Switch Theme:

Dominating Flags in Steamroller 2013  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







For some reason I have in my head that you only dominate flags on your turn, not on enemy turns. I'm looking at the Steamroller 2013 rules and the only thing along those lines that I see is that if two warcasters/warlocks are dominating the same flag then only the active player dominates the flag. I don't see any other reason that someone can't dominate on an enemy turn.

Did I miss something? If not, why would I have heard you can't dominate in an enemy turn?

Thanks in advance!
   
Made in us
Druid Warder




SLC UT

You probably just heard a misinterpretation of the tactical tip. The reason that the rule exists is to make it so that if two casters are fighting over a zone and nothing else contests, someone will score first. It also cleans up multi-caster games and such a bit.

And stuff.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

A caster can dominant in their turn.
A caster cannot contest by themselves in the opponents turn.

Thus your own caster, if all by himself, can only score during your own turn.

Hence why low point solo's are really helpful, to contest and score.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







Blaque wrote:You probably just heard a misinterpretation of the tactical tip. The reason that the rule exists is to make it so that if two casters are fighting over a zone and nothing else contests, someone will score first. It also cleans up multi-caster games and such a bit.

And stuff.

That would make sense. It makes a lot of intuitive sense to me that you should be able to dominate in the enemy turn, because then if you both dominate, say, a flag each, the game won't end until the tie is broken somehow. If you can only dominate in your own turn then the player who moved second would win in such a case (as they would score domination first and win 5-4 after their second turn dominating, assuming they had another model to control).
njpc wrote:A caster can dominant in their turn.
A caster cannot contest by themselves in the opponents turn.

Thus your own caster, if all by himself, can only score during your own turn.

Hence why low point solo's are really helpful, to contest and score.

I'm looking at the scenario reference sheet (Steamroller 2013, p6) and I don't see any requirement that you contest an objective to dominate it. I don't see anything saying that warcasters can contest at any time. Can you please point out where these rules are? Like I said, I have heard this elsewhere but I don't know what the basis of it is.

Keep in mind I am talking about two warcasters in base to base with separate, non-contested flags, not on the same flag.
   
Made in gb
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce





Oxford, Great Britain

njpc wrote:
A caster can dominant in their turn.
A caster cannot contest by themselves in the opponents turn.

Thus your own caster, if all by himself, can only score during your own turn.

Hence why low point solo's are really helpful, to contest and score.


You are right that a warcaster or warlock cannot contest but contesting, controlling and dominating are all different things and examined on their own terms. Thus you can move a caster into an empty zone and have it dominate that zone every turn there after, so scoring twice a round.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

 yastobaal wrote:
njpc wrote:
A caster can dominant in their turn.
A caster cannot contest by themselves in the opponents turn.

Thus your own caster, if all by himself, can only score during your own turn.

Hence why low point solo's are really helpful, to contest and score.


You are right that a warcaster or warlock cannot contest but contesting, controlling and dominating are all different things and examined on their own terms. Thus you can move a caster into an empty zone and have it dominate that zone every turn there after, so scoring twice a round.


Yes, your correct. However, I was making a answer towards the intial question IE "what happens if 2 warcasters are on the same flag" = both cannot dominant the same flag.


Automatically Appended Next Post:

Contest: A player must own at least one model within a zone, within 4˝ of a flag, or within 2˝ of an objective to contest that zone, flag, or objective. Enemy objectives contest zones that they are within, flags within 4˝ and other objectives within 2˝.

Warcasters, warlocks, inert warjacks, wild warbeasts, models that are fleeing, and models that are under an opponent’s control cannot contest. Enemy objectives cannot contest themselves.

Similary: DOMINATE

When two or more warcasters/warlocks would dominate the same zone, flag, or objective only the active
player’s warcaster/warlock dominates.

IE: If your warlock, and the opponents Warlock on sitting on the same flag, only the ACTIVE warlock can claim points.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/03/08 17:17:19


Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in gb
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce





Oxford, Great Britain

Totally agree. Looks like we were missing each others points
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







The initial question is not about the same flag, it is about being able to dominate on the opponent's turn. The rules are very clear with respect to two warcasters on the one flag, but at some point I have heard you only dominate on your own turn. I just wondered if that was the case because I can't find any backing for it in the rules but don't know why I would have heard it otherwise.

At this point it sounds like wherever I heard it was wrong anyway. Thank-you for your replies!
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

 yastobaal wrote:
Totally agree. Looks like we were missing each others points


Yea, i went back and re-read, fall reading on my part!

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: