Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 06:00:15
Subject: Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I saw the GW FAQ that if a Dreadknight has a Nemesis Greatsword, he re-rolls all to hit & wound at ST10.
With that being said, if an Archon is armed with an Agoniser & Huskblade, would he benefit from the same type of ruling?
Which would be poisoned 4+ attacks at AP2.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 06:07:30
Subject: Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
No because of the wording on the Greatsword (model doesn't have to attack with it, only has to have it)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 06:09:28
Subject: Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Even though the Dreadknight could perhaps be seen as having '2 special weapons' - Dreadnought Close Combat Weapon (Doomfist) - and the Greatsword, 2 close combat weapons with abilities/etc cannot be mixed or matched; meaning, you choose which to swing with when it comes to it.
I think the Dreadknight works because the DCCW is considered a component of it, and so gets that 'natural' strength of 10 and the benefits of the Greatsword.
Unless it is a specialist weapon, then you get +1 attack for 2 close combat weapons.
This is written out under pg 51, bottom left-hand corner paragraph under the 'more than one weapon' title.
Someone can freely correct me if they wish, but I'm sure that is how it works.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 07:33:13
Subject: Re:Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
His Army list entry reads "May Replace one Nemesis Doomfist with one of the Following:"
Then lists greatsword for 25 points.
So, he loses the extra attack for having 2 NDF
Then the Greatsword rules read:
A Model with a Nemesis Greatsword Re-rolls Failed Rolls to hit, to Wound and Armour Penetration rolls in combat.
So while he trades out an attack, he gets pretty much full re-rolls. Not once does it state that he must be fighting with the weapon, it simply states with a greatsowrd.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 09:05:08
Subject: Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Derp; misread, ignore.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 09:05:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 10:18:47
Subject: Re:Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Scipio Africanus wrote:His Army list entry reads "May Replace one Nemesis Doomfist with one of the Following:"
Then lists greatsword for 25 points.
So, he loses the extra attack for having 2 NDF
Actually, he doesn't lose it anymore, as DCCW's stopped being "Specialist Weapons" in 6e. So DK has two CCW's, which means he as +1 A.
DK did lose the extra attack in 5e though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 11:51:38
Subject: Re:Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Luide wrote: Scipio Africanus wrote:His Army list entry reads "May Replace one Nemesis Doomfist with one of the Following:"
Then lists greatsword for 25 points.
So, he loses the extra attack for having 2 NDF
Actually, he doesn't lose it anymore, as DCCW's stopped being "Specialist Weapons" in 6e. So DK has two CCW's, which means he as +1 A.
DK did lose the extra attack in 5e though.
That's some good gak to know.
Thankyou.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 12:39:38
Subject: Archon With Agoniser & Huskblade -- Same Ruling As Dreaknight Nemesis Greatsword & Doomfist?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
NoArmorSave wrote:I saw the GW FAQ that if a Dreadknight has a Nemesis Greatsword, he re-rolls all to hit & wound at ST10.
With that being said, if an Archon is armed with an Agoniser & Huskblade, would he benefit from the same type of ruling?
Which would be poisoned 4+ attacks at AP2. No.
The reasons for this are:
1) The two pieces of wargear are worded differently in the dark eldar codex than in the grey knight one.
2) It has no entry in it's codex or an FAQ update allowing such.
3) The Grey Knight FAQ has no relevence on Dark Eldar wargear.
|
|
 |
 |
|