Switch Theme:

Question on Warding Stave clarification.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

Hi,

I was wondering if you could help me clarify a rule in regards to the Grey Knight Warding Stave.

The following is a scenario which took place and there was confusion in regards to how many invulnerable saves could be allocated to the Warding Stave.

A unit of Wolf Guard Terminators all armed with Power Axes assaulted a unit of Grey Knights inlcuding Draigo and some Paladins with a Warding Stave in the unit. The Warding Stave was in base contact with two of the Wolf Guard Terminators. The Wolf Guard Terminators caused 16 wounds in total at AP2 on the unit of Paladins and Draigo (no challenges involved).

The disagreement was in regards to how many of the resulting invulnerables saves could be allocated to the warding stave whilst he is alive. Is the Paladin with the Warding Stave allowed to take invulnerable saves for all the wounds, one at a time until he dies, with the remaining wounds being passed onto the rest of the squad or is he only allowed to take saves from the two Wolf Guard Temrinators in base contact with him.

I was under the impression that it was the former that applied but I was overruled by a blue shirt and so I could only take four of those wounds on the Warding Stave. I was lucky to make some invulnerables and feel no pains, so I still won the combat but I need to clartify this for future games.

Thanks in advance

DO
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

The rules have changed since 5th edition.
Read the allocation rules in the assault section they clearly cover the method of allocation of wounds in combat.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

The rules have changed since 5th edition.
Read the allocation rules in the assault section they clearly cover the method of allocation of wounds in combat.


I'm having trouble with the wording in the rule book. I think it's mostly around this sentence on page 25.

"Once a model has a wound allocated to it, you must continue to allocate wounds to it until it is either removed as a casualty or the wound pool is empty"

Can I ask specifically what this means, because when I read it I interpret it to mean that if I allocate the first wound to the guy with the Warding Stave then he must take the rest from the wound pool until he dies or saves them all. Is this correct or am I getting mixed up because some people are telling me that the wounds must be distributed between all the Paladins, even if all the enemy caused those wounds at the same initiative step, with a couple of thos guys at that initiative in base contact with the Warding Stave Paladin.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pg. 25. Once a model has a Wound allocated to it, you must continue to allocate Wounds to it until it is either rernoved as a casualty or the Wound pool is empty
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

When you start allocating to a model, you keep going until the model is dead or you've used up all the wounds. Yes the warding stave dude can keep taking all of the wounds until he dies. If there was a load of assault marines hitting the squad and they did 30 wounds he could take them all until he dies.

It is the exact same as for shooting except you choose the model that is "closest" by the method in the assault section.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 liturgies of blood wrote:
When you start allocating to a model, you keep going until the model is dead or you've used up all the wounds. Yes the warding stave dude can keep taking all of the wounds until he dies. If there was a load of assault marines hitting the squad and they did 30 wounds he could take them all until he dies.

It is the exact same as for shooting except you choose the model that is "closest" by the method in the assault section.


OK thanks. Thats what I thought it was, but I had a couple of players who disagreed and when they got a member of staff he over-ruled me. So I ended up only taking 4 of the wounds on the Warding Stave Guy and then had to taek four on Draigo and the others on the other Paladins. It didn't make a difference in this case I still won the combat and only lost one wound thanks to lucky invulnerable rolls and feel no pain rolls, but I need to know for future games.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

GW staff members may not know the rules all that well and everyone makes mistakes.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 liturgies of blood wrote:
GW staff members may not know the rules all that well and everyone makes mistakes.


Agreed, but considering I actually showed him the aforementioned paragraph he still tried to tell me that i was "bending the rules". I thought I was going insane or something or that I had lost the ability to understand English.

I have e-mailed GW FAQ for an answer but I'm not positive I wil get a proper response because I got an instant reply saying thanks we will consider your question for the next FAQ.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




The other section that might help you make your case is the one on "different saves", they have a couple examples.

Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: