Switch Theme:

Wound allocation from blast templates  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






St. Albans

I've honestly tried to find definitive answers for this so apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere, and I appreciate it is a contentious issue

1. Can wounds from a blast template attack [not barrage] be allocated to models that are out of LoS of the firing unit? The FAQ says that models out of LoS can be hit, but does not state anything about wound allocation. In the rulebook it says that wounds from a blast template are allocated as normal [i.e. wounds can only be allocated to models that are in LoS].
2. If the blast scatters, can wounds be allocated to models out of LoS? Seems to say it can in the rulebook.
3. If the blast scatters less than the BS of the firing unit does this count as a hit or a scatter?

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Put this in tactics incorrectly, sorry mods, can you delete the one in tactics?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

1) The Out of Sight rules must be followed unless there is something over riding this P. 16 rule.

2) Same as #1

3) Why does it matter? A Scatter can still hit models, the same as if a hit is rolled on the dice.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Rules as Written :

1. No (must follow the "normal rules for allocation")
2. No (you will cause wounds, but you cannot allocate them as per the normal rules for allocation)
3. as in Scatter distance - BS = a negative number? Not sure.

How I play it (our game group anyway - house rules)

1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Scatters in the opposite direction from the arrow
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






St. Albans

Rorschach9 wrote:
Rules as Written :
2. No (you will cause wounds, but you cannot allocate them as per the normal rules for allocation)


Still confused - in the rulebook [I've only got the little one so can't quote page numbers] it says on scatters "In these cases, hits are worked out as normal and can hit and wound units out of range and line of site".

To me it seems that if you hit, wounds cannot be allocated to models out of LoS, but if you scatter they can?



 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Wounding units is not the same as allocating wounds.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 tyrannosaurus wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
Rules as Written :
2. No (you will cause wounds, but you cannot allocate them as per the normal rules for allocation)


Still confused - in the rulebook [I've only got the little one so can't quote page numbers] it says on scatters "In these cases, hits are worked out as normal and can hit and wound units out of range and line of site".

To me it seems that if you hit, wounds cannot be allocated to models out of LoS, but if you scatter they can?




You can hit the unit
You can wound the unit (cause wounds to be added to the wound pool)
However, you are not given permission to ALLOCATE those wounds once they are in the pool to models within the unit. Any wounds that cannot be allocated are lost.
Wounds are allocated after you find out how many wounds you have caused.

Scattered or not does not make a difference to that.

(This is something that has been hotly debated here on Dakka, which is why I was specific about HIWPI vs RAW.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/01 19:39:59


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






St. Albans

rigeld2 wrote:
Wounding units is not the same as allocating wounds.


What's the point of clarifying whether units out of LoS can be wounded, if wounds can't be allocated to them?

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Because there are powers that have effects due to being hit and having wound pools populated.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






And because there still might be models in the unit that are visible. The scattering blast will contribute to the wound pool, which will increase the chances of visible models being killed.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






St. Albans

Thanks for the replies, much appreciated. Makes LRBTs a little less scary, which is good

 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





...and the scatter rules say that the scatter distance is reduced by the firer's BS to a minimum of 0" (p33)
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 tyrannosaurus wrote:
it says on scatters "In these cases, hits are worked out as normal and can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight".
To me it seems that if you hit, wounds cannot be allocated to models out of LoS, but if you scatter they can?


As mentioned, wounds you cause from blasts on out-of-sight models can still be allocated to models you can see. There's another kicker to this - when it comes to allocating wounds, you go by line of sight from your UNIT, not from the model firing the blast.
So it's perfectly possible to hit, wound and then allocate to models that the blast firer can't see at all, as long as someone else in his unit can.

Make sure you check the rulebook FAQ on GW's website if you haven't already, in particular the change to how you may allocate wounds.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

Here's one -

I've got 3 scarabs and a Tomb Spyder behind my Aegis Defense Line.

The Scarabs are so short you cannot see them to target them from behind the wall.

Opponent shoots (and hits) with a plasma cannon small blast on a Spyder and it also touches 2 scarab bases.

Can it wound them, even though the shooter can't see them?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It can wound the unit but no wounds would be allocated.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It will hit, and roll to wound, against the scarabs and the spyder. But the wounds against the scarabs will be lost, as there are no models in that unit within Range and Line of Sight. The Spyder is wounded as normal.

So overall effect here is that the Scarabs may as well have not existed, but if the weapon had an on-hit effect (like the Nightspinner's Doomweaver) they would suffer it. Also, if the Scarabs and the Spyder were the same unit the Spyder would have been allocated all the generated wounds.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

Thanks, too bad its a pain in the butt to explain that everytime it comes up in a game.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

"The Scarabs are so short you cannot see them to target them from behind the wall."

Also got to remember that you can not assault a unit you can not see. So i can run right up to the other side of the wall, but not shoot or assault the scarabs. However the reverse is also true...the scarabs can not assault me without first coming out from behind the wall.


Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

A good rule of thumb is that if you couldn't pick the unit as the original target of the shooting you can't put any wounds on it.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

If any scarabs had been in front of the wall in LOS, of course, wounds could be allocated to them even though the models actually covered were hidden.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List





This thread cleared up so much for me, and saved me alot of possible mistakes when it comes to wounding from my Doomsday Ark scatter.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: