream to feel it compulse beneath your own feet, witness it dying with living eyes such marvelous spectacle, the skulls are my gift, in time perhaps i will share this gift with every living soul in the galaxy."
|
|
 |
 |
|