Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 06:18:28
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
HeadRipper wrote:Can you use your firewarrior shas'ui markerlights before anything else fires with the target lock he also gets, meaning you can effectively have a "markerlight" phase before you shoot anything
This is an easy one: NO.
Re-read the rules on the shooting phase. You nominate a unit to shoot, and then do all the shooting from that unit. Once ALL the shooting from that unit is done, you move onto the next unit. The 'ui markerlight shot happens simultaneously with all the other shots from his unit. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlueRift wrote:Volley Fire:
Does Volley Fire also provide an additional shot for Longshot Pulse Rifles?
There's like a 90% chance that it doesn't, but I'd like to be sure.
Where are you getting that 90% from?
Volley Fire affects all PULSE weapons.
Is the LongShot pulse rifle a pulse weapon? YES.
Does volley fire give an extra shot to the Long shot pulse rifle? CLEARLY YES. Automatically Appended Next Post: Jadenim wrote:Can they confirm that if Kroot upgrade to sniper rounds they get to choose which profile to use; the normal rifle or the sniper? The note in the summary section suggests this is the case but its not 100% explicit to me.
Read it again. How could it be any more explicit?! weapons marked with an * may choose which profile to use when firing.
Of course they can use both. This is why the upgrade is worded as them taking sniper rounds for their rifles, not replacing their kroot rifles with sniper rifles.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/11 06:27:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 06:28:20
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Cheesedoodler wrote:
BlueRift wrote:Volley Fire:
Does Volley Fire also provide an additional shot for Longshot Pulse Rifles?
There's like a 90% chance that it doesn't, but I'd like to be sure.
Where are you getting that 90% from?
Volley Fire affects all PULSE weapons.
Is the LongShot pulse rifle a pulse weapon? YES.
Does volley fire give an extra shot to the Long shot pulse rifle? CLEARLY YES.
Here's where reading the rules helps. Volley Fire doesn't affect all Pulse Weapons, it affects only Pulse Rifles and Pulse Carbines. So the answer is clearly No, it doesn't affect Longshot Pulse Rifles, in the same way First Rank Fire, Second Rank Fire! doesn't affect Hotshot Lasguns.
Now the Ethereal's Storm of Fire on the other hand, that does affect all Pulse Weapons, excluding the Pulse bomb. So that will affect Longshot Pulse Rifles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 06:32:35
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Chrysis wrote: Cheesedoodler wrote:
BlueRift wrote:Volley Fire:
Does Volley Fire also provide an additional shot for Longshot Pulse Rifles?
There's like a 90% chance that it doesn't, but I'd like to be sure.
Where are you getting that 90% from?
Volley Fire affects all PULSE weapons.
Is the LongShot pulse rifle a pulse weapon? YES.
Does volley fire give an extra shot to the Long shot pulse rifle? CLEARLY YES.
Here's where reading the rules helps. Volley Fire doesn't affect all Pulse Weapons, it affects only Pulse Rifles and Pulse Carbines. So the answer is clearly No, it doesn't affect Longshot Pulse Rifles, in the same way First Rank Fire, Second Rank Fire! doesn't affect Hotshot Lasguns.
Now the Ethereal's Storm of Fire on the other hand, that does affect all Pulse Weapons, excluding the Pulse bomb. So that will affect Longshot Pulse Rifles.
You've got me there. I was mixing the wording of the two rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 13:04:11
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Fargo, ND
|
Q: Does the Stealth Suit Shas'vre's markerlight/target lock upgrade also work on a fusion blaster upgrade?
Since fusion blaster is a "one model may" upgrade, I'd like to load him out with the markerlight/target lock, a fusion blaster and an advanced targeting system to either infiltrate and hit armor or snipe special weapons.
|
NORTHSTAR DUSTOFF |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 14:13:39
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Space Ghost wrote:Q: Does the Stealth Suit Shas'vre's markerlight/target lock upgrade also work on a fusion blaster upgrade?
Yes, the only thing that gets replaced in any of that is the burst cannon. There's nothing ambiguous here.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 18:38:42
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Mimetic Dakini
|
Question regarding Vectored Retro-thrusters (VRT):
Can a unit of more than one model with VRT use the Hit and Run special rules to leave CC?
Per TE Codex:
A model with VRT has both Fleet and Hit and Run Special Rules.
Per 6th Ed Rulebook:
A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule that is locked in combat can choose to leave close combat
at the end of any Assault phase. If the unit wishes to do so, it must take an Initiative test.
Seems to me that by RAW the unit can attempt to leave CC. However, verification of this would be useful, since this equipment used to only apply to Monat (single suit units) in the old codex and you could only purchase one per army.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 18:39:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 19:55:42
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
You asked and answered your own question.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 21:47:06
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
How does a Model with Velocity tracker/Counter fire Defense system and Drone controller work When dealing with drones and Snapshots? Do the Drones fire at Ballistic skill 1 or do they continue to use the Drone controller's ballistic skill which is either unaffected or bs 2?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 21:47:52
"I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK" - Batman
"It exist because it needs to. Because its not the tank the imperium deserve but the one it needs right now . So it wont complain because it can take it. Because they're not our normal tank. It is a silent guardian, a watchful protector . A leman russ!" - Ilove40k
3k
2k
/ 1k
1k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/11 23:57:56
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
You can purchase a 2 man bodyguard team to go with your force Commander. Does this now prevent him from being able to join other units as an independent character, such as a drone unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 00:13:07
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
hokieseas wrote:You can purchase a 2 man bodyguard team to go with your force Commander. Does this now prevent him from being able to join other units as an independent character, such as a drone unit?
There is no requirement to have the IC join his bodyguard unit.
Literally every codex since the latter half of 4th edition has been this way.
So yes, if the IC joins his bodyguard he cannot join another unit at the same time (as he has already joined one).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 00:16:31
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
hokieseas wrote:You can purchase a 2 man bodyguard team to go with your force Commander. Does this now prevent him from being able to join other units as an independent character, such as a drone unit?
Bodyguards are now a completely separate unit to the commander. A bodyguard squad is simply a 1-2 man Crisis team.
You can take the bodyguard squad and a commander, but not join them together, in which case your commander is free to act as any independent character normally would.
If you deploy them with the commander in the bodyguard's unit, he has joined their unit and thus cannot join another unit without first leaving his bodyguards. Automatically Appended Next Post: Question:
Recon Drones don't explicitly have the supporting fire special rule. Do they inherit it from their Pathfinder unit?
Question:
The Tau Warlord Traits table says 'When generating Warlord Traits, a Commander or Ethereal may either roll on one of the Warlord Traits tables in the Warhammer 40,000 rule book, or roll on the table presented on the right".
Can Cadre Fireblades and Darkstrider take warlord traits from the table in the Tau book?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/12 10:08:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:10:54
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Trasvi wrote:
Question:
The Tau Warlord Traits table says 'When generating Warlord Traits, a Commander or Ethereal may either roll on one of the Warlord Traits tables in the Warhammer 40,000 rule book, or roll on the table presented on the right".
Can Cadre Fireblades and Darkstrider take warlord traits from the table in the Tau book?
Answered in the FAQ with replace this sentence with "When generating A Tau warlord's trait, you may either roll on the table here or on the Tables in the warhammer 40k rulebook."
|
"I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK" - Batman
"It exist because it needs to. Because its not the tank the imperium deserve but the one it needs right now . So it wont complain because it can take it. Because they're not our normal tank. It is a silent guardian, a watchful protector . A leman russ!" - Ilove40k
3k
2k
/ 1k
1k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:17:52
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Doh.
Ok another one brought up in a tactics thread. I think it is pretty pedantic, but oh well...
The multi-tracker allows you to 'fire an extra weapon each shooting phase.'
Does this ability also apply when Overwatching, or does it only apply to literally your own shooting phase?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:53:23
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Given literally every shooting attack is defined as occuring in the shooting phase, eithe they all work or they dont.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 18:07:33
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
If a model has a twin linked weapon, and is In a unit with a command and control node, does the model get to Reroll to hit twice?
|
The key to strategy is not to choose a path to victory, but to choose so that all paths lead to a victory.
War is beautiful because it establishes man’s dominion over the subjugated machinery by means of gas masks, terrifying megaphones, flame throwers, and small tanks. War is beautiful because it initiates the dreamt-of metalization of the human body. War is beautiful because it enriches a flowering meadow with the fiery orchids of machine guns. War is beautiful because it combines the gunfire, the cannonades, the cease-fire, the scents, and the stench of putrefaction into a symphony.
-Filippo Tommaso Marinetti |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 18:10:38
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Basic rule is you may never reroll a reroll. So No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 13:43:30
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Can seekers fired from Broadsides be fired at a separate target from the one the broadsides are targeting. The rule says they must fire at the same unit as the vehicle. Since you always have to fire at the same target with all weapons, this clause is either worthless or means broadside seekers can shoot another target.
|
NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 13:52:26
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
I believe that might be a holdover from last edition: Previously seekers would be 'called in' by any unit against a target which has been marked, and had essentially nothing to do with the vehicle carrying the missile.
Now, it serves to show that you can't pick any random unit with a markerlight hit and launch a seeker at it: it's only from the carrying vehicle (or broadside) and only at the target they're already shooting.
Perhaps a bit redundant, but also useful to people who are used to the old rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 17:58:00
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
GW has never made clarifications to older codex rules before. That is why this is so odd. Im inclined to believe that we are to ignore that sentence altogether, but until an FAQ says that, it is confusing
|
NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 21:25:12
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Interesting one popped up in one of my games today; the Ethereal's Storm of Fire power states that it can only be used once per turn, but is this player turn or game turn? I.e can you use it in your shooting phase and then also for over watch in your opponents assault phase? (If it's player turn based)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 21:32:00
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Jadenim wrote:Interesting one popped up in one of my games today; the Ethereal's Storm of Fire power states that it can only be used once per turn, but is this player turn or game turn? I.e can you use it in your shooting phase and then also for over watch in your opponents assault phase? (If it's player turn based)
The codex specifically says the units benefit from this power until the Ethereal's next movement phase, unless he is killed before then, which the power ends immediately. So, it would last all through your opponents following turn after you invoke the power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 23:43:04
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Jadenim wrote:Interesting one popped up in one of my games today; the Ethereal's Storm of Fire power states that it can only be used once per turn, but is this player turn or game turn? I.e can you use it in your shooting phase and then also for over watch in your opponents assault phase? (If it's player turn based)
Not interesting, given the rulebook defines turn as player turn, unless specified otherwise. The Ethereals rule then specifies the duration.
Please do some basic rules research (just searching turn = player turn? would probably have done it) before posting here
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 00:07:44
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Crawfordsville Indiana
|
Can MSS force you to use the Onager Gauntlet? If they can, does it reduce the random number of attacks to 1?
|
All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 00:44:02
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Question:
Can drones attached to a vehicle use overwatch and supporting fire? A cursory reading of the relevant rules doesn't seem to show any reason why they could not. However, the Point Defense Targeting Relay explicitly gives attached drones the ability to fire overwatch.
If the vehicle with a PDTR or Longstrike uses overwatch/supporting fire, are the drones forced to use overwatch/supporting fire at the same target? Or are they able to decline to overwatch, and use overwatch/supporting fire on another unit?
A drones attached to a vehicle with Longstrike able to use overwatch/supporting fire multiple times?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 04:05:02
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Trasvi wrote:Question:
Can drones attached to a vehicle use overwatch and supporting fire? A cursory reading of the relevant rules doesn't seem to show any reason why they could not. However, the Point Defense Targeting Relay explicitly gives attached drones the ability to fire overwatch.
If the vehicle with a PDTR or Longstrike uses overwatch/supporting fire, are the drones forced to use overwatch/supporting fire at the same target? Or are they able to decline to overwatch, and use overwatch/supporting fire on another unit?
A drones attached to a vehicle with Longstrike able to use overwatch/supporting fire multiple times?
The Tau Codex says: "This means that while they are attached, they can make shooting attacks as if they were passengers shooting from Fire Points..."
Reading in the Drone rules, all drone have the Supporting Fire special rule.
Reading the BRB under Transport: "If a Transport vehicle is assaulted, an embarked unit can fire Overwatch at the attackers out of its Fire Points."
It is possible that since Hammerhead and Sky Rays don't have the Transport rule, their Drones can't fire Overwatch without the Point Defense Targeting Relay, though they do have embarked units so I'm not entirely sure.
For your question on shooting the same target or holding overwatch, probably not since it says that the Drone must shoot at the same target as the vehicle. The Devilfish may be able to get away with it with since it is a transport.
Support Fire with the Devilfish and Overwatch against assault with the drones.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 04:08:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 04:46:26
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Trasvi wrote:Recon Drones don't explicitly have the supporting fire special rule. Do they inherit it from their Pathfinder unit?
Yea they do it's right above the "Turret Mounting" rule listed for all the special drones on pg.38, ofcourse the recon drone is the only one who actually benefits from it.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 06:09:01
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
megatrons2nd wrote:Can MSS force you to use the Onager Gauntlet? If they can, does it reduce the random number of attacks to 1?
Yes and no: printed rules. No reasonable argument can be made otherwise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 06:09:13
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 06:42:00
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Montana, U.S.A.
|
Cheesedoodler wrote:HeadRipper wrote:Can you use your firewarrior shas'ui markerlights before anything else fires with the target lock he also gets, meaning you can effectively have a "markerlight" phase before you shoot anything
This is an easy one: NO.
Re-read the rules on the shooting phase. You nominate a unit to shoot, and then do all the shooting from that unit. Once ALL the shooting from that unit is done, you move onto the next unit. The 'ui markerlight shot happens simultaneously with all the other shots from his unit.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
BlueRift wrote:Volley Fire:
Does Volley Fire also provide an additional shot for Longshot Pulse Rifles?
There's like a 90% chance that it doesn't, but I'd like to be sure.
Where are you getting that 90% from?
Volley Fire affects all PULSE weapons.
Is the LongShot pulse rifle a pulse weapon? YES.
Does volley fire give an extra shot to the Long shot pulse rifle? CLEARLY YES.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Jadenim wrote:Can they confirm that if Kroot upgrade to sniper rounds they get to choose which profile to use; the normal rifle or the sniper? The note in the summary section suggests this is the case but its not 100% explicit to me.
Read it again. How could it be any more explicit?! weapons marked with an * may choose which profile to use when firing.
Of course they can use both. This is why the upgrade is worded as them taking sniper rounds for their rifles, not replacing their kroot rifles with sniper rifles.
1.) You are correct regarding the Shas'Ui markerlight, it is simultaneous, just at a different target.
2.) You are incorrect. THe VOlley FIre Special rule clearly states Pulse Rifles and Pulse Carbines, not Pulse Weapons
3.) You are correct, the key word is take, not exchange
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 08:38:41
Subject: Re:Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
HoverBoy wrote:Trasvi wrote:Recon Drones don't explicitly have the supporting fire special rule. Do they inherit it from their Pathfinder unit?
Yea they do it's right above the "Turret Mounting" rule listed for all the special drones on pg.38, ofcourse the recon drone is the only one who actually benefits from it.
Lol. There I go looking at the fine print and missing the big huge 'special rules' underneath. Automatically Appended Next Post: Another Drone question:
If a model equipped with a Drone Controller is forced to snap fire, but drones in the same squad are not, what ballistic skill do the drones use?
As an example: A sniper drone team moves and the marksman elects to fire his markerlight as a snap shot. Do the drones then shoot at BS5 or BS1? RAW I believe it would be BS5, as only the bearer's *shot is resolved at BS1*, rather than the bearer being reduced to BS1, but the question did come up in a game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 09:44:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 16:50:51
Subject: Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
They all still use his BS5, it's just that his own markerlight is resolved at BS1 for snapshot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 16:51:19
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
|