Switch Theme:

instant death with template  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have a group of scarabs that were attacked with a large blast weapon. The shot was scattered and only hit 2 of my scarab bases. I understand that the attack was instant death. But if there is more wounds then there are models withing the template then do the wounds get transferred to the rest of the unit. thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/27 00:12:22


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Yes they do.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Yes, but keep in mind the wounds are doubled after allocation so you would still only lose 2 bases.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kevin949 wrote:
Yes, but keep in mind the wounds are doubled after allocation so you would still only lose 2 bases.

That depends on the unit composition.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/497144.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/27 00:44:44


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Sorry for not expounding. Death Reaper is correct, in my opinion. If a unit with the Swarm type and identical saves suffers the wounds, then you will lose four bases in your example. If the unit has mixed saves, then they might only suffer two, depending on the physical disposition of the models.

That being said, the thread Death Reaper has linked to appears to be incredibly divisive on this issue, with some strong opinions on both sides. I recommend at least skimming it so that you know the arguments on either side, and then presenting it to your local group to see how they feel about it.

I also recommend keeping a small list of the grey areas in the rules which will affect your army or list composition, and check ahead of time with any TOs you will be playing under. This would be a perfect issue to put on that list, since both sides have reasonable, lucid arguments. (Rigeld and Death Reaper both make good cases for their points, in particular.) I wager that in any lengthy gaming career, you may run into TOs with vastly differing opinions on this, and you can avoid any unpleasantness by finding out ahead of time how they are going to rule it should work.

Hope that helps, and sorry for the brevity of my first response.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




They FAQ'd this for previous editions, why not this one?
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Pyrian wrote:
They FAQ'd this for previous editions, why not this one?


or better yet, read through their faq's and make the rule book clearer

 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






 Kevin949 wrote:
Yes, but keep in mind the wounds are doubled after allocation so you would still only lose 2 bases.


that also depends on if you think you can allocate two wounds at the same time as well, in both mixed saves and the method prior to it, models are allocated wounds, one at a time, until they are casualties, allocating more wounds to a model then the # it actually has when other eligible models still left is also an issue with the theory that ID+swarm blast works differently then last edition,


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





easysauce wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Yes, but keep in mind the wounds are doubled after allocation so you would still only lose 2 bases.


that also depends on if you think you can allocate two wounds at the same time as well, in both mixed saves and the method prior to it, models are allocated wounds, one at a time, until they are casualties, allocating more wounds to a model then the # it actually has when other eligible models still left is also an issue with the theory that ID+swarm blast works differently then last edition,

Except of course that the doubled wound is never allocated because its never in the wound pool.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
easysauce wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Yes, but keep in mind the wounds are doubled after allocation so you would still only lose 2 bases.


that also depends on if you think you can allocate two wounds at the same time as well, in both mixed saves and the method prior to it, models are allocated wounds, one at a time, until they are casualties, allocating more wounds to a model then the # it actually has when other eligible models still left is also an issue with the theory that ID+swarm blast works differently then last edition,

Except of course that the doubled wound is never allocated because its never in the wound pool.

It is when the target unit has the same save, as the wounds are doubled before allocation. (But we do not need to rehash the thread I linked so we can probably drop it for now and wait for an FaQ).

But OP read that 14 page thread and come to a consensus with your group about it. If you are at a tournament ask the TO.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

It comes down to when the wounds are doubled. If they are doubled in the wound pool then you are doubling them before allocation. The wounds have to be suffered to be doubled. The previous thread came down to that exact argument. What qualifies suffering the wound?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Seconded..
It really comes down to the timing, which is unclear by the rules.

Luckily for me, all non-swarm-players decided to "do the logical thing" and said that we do not lose double the templates.
They came to that conclusion because they found it 'weird' that doing it any other way would allow templates to kill more bases than it covers.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

If you look at my posts in that thread I don't believe it is unclear. It's fairly clear if you look at the wording of abilities.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Gravmyr wrote:
If you look at my posts in that thread I don't believe it is unclear. It's fairly clear if you look at the wording of abilities.

You must not have read the 14 page thread about it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






It does not matter, allocating and resolving wounds is "always" done the same way. The "Same Save" method is to save time, not a hard and fast difference in the rules.

Even the fast dice insert alludes to this right at the beginning of it.

But it really does not matter, a wound is not suffered until it is allocated and unsaved. A wound caused means nothing in this instance.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Right, and when are wounds unsaved in a same save unit? (Before allocation).

OP. Read the attached thread, it has been very well milled over. Come to a decision before games with your opponents and see how they would like to handle it. Or at a tournament ask a TO.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/28 07:21:51


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 DeathReaper wrote:
Right, and when are wounds unsaved in a same save unit? (Before allocation).

OP. Read the attached thread, it has been very well milled over. Come to a decision before games with your opponents and see how they would like to handle it. Or at a tournament ask a TO.


Does not matter...a wound is not suffered until is unsaved AND allocated.

Also I've started posting in the other thread.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

My thinking is that, assuming the scarab unit is in open ground - essentially the unsaved wounds get doubled.

So:

2 scarabs out of a unit of 5 get his by a S6 blast.

that's 2 instant death wounds by template which = 4 instant death.
4 bases removed.



BUT - if the 2 bases hit were the only ones visable and they were hit by anythgin other than a barrage weapon then the wounds could only be applied to uits in LOS - so only 2 bases woudl be removed.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Let's not have a discussion in two threads at once.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: