Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:10:53
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
I'm currently playing Chaos Daemons, so my knowledge of transports is seriously lacking. I was looking in the Dark Eldar codex and reading about Duke Sliscus - it says he has to begin the game deployed with a unit of warriors or trueborn. Say you wanted him to join a unit of Wyches; if you deployed everything close enough, would it be possible for him to leave the warriors/trueborn, join the wyches and embark on a Raider with them first turn?
Also, do his warriors/trueborn lose the poison buff when he leaves? It doesn't specifically state that they do.
I only ask because he seems like he would do better in a CC unit, and if all units are in transports then the trick would be getting him out of one transport and into another. I don't know if it would be possible it to go: 1) Duke leaves warriors, joins wyches 2) Wyches and Duke board Raider 3) Warriors board different Raider.
I looked at the FAQ and saw where it says he can be deployed normally if the army has no warriors/trueborn, so in this situation we're assuming that the army does have them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:15:44
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The IC rules in the book cover this.
To the point - "Note that, after an
Independent Character joins a unit, that unit can move no further that
Movement phase."
Sorry, I can't help you on the other question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/20 20:16:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:31:49
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You should be able to move the Duke and embark him onto the transport, then embark the unit onto the transport thus joining the IC to the unit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:32:27
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
fenshysa wrote:I'm currently playing Chaos Daemons, so my knowledge of transports is seriously lacking. I was looking in the Dark Eldar codex and reading about Duke Sliscus - it says he has to begin the game deployed with a unit of warriors or trueborn. Say you wanted him to join a unit of Wyches; if you deployed everything close enough, would it be possible for him to leave the warriors/trueborn, join the wyches and embark on a Raider with them first turn?
Yes. All that would need to be done is to move the Duke within 2" of an access point and he can embark.
Also, do his warriors/trueborn lose the poison buff when he leaves? It doesn't specifically state that they do.
Yes. You nominate a unit and they have upgraded weapons.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:35:41
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
DeathReaper wrote:You should be able to move the Duke and embark him onto the transport, then embark the unit onto the transport thus joining the IC to the unit.
So 1) Duke leaves the warriors, embarks on the Raider 2) Wyches embark on the Raider with the Duke 3) Warriors embark on a different Raider?
Happyjew wrote:Yes. You nominate a unit and they have upgraded weapons.
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:37:06
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
fenshysa wrote: DeathReaper wrote:You should be able to move the Duke and embark him onto the transport, then embark the unit onto the transport thus joining the IC to the unit.
So 1) Duke leaves the warriors, embarks on the Raider 2) Wyches embark on the Raider with the Duke 3) Warriors embark on a different Raider?
That is possible.
The Wyches can embark on the Raider first then the duke can embark, either way.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 20:39:39
Subject: Re:Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
Thanks to everyone, those were some prompt and informative answers
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/20 23:53:27
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Doesn't the IC's move have to be the one to bring him into the other unit for him to join?
I'm fairly certain the Wyches have to be the ones to embark first (or start the game embarked) in this instance.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/21 00:35:35
Subject: Re:Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
The joining happens at the end of the Movement phase (page 39). The point about the unit moving no further is just a clarifier - in practice, it really doesn't matter which unit moves first. So you can absolutely move the IC within coherency of the unit, THEN move the unit, and then only after you've completed all other movement does the actual join take place.
Just took a look at page 78 for transports to check, as well... it's legal to embark the unit and the IC as described above and THEN move the transport too - as long as it didn't move already.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/21 00:38:42
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/21 02:10:20
Subject: Re:Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Super Ready wrote:The joining happens at the end of the Movement phase (page 39). The point about the unit moving no further is just a clarifier - in practice, it really doesn't matter which unit moves first. So you can absolutely move the IC within coherency of the unit, THEN move the unit, and then only after you've completed all other movement does the actual join take place.
Just took a look at page 78 for transports to check, as well... it's legal to embark the unit and the IC as described above and THEN move the transport too - as long as it didn't move already.
Ah you are right, must be a 5th edition hangover.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/21 02:15:49
Subject: Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
This is actually a very common tactic amongst DE players. Partly because the Duke is better in a wyche squad, partly because he often can't fit in the transport of the squad he starts with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/21 16:15:13
Subject: Re:Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
Super Ready wrote:Just took a look at page 78 for transports to check, as well... it's legal to embark the unit and the IC as described above and THEN move the transport too - as long as it didn't move already.
So if I follow this correctly, I can do the following:
1) Start the Duke with 5 Warriors on the board next to an empty Venom and a Raider with 9 Wyches
2) The Duke boards the Raider with the Wyches
3) The Warriors board the Venom
4) Both the Raider and Venom can then move
Is that correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/21 22:09:17
Subject: Re:Question about ICs, squads and embarking (Duke Sliscus)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
fenshysa wrote: Super Ready wrote:Just took a look at page 78 for transports to check, as well... it's legal to embark the unit and the IC as described above and THEN move the transport too - as long as it didn't move already.
So if I follow this correctly, I can do the following:
1) Start the Duke with 5 Warriors on the board next to an empty Venom and a Raider with 9 Wyches
2) The Duke boards the Raider with the Wyches
3) The Warriors board the Venom
4) Both the Raider and Venom can then move
Is that correct?
Yes that is correct.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|