Switch Theme:

daemon chariot question? bases?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





so the new chariot models come with large oval base. Do you have to mount it on the base? Do they have any effect on game play.?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Bottom left of page 3. The rules assume models are mounted on the base they are provided with. The Burning Chariot is a skimmer and definitely should be on the base provided.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Camarodragon wrote:
Do they have any effect on game play.? [/quote.].

I see there's the section for skinner chariots.. but non skimmer chariots are a different animal.

So I must use the base on the skull cannon or blood throne but it won't have any game play effect?
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





As Happyjew said, pg3 says to put it on the base it was supplied with. It even goes further to suggest those without a base should be put on a base of an appropriate size.

So, yes, you should put it on the base. Not only RAW, but from obvious RAI.

Either way, it would have an effect in game. Without a base you'd have to measure to the model itself. Considering the model is smaller than the large oval base that would impact things like charge distance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/25 19:36:22


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

clively wrote:
As Happyjew said, pg3 says to put it on the base it was supplied with. It even goes further to suggest those without a base should be put on a base of an appropriate size.

So, yes, you should put it on the base. Not only RAW, but from obvious RAI.

Either way, it would have an effect in game. Without a base you'd have to measure to the model itself. Considering the model is smaller than the large oval base that would impact things like charge distance.


Chariots are vehicles. With certain exceptions for Flyers and Skimmers, you always measure to the hull of the vehicle.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

The base would matter for the purposes of fitting models around it in combat, and in turn, how many models the rider can hit in return - you CAN also measure the charge distance from the base *or* the hull.
Chariot rules, page 82.

It seems to me that as per page 3, you are really supposed to have the base supplied, but the rules cover you if you have a model that didn't come with one (not that I can think of any examples).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: