Switch Theme:

Blessing oneself in CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Cincinnati, Ohio

I had a small match my my bro (wolfmerc) and his CSMs, and i had a librarian locked in cc with 5 TLC chosen and a lord. I cast Endurance on my librarian on the utrn i charged, and it was my turn. I wanted to cast endurance on myself, and i check the rules and there was nothing that endorsing or restricting me from blessing myself in CC. My brother was not sure about, since he is concentrated about the cc. Rules say that a blessing can affect someone in cc, but what if the caster is in cc himself?

Blood Ravens 2nd Company (C:SM)
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You have permission to cast a blessing at the start of the turn.

If the caster is in CC, and "Rules say that a blessing can affect someone in cc" then the blessing can affect the caster even if he is in CC.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

To further answer what I think you might ask next - nothing in the assault rules prevent you from casting psychic powers if the psyker is locked in combat, UNLESS said powers are psychic shooting attacks, as they count as a shooting attack would.

Such a rule would give Grey Knights a migraine...

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






psykers can manifest even if they are falling back or have gone to ground,

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

page 68 wrote:Blessings can affect units in close combat and can affect the psyker himself.


There is no restriction in the rulebook on casting psychic powers while in combat, except of course for Witchfires and other Psychic Shooting Attacks, which count as shooting.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






Yes you can.

Of course you would have to wait until the beginning of your next turn to cast it


In peace, sons bury their fathers. In war, fathers bury their sons.
-Herodotus


I am Blue/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both selfish and rational. I'm scheming, secretive and manipulative; I use knowledge as a tool for personal gain, and in turn obtaining more knowledge. At best, I am mysterious and stealthy; at worst, I am distrustful and opportunistic.

...a true eldar 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 nonowho wrote:
Of course you would have to wait until the beginning of your next turn to cast it

Well that is what he said...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/25 04:57:58


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in se
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Sweden

hmm, interesting.

how about Njals special tempest abilities? do they go off unhindered if he is in combat? and affect units around him, including the unit he is locked in combat with?
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







Njal's power always works, at the start of his turn of course and ending at the end of the game turn.

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 KGatch113 wrote:


Njal's power always works, at the start of his turn of course and ending at the end of the game turn.

This is wrong, only result 3 is limited to ending that game turn. The rest go on until the next dice roll for that power.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/27 02:04:43


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: