Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 07:52:28
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This is an issue that has come up in a number of my games, and I was wondering what the general consensus for this issue is. The question is simple,
If a wing/other sticky out bit of a flyer/FMC (a model that CAN enter ongoing reserves) hangs over the edge of the table, BUT the models base is entirely on the table and not touching the edge, what happens? Can it be placed like this and stay on the board, is it forced into reserve should the player choose to leave it like this?
How is this generally played? Is there an official ruling on this?
If the ruling comes out that it is made to go into reserve, this makes it an impossible position for your Flyer to be placed in on the turn it arrives?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 08:16:45
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Eldercaveman wrote:
If a wing/other sticky out bit of a flyer/ FMC (a model that CAN enter ongoing reserves) hangs over the edge of the table, BUT the models base is entirely on the table and not touching the edge, what happens?
What happens in my group is that you are told that you haven't deployed/moved correctly, and that you need to change the position of the model.
Unless this is about a Flyer wishing to leave the table and enter Ongoing Reserves....which it then does.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 09:24:10
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. You havent got any choice when moving on from reserves - you cannot end your move hanging off the board. If you do you are either destroyed (which was the old FAQ'd method for resolving this) or, more easily, you simply alter your movement so you ARENT hanging off the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 12:34:32
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:As above. You havent got any choice when moving on from reserves - you cannot end your move hanging off the board. If you do you are either destroyed (which was the old FAQ'd method for resolving this) or, more easily, you simply alter your movement so you ARENT hanging off the board.
As above. It's not a legal move to end with any part of the model hanging off the table edge. So the player has to correct the move to be legal.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 16:32:13
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok, so now how do I prove is?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 16:46:25
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You cannot enter play and leave play into on-going reserves on the same turn. You have to move such that that doesn't happen.
I'd rule it as the base of the model is fully on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 17:10:14
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
BRB page 125 simply states "When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move fully onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge"
That is as specific as it gets. Does this include wings on *non-vehicle* models that are entering from reserves/deepstriking (which would normally be ignored for purposes of LOS or targeting models?) or does it not?
I personally feel it includes the entire model (must move *fully* onto the table) as there is no mention of bases, but rather the unit as a whole. Unless this has been FAQ'd/Errata'd I don't think there is a 100% clear answer though.
(edited to specify what kind of "wings" i was talking about)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/05 17:39:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 17:26:53
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Wings are hull for vehicles and therefore targetable and part of the model to draw LoS to. Therefore they can't be off the table.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 17:34:40
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
rigeld2 wrote:Wings are hull for vehicles and therefore targetable and part of the model to draw LoS to. Therefore they can't be off the table.
Fully agreed, on vehicles.
When I mentioned wings, I was actually thinking models such as the BA Saquinary Guard type of wings. It's this case that I would say it's unclear. For vehicles, absolutely they cannot hang off the edge in any way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 17:40:10
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
For non vehicle models I'd be fine with saying that just the base needs to be on the table.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 22:29:16
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
rigeld2 wrote:For non vehicle models I'd be fine with saying that just the base needs to be on the table.
Why?
There is a list of (sort of) specific parts of a model that are ignored under specific circumstances.
There is no reason to apply those rules under other circumstances.
I say; no overhanging at all.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/05 22:39:45
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Steelmage99 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:For non vehicle models I'd be fine with saying that just the base needs to be on the table.
Why?
There is a list of (sort of) specific parts of a model that are ignored under specific circumstances.
There is no reason to apply those rules under other circumstances.
I say; no overhanging at all.
Because then a) you're penalizing a model for being cool (potentially) b) there's no rule allowing you to ever use a model's wings as the basis for anything. Since you pretty much only ever measure to the base of a non-vehicle model there's no reason to penalize them for overhang. The base is the only thing used to determine if a model can move between things, so why should an overhanging arm stop you from being too close to the edge of the map?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/06 02:33:06
Subject: Flyers, board edges and ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok this problem is more occurring with flyers, so I am more interested n the proof with that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|