Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/04 08:08:33
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
So after looking over my roommate's copy of the new Daemon codex we found an interesting point about the Icons, unlike other pieces of equipment that reduce or stop Deep Strike scatter, the icons do not specify that they must be on the board at the beginning of the turn. So if you have a unit with an Icon and an Instrument and it uses the Instruments rule to bring in another unit that unit can use the Icon of the first. We couldn't agree on the result of this, my main point was that units coming in from Deep Strike cannot make use of rules and abilities that weren't present at the beginning of turn. I'm curious how Dakka interprets this rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/04 08:36:46
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
RAW: You have it correct. Icon/Instrument combo for a 1-2 drop is legal, because neither requires you to be on the table at the start of the turn.
Previously, it was always the case and stated that it MUST be on the table before the start of the turn (Teleport Homers, Locator Beacons, previous Icons of Chaos) That is not the case any longer. Welcome to the new age of Chaos!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/04 12:21:06
Subject: Re:Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Left Coast
|
Since the instrument simply allows you to enter from reserve without a dice roll, the two issues are really separate (except when we look at setting precedence in RAI). The instrument explicitly works when off the table. The icon must be on the table, but does not explicitly mention that it must be on the table at the start of the round (as it did in the previous codex). So, RAW the 1-2 combo works. RAI - no way to know as this codex is a sweeping change... Since the instrument works off the table and no mention is made in the icon language about when it must be there I would personally say RAI it should work as soon as it hits the table. Only time and and FAQ has the possibility of changing this one IMHO.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 3413/03/04 19:49:55
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Also the Warlord Trait Warp Beacon states that you're warlord must be on the table at the start of the turn to use it so I'm guessing no such restriction on the Icons.
|
Slottabases for the Slottabase God!
Daemon host - 2000
Death Guard & Iron Wraiths Chaos Space Marines - 1500 pts incl. mini's from my Daemon Host
Beastmen Warherd - between 1000-1250 points (depending on magic items etc.)
Necromunda/RT Genestealer Cult
Necromunda/RT Beastmen Cult
Old West Lawmen + Cowboys posses
VSF British
Hasslefree Mesaan Army (wip)
Various Post Apocalyptic minis and vehicles for Wasteland 3 Meltdown |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/04 23:00:47
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From page 125 of the Warhammer 40K 6th edition rulebook:
Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve.
That would prevent the tactic from working.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/04 23:04:02
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Please show where it must be used " at the start of the turn", as the Icon is used after rolling for reserves, which is after the startr of the turn....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 02:53:49
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Unless it has been changed from previous editions, don't all reserves for that turn arrive simultaneously at the beginning of the turn?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 03:21:15
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Left Coast
|
Ghaz wrote:Unless it has been changed from previous editions, don't all reserves for that turn arrive simultaneously at the beginning of the turn?
Without regard for what the rules said last edition (as I didn't look at them) in this edition you:
1. Roll for each unit being held in reserve, one at a time; then
2. Deploy each unit, one at a time.
Page 124, middle left column.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 05:13:47
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Page 124, middle right column:
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below. Then he picks another unit and deploys it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal.
Since the Movement Phase is the start of the turn and there are no sub-phases, it can be argued that anything that happens before voluntary movement occurs 'at the start of the turn'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 05:26:14
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
Left Coast
|
Ghaz wrote:Page 124, middle right column:
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below. Then he picks another unit and deploys it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal.
Since the Movement Phase is the start of the turn and there are no sub-phases, it can be argued that anything that happens before voluntary movement occurs 'at the start of the turn'.
You're free to argue anything you want, but you're not making a compelling case. I don't see anything that refers to start of the turn in this edition...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 05:39:58
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
All actions which happen at the start of the movement phase are happening at the start of the turn. The FAQ ruling n psychic powers and arrival from Reserve reinforces this.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 05:58:04
Subject: Daemon Icons Question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
punchdub wrote:I don't see anything that refers to start of the turn in this edition...
Other than the rule I've already quoted and given a page reference for?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|