Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:22:48
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
If a model with a Force weapon does 2 wounds to my Tyranid Warriors, both with the full 3 wounds each, and he passes his Force Weapon Test how many models are removed as casualties?
I say 1 as both wounds are allocated to 1 warrior, he takes his saves if he can take them and then once these wounds are classed as unsaved after allocation the test is rolled for. He passes. Both of those Unsaved wounds cause instant death to that one model they are allocated to.
My friends say that the 2 wounds are cause, rolled for the test and then i allocate an instant death wound to each guy.
Who is right? And if we both suck and got it wrong, what is the correct way to do it?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:30:43
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
An activated force weapon causes instant death, wounds are allocated one at a time until the first model is dead, then are allocated to the next model.
In your example you have I guess a SM Librarian that has caused 2 wounds and activated their force weapon. The first wound is allocated to the closest Tyranid Warrior, ID kills it. Next wound is allocated to the next closest Warrior, ID rule kills that one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:32:36
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
You allocate and then take saves though.
Where does it say you have to do them one at a time?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:34:01
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Bloodhorror wrote:You allocate and then take saves though.
Where does it say you have to do them one at a time?
The only way you are getting saves with Tyranid Warriors is if they somehow gained an invulnerable save. All Force Weapons go through their armour.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:35:26
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
2 Tyranid primes in one unit then. Independent character unit of 2.
Hitting me with a force stave.
2 wounds caused. Fail both saves. Do both die?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:39:17
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Bloodhorror wrote:2 Tyranid primes in one unit then. Independent character unit of 2.
Hitting me with a force stave.
2 wounds caused. Fail both saves. Do both die?
Mixed Saves. Allocate first wound, completely resolve. If it goes unsaved, the Psyker activates the weapon and it causes ID. Then the next is allocated and if unsaved will caused ID.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 20:40:16
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Why are they mixed saves? They are both the exact same saves and i arm them both the exact same. 2 identical models.
And lets say instead then, a squad of Paladins armed the same. I cause 3 Force sword wounds and he fails all 3 armor saves. Again, i pass my test to cause ID. 6 guys taken off?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/06 20:41:11
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 21:01:17
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because you have a character in there.
3 Force wounds + 3 failed saves +successful activation = 3 dead paladins
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 21:05:01
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
That seems insane.... Automatically Appended Next Post: wait, so is it the same with Boneswords?
I allocate a wound to a guy, he takes the LD Test. and then i repeat and wipe out that Squad?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/06 21:11:20
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 23:45:39
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
It would appear that you do indeed activate after allocating wounds and rolling save as the force rule specifies unsaved.
So a librarian getting 2 wounds on a unit of tyranid warriors would kill 1 warrior as by the time you activate the weapon, there is only 1 warrior who was been wounded and taken 2 wounds
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 00:36:10
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Even if all models in the target unit are same-save and there are no characters, you still allocate an unsaved Wound to the closest model (p15). As soon as this happens, the Force rule can be triggered, and if it succeeds, the multi-wound model is removed as a casualty. Move on to the next unsaved Wound in the pool, rinse and repeat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 00:37:58
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Massaen wrote:It would appear that you do indeed activate after allocating wounds and rolling save as the force rule specifies unsaved.
So a librarian getting 2 wounds on a unit of tyranid warriors would kill 1 warrior as by the time you activate the weapon, there is only 1 warrior who was been wounded and taken 2 wounds
This is incorrect. You would allocate the first wound to the tyranid warrior. Since that wound is unsaved and the Force weapon activates, then that warrior suffers ID. The next wound is allocated to the next warrior who suffers ID. 2 wounds.. 2 dead warriors..
Bloodhorror, Boneswords are debatable whether they activate along the same lines.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 01:32:21
Subject: Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Ah, I see what you mean now. My mistake!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 05:04:33
Subject: Re:Some confusion with Force Weapons and Multiwound Models
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I was really certain that it would kill multiple model, and being a Tyranid player, really sad others agree. What a Dreadknight does to a brood of Carnifex is simply wrong for the point cost.
|
|
 |
 |
|