Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 04:45:13
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Seriously had this argued and the rules are poorly written so here it is:
Start of Initiative step pile in
At the start of each Initiative step, any modei whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step, that isn't already in base contact with an enemy model, must rnake a Pile In move. A Pile In move is a 3" move that is performed in the following order: .
First, any models Pile In if this will bring them into base contact with an enemv. .
Second, any models Pile In if this willbring them to within 2" ofa friendlv model in base contact with an enemy t . .
Third Any remaining models that are not in base contact with one or more enemy models and have yet to Pile In must now do so, and must attempt to get as close as possibie to one or more of the enemy units locked in this combat. These moves follow the same rules as moving charging models, except that they are not slowed by difficult terrain (though it rnay sdll trigger Dangerous Terrain tests). Also, a Pile In move cannot be used to contact units that are not already involved in the assault.
When making Pile In moves, the player whose turn it is moves his unit(s) fi.rst. If both players' Pile In rnoves combined would be insufficient to bring any combatants back together (that's more than 6" - very unlikely!), the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost - work out the assault result as described on page 26.
At the start of each Initiative step, any modei whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step, that isn't already in base contact with an enemy model, must rnake a Pile In move. A Pile In move is a 3" move that is performed in the following order: . First, any models Pile In if this will bring them into base contact with an enemv. . Second, Any models Pile In if this willbring them to within 2" ofa friendlv model in base contact with an enemy t . . Any remaining models that are not in base contact with one or more enemy models and have yet to Pile In must now do so, and must attempt to get as close as possibie to one or more of the enemy units locked in this combat. These moves follow the same rules as moving charging models, except that they are not slowed by difficult terrain (though it rnay sdll trigger Dangerous Terrain tests). Also, a Pile In move cannot be used to contact units that are not already involved in the assault. $lthen making Pile In moves, the player whose turn it is moves his unit(s) first. If both players' Pile In moves combined would be insufficient to bring any combatants back together (that's more than 6" - very unlikely!), the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost.
This seems to speak of one initative step at a time. So basically combat can end at like initiative step 5 or 6 if models cant make it to base. That was my opponents argument.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 05:13:34
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That would be correct. If at the end of any I-step, both players pile-in moves do not get any models in btb then combat is over.
Least that is how I understand it.
Could happen with blob units where one side take a ton of losses. For example IG vs say Daemonettes. Daemonettes will likely go first and kill a lot of IG possibly making it hard for them to pile in and get into btb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 05:20:26
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Lets take this setup: 3 Termies: 1 LC/LC and 2 TH/SS assault 10 IG. You have the following Initiatives:
LC/LC: I4; IG: I3; TH/SS: I1
Overwatch shooting by the IG gets nothing.
Termies roll charge and its enough to get a single TH/SS Termie in base contact.
Initiative step 4: LC/LC piles in and gets into base contact, attacks and kills 3 IG.
Initiative step 3: Remaining 7 IG pile in and gets all Termies in base contact and all others in within 2" of a model in base contact. IG attack and kill 1 Termie...since all 3 Termies are in base contact (and have identical 2+ saves) the Marine player chooses the model to die...in this case the LC/LC model (since he already attacked).
Initiative step 1: Since both TH/SS termies are engaged (B2B) due to the IG pile in, the Termies go strait to the attack...and kill 6.
The IG player lost by 8 and fails his Ld roll. Termies can't sweep so the lone IG dude takes off to get a beer and live to fight another day.
In short, you repeat the pile-in and attacks step by step until you finish the lowest living Initiative model. At that point you determine the final result of the combat and the assault phase then ends.
Now, their may be a case with blobs or a squad strung out in a long line that at the start of an intitiative phase they can not get in base contact despite a 3" pile-in, then the combat is over:
For instance the 3 Termies charge and the Overwatch kills 1 (the LC/LC SGT passed the hit back to the closest TH/SS Termie who failed his save). They then charge and the LC/LC termie gets in base. The TH/SS Termie is about 5+ inches away (due to the middle guy dieing). The LC/LC termie gets 3 kills, killing the 1 IG is in base and another 2" away and the 3rd IG 2" beyond that (4" from the guy in B2B). The closest IG is now about 6" away. Since the combination oh his 3" pile in and the remaining Terminators 3" pile preclude anyone from getting into base, the combat ends with each unit no longer locked in combat. Each unit is free to consolidate d6" (may not consolidate back into base contact) and the player turn ends.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/30 05:43:20
Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 11:48:31
Subject: Re:Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Yep, that's how it works and it's not really poorly written. This line should make it perfectly clear:
All remaining Initiative steps are lost.
There you have it.
This can easily happen with Daemonettes as mentioned, or units with similar numbers of high attacks like Berzerkers or Death Company. It's also a danger to the new Chariots in particular.
...you might also want to check up on the forum rules, stickied at the top of each board. Quoting parts of rules for clarification is fine, but you should steer clear of posting entire rules for copyright reasons, just include the bits you need.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/30 11:50:55
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 14:39:10
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Note that you then go to the end of combat steps, which includes a Pile In move by both sides.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 18:25:00
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Alright so here is what happened.
Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 20:42:17
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Tomb King wrote:Alright so here is what happened.
Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
That is correct. the Init 5 guys would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5, because the Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 21:35:50
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
DeathReaper wrote: Tomb King wrote:Alright so here is what happened.
Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
That is correct. the Init 5 guys would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5, because the Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base.
So combat does in fact end here. Then they consolidate if they can make base with each other and fight the next game turn.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 22:48:02
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tomb King wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Tomb King wrote:Alright so here is what happened.
Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
That is correct. the Init 5 guys would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5, because the Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base.
So combat does in fact end here. Then they consolidate if they can make base with each other and fight the next game turn.
Small correction here.. Both sides Must make a 3" Pile In move. If that is not sufficient to get them in BTB, then they can Consolidate
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 23:44:40
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote: Tomb King wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Tomb King wrote:Alright so here is what happened. Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
That is correct. the Init 5 guys would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5, because the Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. So combat does in fact end here. Then they consolidate if they can make base with each other and fight the next game turn. Small correction here.. Both sides Must make a 3" Pile In move. If that is not sufficient to get them in BTB, then they can Consolidate They don't consolidate and they don't make a 3" in pile in. If this happens you go to Combat Resolution and determine who won the combat (per page 26). Says so right at the end of that paragraph on page 23. You would have won that combat because your Herald made kills and the Harlequins did not even get a chance to swing. Edit: spelling
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/30 23:47:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 01:36:44
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote: Tomb King wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Tomb King wrote:Alright so here is what happened.
Had a slaanesh herald at initiative 9 with the eternal blade kill a few harlequins. Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base. The way the rules are written this would end combat as all other initiative steps are lost. So my daemonettes would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5.
That is correct. the Init 5 guys would not be able to consolidate in to attack at initiative 5, because the Harlequins piled in at initiative 6 and did not make base.
So combat does in fact end here. Then they consolidate if they can make base with each other and fight the next game turn.
Small correction here.. Both sides Must make a 3" Pile In move. If that is not sufficient to get them in BTB, then they can Consolidate
But at the end of the I-Steps both sides make another 3" pile in, so it is gonna be very unlikely it ends right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:00:02
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote:They don't consolidate and they don't make a 3" in pile in. If this happens you go to Combat Resolution and determine who won the combat (per page 26). Says so right at the end of that paragraph on page 23. You would have won that combat because your Herald made kills and the Harlequins did not even get a chance to swing. Edit: spelling
You still do the end of combat pile in after you determine assault results.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/31 02:00:18
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:01:16
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Both sides only make a pile in move at an initiative step, if that isn't enough to bring a single pair into b2b you go straight to combat resolution, that is what the rules say.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:10:42
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
liturgies of blood wrote:Both sides only make a pile in move at an initiative step, if that isn't enough to bring a single pair into b2b you go straight to combat resolution, that is what the rules say.
Exactly.
Then Page 27 tells us that After the combat has been resolved, models from units that did not Fall Back and are not in base contact must make a Pile In move.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:13:14
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Sorry I'm watching tv and was pausing before I posted.
I wasn't disagreeing with you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:51:01
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:They don't consolidate and they don't make a 3" in pile in.
If this happens you go to Combat Resolution and determine who won the combat (per page 26). Says so right at the end of that paragraph on page 23.
You would have won that combat because your Herald made kills and the Harlequins did not even get a chance to swing.
Edit: spelling
You still do the end of combat pile in after you determine assault results.
You are assuming they stay locked in combat.
There is no guarantee of a end of combat pile in. It all depends on what the results of combat resolution is and/or if a sweeping advance occurs.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 02:53:35
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Well yes that is why you determine combat results.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 03:01:21
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
and what happens if the losing side gets away or is swept?
Do you still get an "end of combat" pile in?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/31 03:02:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 08:38:06
Subject: Re:Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Well, no. But no-one's arguing on that point?
The combat resolution pile-in was brought up because it was alluded to earlier in the thread that not being able to pile-in at the Initiative step *ends the combat*. Combat resolution makes it clear this is not always the case.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 12:07:25
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
40k-noob wrote:
and what happens if the losing side gets away or is swept?
Do you still get an "end of combat" pile in?
You might, it depends on the outcome of combat resolution.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 17:00:18
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:
You still do the end of combat pile in after you determine assault results.
You are assuming they stay locked in combat.
There is no guarantee of a end of combat pile in. It all depends on what the results of combat resolution is and/or if a sweeping advance occurs.
Did you read my post just after this one that you quoted?
I said " Page 27 tells us that After the combat has been resolved, models from units that did not Fall Back and are not in base contact must make a Pile In move. "
Note the situations that I said that you get to make a end of combat pile in move. I will underscore them for you.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/01 03:30:07
Subject: Does combat end at this iniative step?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:
You still do the end of combat pile in after you determine assault results.
You are assuming they stay locked in combat.
There is no guarantee of a end of combat pile in. It all depends on what the results of combat resolution is and/or if a sweeping advance occurs.
Did you read my post just after this one that you quoted?
I said " Page 27 tells us that After the combat has been resolved, models from units that did not Fall Back and are not in base contact must make a Pile In move. "
Note the situations that I said that you get to make a end of combat pile in move. I will underscore them for you.
You are correct DR, though this step is usually skipped if there is no longer any opponent in CC with the unit due to falling back. Pile In moves can only be used to:
-Move into base contact with an enemy model
-Move within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with an enemy model
-Get as close to the enemy unit you are engaged with as possible.
*Pile in moves cannot be used to contact units not already involved in the assault
(page 23, Start of Initiative Step Pile In)
In any case there needs to be an 'enemy unit they are engaged with' in order to make pile In moves legally. If the enemy unit has fallen back they are either destroyed ( SA) or successfully disengaged and you now lack an enemy to pile in towards. Per RAW this step always occurs but in this case nothing would happen in it and you go right to consolidation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/01 03:31:08
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
|