Switch Theme:

Charging question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







So we had a situation come up last night in a game that kind of stumped us. I had a small unit of Daemonettes and a KoS charge an engaged unit of Necrons that had approximately 4 models out of cover and about 4-5 in cover. The Necron unit was currently engaged in a combat with Abbadon (it was a team game). Below is a rough diagram of the situation:



Range was rolled for both the Daemonettes and KoS on just 2d6, and I succeeded on the charge. Now, here is the issue. It was agreed that there was no need to roll for difficult terrain on the charge based on the assumption that the charging units A) would have to charge into the models outside of cover first, and B) you can't move through models, so with the angle of the charge and going in a straight line, only the models outside of cover could be charged initially. However, my opponent felt that since half his unit was in cover, those models should get some advantage. My counterpoint was, the rules specifically state that during the charge move, if the assaulting unit has to cross difficult terrain, THEN they strike at I1. In this case, my models didn't have to cross difficult terrain, and thus they did not suffer the Initative penalty.

So we ended up keeping the results as they were, no initiative penalty because there isn't anything in the BRB that covers this specific situation that we could find. So based on the situation, did we play it correctly or should the Daemonettes have rolled for difficult terrain on the charge? Should the KoS also have to roll for difficult terrain? Does the unit being charge already being engaged have any bearing on the situation?

Some additional questions that are related but didn't apply in this scenario:
1) What if there was space enough to move between the models that were outside of cover?
2)What about a model whose base is half in cover and half out, or a small part of the base is out of the area terrain (ie, the attacking model doesn't actually have to go into cover to get in b2b)?

Any thoughts are appreciated!



   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The BRB FAQ mostly clears this up - you roll a terrain check iff a straight line move from each model to the target unit would require them to move through terrain. So If you had more daemonettes that could reach mdoels in cover than models out of cover, you would have to roll (e.g. 6 daemonettes within 12" of 6 models, 5 of whom are out of cover means you would have to roll)
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





And even with that - if a unit is already engaged in CC from a previous turn, you don't swing at I1 for moving through terrain.
(page 28, 3rd paragraph on the right - Charging Through Difficult Terrain).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





you situation is very similar to this one:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/513648.page

happy reading
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

The KoS is fine. Roll 2d6 he's in. The other unit however would have to roll 3d6, but since the unit being charged is already engaged you are not reduced to I1.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Goat - that only applies when they are engaged from a previous turn.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Goat - that only applies when they are engaged from a previous turn.

And in this example they are - Abaddon has them engaged.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Goat - that only applies when they are engaged from a previous turn.


I assumed Abby was already there. In the example given.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/20 15:40:32


I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 Goat wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Goat - that only applies when they are engaged from a previous turn.


I assumed Abby was already there. In the example given.


Abbadon was already there from the previous turn. We couldn't find anything on the unit being already engaged, so thanks for the direction on that everybody.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I missed that, chalk it up to being slightly under the weather today
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







nosferatu1001 wrote:
I missed that, chalk it up to being slightly under the weather today


No worries, again, thanks for the clarification!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: