Switch Theme:

Allied Independent Characters. Can they start the game inside of an allied transport vehicle?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

Allied Independent Characters. Can they start the game inside of an allied transport vehicle?

As in, can my Allied HQ start the game inside a rhino or drop pod with my original units?

Maybe I just missed this somewhere, but any help would be appreciative.

2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Allies can never ride in each other's transports. Bottom left (ignoring the "Forging a Narrative" box) page 112.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

IMO it is not so clear at least with ICs and Battle Brothers.

Per the IC rules, the IC, if joined to a unit, is a normal member of that unit for all rule purposes, though they still follow the rules for ICs. So if (for example) a SM Captain joins an IG squad, he is a normal member of an IG unit for all rule purposes. Therefore, he would be able to embark into an IG transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Happyjew wrote:
IMO it is not so clear at least with ICs and Battle Brothers.

Per the IC rules, the IC, if joined to a unit, is a normal member of that unit for all rule purposes, though they still follow the rules for ICs. So if (for example) a SM Captain joins an IG squad, he is a normal member of an IG unit for all rule purposes. Therefore, he would be able to embark into an IG transport.

Are allied ICs allowed to embark?
Is the attached IC required to follow IC rules?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld2 wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
IMO it is not so clear at least with ICs and Battle Brothers.

Per the IC rules, the IC, if joined to a unit, is a normal member of that unit for all rule purposes, though they still follow the rules for ICs. So if (for example) a SM Captain joins an IG squad, he is a normal member of an IG unit for all rule purposes. Therefore, he would be able to embark into an IG transport.

Are allied ICs allowed to embark?
Is the attached IC required to follow IC rules?


There is no rule saying an IC cannot embark a transport (barring unit type or certain restictions such as wearing Terminator armour). There is a restriction on battle-brothers not being able to embark into allied transports. (I think we can agree with both of those). The problem is the rules for joining a unit says that the IC is a normal member of the unit for all rule purposes (or something to that effect away from book). It dds on that they still follow the rules for ICs. Since the restriction is on allies and not the IC rule, then for all rule purposes would override the ally rule.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






I've gone through the IC rules and "IC's & Transports", "For all rules purposes" seems to cover IC + unit embarking together (or starting together inside), but if the squad were already embarked and the IC attempted to embark that would presumably be denied (equally if the IC attempted to embark alone).
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Quanar wrote:
I've gone through the IC rules and "IC's & Transports", "For all rules purposes" seems to cover IC + unit embarking together (or starting together inside), but if the squad were already embarked and the IC attempted to embark that would presumably be denied (equally if the IC attempted to embark alone).


This much I agree with. Furthermore, if the unit were to leave, the IC has to disembark as well. Of course this is all assuming that the IC can embark in the first place. As it stands I play Nids so no allies there and Eldar without allies so this doesn't affect me (yet).
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Happyjew wrote:
The problem is the rules for joining a unit says that the IC is a normal member of the unit for all rule purposes (or something to that effect away from book). It dds on that they still follow the rules for ICs. Since the restriction is on allies and not the IC rule, then for all rule purposes would override the ally rule.

The IC rules say that he counts as a part of the unit for all rules purposes, yes.

But the Allies rules don't care whether or not he is a part of the unit. The rule forbidding riding in a transport doesn't refer to units at all. It simply says that Battle Brothers may not ride in Allied transports.

Whether or not the IC is a part of the unit, he is still an ally.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Examples of things that being part of a unit means:

1) Must remain in coherency.
2) Move together
3) Fire together, at the same target

Examples of things that merely being part of a unit does not change:

1) Name
2) Profile
3) Individual special rules possessed by the model (however many special rules affect all models in the unit)
4) Allied status
5) Equipment

Really, Happyjew, merely being part of a unit simply does not extend to the various things you suggest it as extending to. It means that you use the rules for how a unit behaves. It does not mean the model suddenly becomes a guardsman, with a guardsman profile, guardsman equipment, guardsman (lack of) special rules, and so on.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/25 19:32:58


 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





 insaniak wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
The problem is the rules for joining a unit says that the IC is a normal member of the unit for all rule purposes (or something to that effect away from book). It dds on that they still follow the rules for ICs. Since the restriction is on allies and not the IC rule, then for all rule purposes would override the ally rule.

The IC rules say that he counts as a part of the unit for all rules purposes, yes.

But the Allies rules don't care whether or not he is a part of the unit. The rule forbidding riding in a transport doesn't refer to units at all. It simply says that Battle Brothers may not ride in Allied transports.

Whether or not the IC is a part of the unit, he is still an ally.


I agree with Insaniak. The pg 112 rule is very specific about not being able to embark in transport vehicles; which is only 2 sentences down from the rule allowing units to be joined by IC. The "No" rule also starts off with "However,.." meaning it is overriding some of the statements before it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/25 19:23:29


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

I think insaniak is right. Whether the IC is part of an allied unit or not, he doesn't lose his status as a BB. And the rule is very specific that BBs can't embark on allied transports. No relevant exceptions are given for this so that rule stands on its own I think. JMHO....

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Just because an IC is considered part of a unit does not remove any other restrictions against them being able to be embarked on a vehicle. For example, an IC that is riding a bike can be joined to an infantry unit but doing so would not suddenly allow him to be embarked on a transport with them.

So no, joining a unit does not suddenly remove the restriction of an allied IC not being allowed to embark onto an allied transport.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

Thanks for everyone's input.
I agree now that they cannot at all. Sadly.

2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: