Switch Theme:

40k 6th Ed: Do you get an invulnerable save versus perils of the warp?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Beast of Nurgle






Nottingham, England

Having a discussuon at work, so unfortuantely I don't have the rule book on me, but a friend feels that; 'You cant take invulnerable against perils buddy it says no saves of any kind allowed'.

My counter argument is that the invulnerable saves wording states something along the lines of; 'you always get an invulnerable save even if no saves are allowed'.

I checked the FAQ, nothing on Perils though you do get to make a FNP * save. Surely if you get a FNP save you get an invulnerable (and you certainly did in 5th Ed).

Any thoughts ** on this folks?



*
Q: Can the Feel No Pain special rule be used to resist a Wound
suffered from the Perils of the Warp? (p35)
A: Yes.

**
Please base comments on actual rules descriptions - I'm not interested in peoples grey/wooly/fuzzy/unspecfic opinions [which often happens with posts like this] - just the facts of the rules...

BennyB

Personal Gallery Links

Chaos Daemons of Nurgle 
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






I think the wording was something like 'no saves of any kind' (IIRC)
FNP isn't a save, so you do get it. I don't have my rulebook atm, so I can't quote but thats how we play it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 13:14:25


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Perils of the Warp says "no saves of any kind allowed"

In addition, Invulnerable Save rules never say they can always be taken, only that they can be taken even in cases that would deny an armour save.

It's absolutely clear cut, you are incorrect in this instance, you can't roll any sort of save against Perils.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






ignore this. mis-post

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 13:14:12


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Also - FNP is explicitly NOT a save. It states exactly that in the rules for FNP
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





No saves of any kind allowed = 'not allowed to take an invulnerable save'. It's pretty clear-cut.

The FNP ruling is the mildly confusing bit, but is specifically FAQ-ed as allowed, presumably since it doesn't count as a save. (which may raise it's own issues, but fortunately means your FNP-ed psyker gets that little bit of extra protection.)
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Eldar Farseers also get Ghost helms, that negate perils on a 4+. It's not a save either
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Khalbrae wrote:
Eldar Farseers also get Ghost helms, that negate perils on a 4+. It's not a save either


Which is why Fortune does nothing for it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Think it's a 3 plus on farseers. I think it's been answered well for you. Brb say no, so it's a NO.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Lungpickle wrote:
Think it's a 3 plus on farseers. I think it's been answered well for you. Brb say no, so it's a NO.


It is a 3+. Small part of the reason why I've never suffered Perils. That and I generally roll really well for Leadership. Doesn't help with hitting/wounding/saving though...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in se
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






 Happyjew wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
Think it's a 3 plus on farseers. I think it's been answered well for you. Brb say no, so it's a NO.


It is a 3+. Small part of the reason why I've never suffered Perils. That and I generally roll really well for Leadership. Doesn't help with hitting/wounding/saving though...


Sorry about the of topic, but last battle I had Eldrad die in the second turn beacause of his second failed perils/faild helm protection that battle. Clearly eldar psychers need FNP to be usefull again
Again sorry, I guess Im still working through the trauma.

Trolls n Robots, battle reports på svenska https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbeiubugFqIO9IWf_FV9q7A 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




 Drunkspleen wrote:
Perils of the Warp says "no saves of any kind allowed"

In addition, Invulnerable Save rules never say they can always be taken, only that they can be taken even in cases that would deny an armour save.

It's absolutely clear cut, you are incorrect in this instance, you can't roll any sort of save against Perils.


" they can be taken even in cases that would deny an armour save" this is the same thing as saying you are allowed your inv save which superseeds the perils ruling of no saves of anykind.

this part is exactly why I'm still unclear about it. The wording is so bad (once again). Mentioning the AP in the ruling only took people away from the definition itself.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It's not an armour save being denied.
It's all saves of any kind.

And do you really need to re-open a thread that died over 7 months ago?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: