Switch Theme:

Jaws and Re-animation protocalls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

 Happyjew wrote:


Right, it sets a precedent that psychic powers that do not require LoS cannot be used by an embarked psyker.

Q: Can Saint Celestine use her Miraculous Intervention special rule
against attacks that remove models from play? (White Dwarf, August
2011, Page 103)
A: Yes.

And no other codex I'm aware of has the Miraculous Intervention special rule.


That's true, but the Eldar Power FAQ is far more specific than the Miraculous Intervention one as the Eldar Power FAQ only makes mention of Eldar psykers.

i.e:

Yes, Eldar Psykers cannot cast powers that do not require LoS from a transport but this does not set a precedent to effect any other psyker as they are not Eldar psykers.

Yes, Celestine can get up from effects which "remove from play". Yet, her wording in the rule only makes mention of being "removed as a casualty". Is this not then applicable to models with RPs because they have a similar rule which discusses "removed as a casualty"?

Iranna.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 21:52:09


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

And the St. C FAQ only makes mention of St. C. Maybe I'm not understanding your argument.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

 Happyjew wrote:
And the St. C FAQ only makes mention of St. C. Maybe I'm not understanding your argument.


Perhaps not.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
 Iranna wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Well, if we are using a single question as precedent, then that means an embarked psyker cannot cast powers that do not require LOS, as set by the Eldar FAQ.


"Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No."

You are correct, if said psyker is an Eldar psyker using Farseer powers. It's quite specific there, no other codex that I'm aware of is an Eldar psyker which uses Farseer powers.

Iranna.


Right, it sets a precedent that psychic powers that do not require LoS cannot be used by an embarked psyker.

Q: Can Saint Celestine use her Miraculous Intervention special rule
against attacks that remove models from play? (White Dwarf, August
2011, Page 103)
A: Yes.

And no other codex I'm aware of has the Miraculous Intervention special rule.


Ah excellent, so I can still cast Eldar Farseer powers on units embarked on a transport while my Farseer is outside! Thanks very much for your one word answer GW.
   
Made in gb
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Fenris, Drinking

yet again i am going to sound like an idiot here


"miraculous intervention" (specific to St C)
"R.P" (GENERAL necron rule)

in the Faq R.P specifically says "last laugh" and gives no mention to JOTWW or any other thing that simply removes models.

So how can you cross Faq's to get the answer you want, you must go by the codex Faq if unsure, otherwise there would be lots of "crossing for advantage"(?).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 22:22:22


"They can't say no when they are stunned "- Taric

SINCE I STARTED KEEPING TRACK
5000(7 drop-pods)pts (15/10/4)
200pts(lol)
1500pts (10/0/0)
Other:(7/0/0) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





yakface,

Why is the St. C ruling precedent that crosses codexes and tells you your opposition (in this debate) is making an argument based on a fallacy, but only Eldar cannot casts yet powers while embarked?

Same basic wording to the questions (very specific to the relevant codex), same type of answer (simple yes/no). Unless you're for every Psyker being unable to cast while embarked - I'd like to not misrepresent your opinion.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
yakface,

Why is the St. C ruling precedent that crosses codexes and tells you your opposition (in this debate) is making an argument based on a fallacy, but only Eldar cannot casts yet powers while embarked?

Same basic wording to the questions (very specific to the relevant codex), same type of answer (simple yes/no). Unless you're for every Psyker being unable to cast while embarked - I'd like to not misrepresent your opinion.


So in this case, a Hellhound can fire smoke launchers during a scout move, but the BAAL across the table cannot..lol
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Unit1126PLL wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
yakface,

Why is the St. C ruling precedent that crosses codexes and tells you your opposition (in this debate) is making an argument based on a fallacy, but only Eldar cannot casts yet powers while embarked?

Same basic wording to the questions (very specific to the relevant codex), same type of answer (simple yes/no). Unless you're for every Psyker being unable to cast while embarked - I'd like to not misrepresent your opinion.


So in this case, a Hellhound can fire smoke launchers during a scout move, but the BAAL across the table cannot..lol

Technically correct. In 5th edition. Since Scout isn't a move in 6th no one can launch smoke.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 strybjorn Grimskull wrote:
yet again i am going to sound like an idiot here


"miraculous intervention" (specific to St C)
"R.P" (GENERAL necron rule)

in the Faq R.P specifically says "last laugh" and gives no mention to JOTWW or any other thing that simply removes models.

So how can you cross Faq's to get the answer you want, you must go by the codex Faq if unsure, otherwise there would be lots of "crossing for advantage"(?).


People try and cross for advantage all of the time. Even when the precedent they are using is directly contradicted by a different codices FAQ. I've seen this come up recently with the release of DA. Their terminators are technically not allowed to take a CML + storm shield by the book, players have tried to use the precedent set by Ork nobs taking a power claw as a way of showing that the order of which your purchase wargear matters IE you buy the TH/SS, replace all wargear, then buy a CML. But the BA FAQ concerning Furioso librarians tells us that no, you absolutely can not do this. Which FAQ do we listen to?

Until something official is said about these questionable rules, players and TO's alike are going to have to make their own house rules to allow or disallow things. I just hope that they are consistent with what they allow. if we're using the SOB FAQ for st.C to say that all removed from play effects treat things as casualties, that's fine... It's not official, but it will work for some events/stores.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





 Happyjew wrote:
 Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
The only precedent set by St. Celestine is that a model must have a rule that specifically overrides removed from play. Miraculous intervention does just that. We see that in the case of Lukas and Last Laugh that MI and RP/EL go out of there way to specifically negate the removed from play from Last Laugh.


Last Laugh is a bad example as it RFPaaC (assuming a difference between RFPaaC and RFP).


The rules and FAQ would disagree with you,

Q: Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g. Necrons, St.
Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule even after being removed
from play by The Last Laugh? (p52)
A: Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule works just
fine.


Last Laugh removes from play, however RP/EL and MI are given specific permission to override Last Laugh.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Jefffar wrote:
Just to point out, the Sweeping Advance rules specify that models are removed as casualties and do not allow Reanimation Protocols.

So yes, it is possible for a Necron model to get removed as a casualty and not get Reanimation Protocols.


Sweeping advance does not disallow RP from working by itself. But all RP counters are removed the moment the unit loses its morale check because of the RP wording. On the other hand Everliving counters stay and can be rolled at the end of the phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 22:40:28


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Does EL Specify it can come back after a SA? I did not think it mentioned it.

From the Sweeping Advances section: (p.26-27)
"Unless otherwise specified, no save or other special rule can rescue the unit at this stage" P.27

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




No save or any other rule rescued the model. It got removed from play. The EL counter is not the model. It's just a counter.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/26 22:42:45


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Doesn't say model, it says unit.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





Why is using smoke launchers after a scout move coming into the argument here? Using them is now in the shooting phase, so its a moot point regardless as using scout doesn't invoke shooting.

I would argue that strict RAW would require RFP to be different from RFPaaC. Neither term is defined fully defined in the ruleset, so why assume they are treated identically within that same ruleset? I can't think of an instance where RFP and RFPaaC is used interchangeably within the discussion of the same rule.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




copper.talos wrote:
No save or any other rule rescued the model. It got removed from play. The EL counter is not the model. It's just a counter.

So, you rescued the model, that was a member of the unit, but havent rescued the unit?

Nice doublethink.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
The only precedent set by St. Celestine is that a model must have a rule that specifically overrides removed from play. Miraculous intervention does just that. We see that in the case of Lukas and Last Laugh that MI and RP/EL go out of there way to specifically negate the removed from play from Last Laugh.


Last Laugh is a bad example as it RFPaaC (assuming a difference between RFPaaC and RFP).


The rules and FAQ would disagree with you,

Q: Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g. Necrons, St.
Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule even after being removed
from play by The Last Laugh? (p52)
A: Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule works just
fine.


Last Laugh removes from play, however RP/EL and MI are given specific permission to override Last Laugh.


Last laugh removes from play as a casualty. It says so in the rules. RP and EL have general permission to override last laugh.
I understand though where you may have gotten confused as it kicks in whenever he is "removed from play".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/27 01:24:51


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

rigeld2 wrote:
yakface,

Why is the St. C ruling precedent that crosses codexes and tells you your opposition (in this debate) is making an argument based on a fallacy, but only Eldar cannot casts yet powers while embarked?

Same basic wording to the questions (very specific to the relevant codex), same type of answer (simple yes/no). Unless you're for every Psyker being unable to cast while embarked - I'd like to not misrepresent your opinion.


The difference in the two situations is that in the rulebook the rules clearly state that if a psychic power doesn't require line of sight it can be cast into/out of transports. So GW's ruling on the Eldar powers is a contradiction of what the rules clearly state.

Therefore, the Eldar ruling is an exception to the stated rules. Because there are clear rules in place regarding psychic powers into/out of transports, we cannot simply apply the Eldar ruling to every other power that doesn't require LOS because doing so would be contradicting the printed rules.


In the case of 'remove from play' attacks, the rules do not state that there exists such a thing as a 'remove from play' model that is quantifiably different than a casualty (and what that actually means for other game situations), so in THIS case, the St. Celestine ruling is not contradicting any basic rules but rather helping to cast light on the nebulous question of: does a model that gets removed via 'removed from play' count as being a casualty or not?



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

While I grant you that under the 6th edition rules they have cleaned it up and used only destroyed and removed as a casualty to refer to the outcome of bad things happening to a squad. It also says that destroyed models are removed from play as casualties. Did a bit of reading and they have managed to proof read that out of the book (not that they didn't miss so much other stuff).

I don't buy it was a precedent in 5th for necrons but that was from 5th ed where there did look to be multiple ways to be taken off the board, in 6th there is no way to remove a model that is not either ongoing reserves, a replacement or a casualty. Jaws does RFP but there is no way to remove a model from the board without it falling into either of the two catagories in the brb. Unless there is any rules that say how RFP works or equates it to being locked in ongoing reserves I don't think there is much else to say on the issue.

So using celestine as precedent in 6th, Jaws is rfpaac since celestine's rules say when she is a casualty but the faq says her rule works on RFP. So necrons get their RP and EL.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/02/27 03:33:41


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

 yakface wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
yakface,

Why is the St. C ruling precedent that crosses codexes and tells you your opposition (in this debate) is making an argument based on a fallacy, but only Eldar cannot casts yet powers while embarked?

Same basic wording to the questions (very specific to the relevant codex), same type of answer (simple yes/no). Unless you're for every Psyker being unable to cast while embarked - I'd like to not misrepresent your opinion.


The difference in the two situations is that in the rulebook the rules clearly state that if a psychic power doesn't require line of sight it can be cast into/out of transports. So GW's ruling on the Eldar powers is a contradiction of what the rules clearly state.

Therefore, the Eldar ruling is an exception to the stated rules. Because there are clear rules in place regarding psychic powers into/out of transports, we cannot simply apply the Eldar ruling to every other power that doesn't require LOS because doing so would be contradicting the printed rules.


In the case of 'remove from play' attacks, the rules do not state that there exists such a thing as a 'remove from play' model that is quantifiably different than a casualty (and what that actually means for other game situations), so in THIS case, the St. Celestine ruling is not contradicting any basic rules but rather helping to cast light on the nebulous question of: does a model that gets removed via 'removed from play' count as being a casualty or not?


Agreed, although you've slightly misdescribed how the rulebook describes LOS and casting in transports. Rather than explicitly stating that powers which don't require LOS can be cast from inside transports, it states that because you can't draw LOS from inside a transport to units outside, a psyker can only cast powers which require LOS on himself, on the transport, or on other units in the transport. Either way, your same reasoning applies.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: