Switch Theme:

Deny the witch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

At work so I don't have my rule book.

Does every unit hit get a deny the witch role or is it the 1st unit hit? What I hit 2 to 3 units w/ a blast?

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Short answer, yes, each unit gets to DtW. Each unit under the Blast marker is a target of the attack; the DtW attempt affects each unit independently. One target unit rolling a successful DtW means it is not affected by the power, but other units that fail their roll are.
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







I thought the FAQ clarified this using Beam powers as an example. IIRC, you only get 1 deny the witch roll no matter how many units are hit.
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





That ruling was specific to Beam powers. If it's a Beam power, then the first enemy unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/29 18:59:00


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Err...? No - NOT true at all. Check the "Deny the Witch" rule on page 68. Only the *targeted* unit gets to make a roll.
This of course means that if the power used hits more than one unit, and it's not already decided by shooting from other models in the psyker's unit, the psyker must declare which is the target.

Beam was FAQed because you don't target a unit with it, you target a fixed point instead.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

It's targeted unit but if you don't target a unit it's the first unit hit such as for beams or JOTWW.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





With a Blast marker only the first unit targeted would get to try and DTW and if it scatters over other units then the chance to deny it has already passed. The only psychic powers that go on a unit by unit basis are the Nova ones if I recall. In the description of the Nova powers it mentions that it targets all units in range so each unit would get to attempt a DTW for itself but any failures are still affected.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





p68, RHS, 1st para says all targets affected by a psychic power can attempt to DtW. I take that to mean any unit under the blast marker.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I'm paraphrasing. What it actually says is "If a psychic power targets two or more units..." each can attempt to DtW. If a Blast marker hits 2 or more units, either deliberately or through scatter, are they targets of the attack? I think so, but YMMV.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/29 21:37:22


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Snapshot wrote:
p68, RHS, 1st para says all targets affected by a psychic power can attempt to DtW. I take that to mean any unit under the blast marker.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I'm paraphrasing. What it actually says is "If a psychic power targets two or more units..." each can attempt to DtW. If a Blast marker hits 2 or more units, either deliberately or through scatter, are they targets of the attack? I think so, but YMMV.

You only target one unit with shooting (RB p12); hitting other units with shooting doesn't make them targets as well (it is not contradicted in the Blast or Template rules).

In any case, you only place the marker after the DTW rolls have already been made (RB p67). Once you start placing templates or rolling to hit, you've already passed the point at which you can make DTW rolls.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





You could be right. The "two or more units" rule certainly applies to maelstroms and novas, but I agree that a unit hit by a Blast need not be a target. Seems a bit harsh for the collaterally damaged units (especially if they have psykers to help with DtW), but noone ever said war was fair.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: