Switch Theme:

Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






 HoverBoy wrote:
They all still use his BS5, it's just that his own markerlight is resolved at BS1 for snapshot.


Still needs Clarification, because the Drone controller says Uses the bearer's Ballistic skill ands its pretty much split 50/50 with people says you use his BS, then modify it for the drones or you use his BS after all modifiers take place. now if the FAQ comes out and says "You modify the Ballistic skill before you roll" then yes they would retain BS5 but if it doesnt say anything..... we are stuck with the unclear writing.

"I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK" - Batman
"It exist because it needs to. Because its not the tank the imperium deserve but the one it needs right now . So it wont complain because it can take it. Because they're not our normal tank. It is a silent guardian, a watchful protector . A leman russ!" - Ilove40k
3k
2k
/ 1k
1k 
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




Drones are Jet pack infantry, they have relentless so they can shoot the weapons at BS5

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Dracoknight wrote:
Drones are Jet pack infantry, they have relentless so they can shoot the weapons at BS5


It still depends on the Ruling for Drone Controller, if its after all modifers they will shoot at BS 1, if its before modifers than they will shoot at BS 5.

"I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK" - Batman
"It exist because it needs to. Because its not the tank the imperium deserve but the one it needs right now . So it wont complain because it can take it. Because they're not our normal tank. It is a silent guardian, a watchful protector . A leman russ!" - Ilove40k
3k
2k
/ 1k
1k 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Snap shot does not affect the model's actual BS it just affects the shots he makes.
A model making a snapshot isn't reduced to BS1 he resolves the shot at BS1.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/14 18:33:47



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




 HoverBoy wrote:
Snap shot does not affect the model's actual BS it just affects the shots he makes.
A model making a snapshot isn't reduced to BS1 he resolves the shot at BS1.


This is correct. So the drones use his full BS5

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

If a Sun Shark hits a Flying Monstrous Creature with it's networked markerlight, does it take it's grounding test before all the other weapons on the Sun Shark fire? Which could then make it snap shots for the Sun Shark to hit as it had to choose to "Skyfire" this turn, and the creature may have failed it's grounded test.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




 megatrons2nd wrote:
If a Sun Shark hits a Flying Monstrous Creature with it's networked markerlight, does it take it's grounding test before all the other weapons on the Sun Shark fire? Which could then make it snap shots for the Sun Shark to hit as it had to choose to "Skyfire" this turn, and the creature may have failed it's grounded test.

It takes the grounding test before you fire the rest of the weapons. The Sun Shark will fire at normal BS since it's still firing at a FMC (it doesn't matter if it's swooping or gliding). I'm not sure if the second round of shooting would trigger another grounding test if the first one is passed.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You take a grounding test once per unit that is firing, so there is no allowance for taking it before the rest of the units weapons fire.

There is still one unit firing, there is still only one test.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yeah, this seems to be a functionally irrelevant question.

The only two things in the codex that have a networked markerlight are vehicles that have skyfire as well (including the drones on the bomber).

So whether the FMC gets grounded by the networked markerlight or not does not matter to them, and the rules seem pretty clear that you're only taking one grounding test per unit's shooting.

So whether you take the test after the networked markerlight or after the rest of the unit's shooting is essentially irrelevant in this case.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dracoknight wrote:
 HoverBoy wrote:
Snap shot does not affect the model's actual BS it just affects the shots he makes.
A model making a snapshot isn't reduced to BS1 he resolves the shot at BS1.


This is correct. So the drones use his full BS5


I agree that RAW the rules work this way. The question is simply the reverse of one of the ones on the first page: If the drone controller does not fire snap shots in a situation where the drones do (ie, controller has skyfire), what BS do they use? If it is ruled that the drones also get skyfire in that situation, you could argue make sense that they fire BS1 in this one?

RE: FMC and grounding:
If the FMC gets grounded from the markerlight, doesn't that mean that the rest of the weapons on the skyray are now firing skyfire at a ground target, ie needing snapshots?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 00:12:35


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Trasvi wrote:

RE: FMC and grounding:
If the FMC gets grounded from the markerlight, doesn't that mean that the rest of the weapons on the skyray are now firing skyfire at a ground target, ie needing snapshots?


Nope, check the rules for Skyfire and you'll see.

Skyfire fires normal BS against Skimmers, Flyers & FMCs. It does not matter if the FMC is swooping or gliding.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 00:15:13


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Trasvi wrote:
Dracoknight wrote:
 HoverBoy wrote:
Snap shot does not affect the model's actual BS it just affects the shots he makes.
A model making a snapshot isn't reduced to BS1 he resolves the shot at BS1.


This is correct. So the drones use his full BS5


I agree that RAW the rules work this way. The question is simply the reverse of one of the ones on the first page: If the drone controller does not fire snap shots in a situation where the drones do (ie, controller has skyfire), what BS do they use?

They still use his BS but with no skyfire of their own they snapshoot.
Same as the other case their BS is still=drone controller use, just the shots are resolved at BS1, i see no RAW way for him to transfer his special rules just his BS and in the more specific case of targetting a unit with hard to hit they kinda loose out.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






 HoverBoy wrote:
Trasvi wrote:
Dracoknight wrote:
 HoverBoy wrote:
Snap shot does not affect the model's actual BS it just affects the shots he makes.
A model making a snapshot isn't reduced to BS1 he resolves the shot at BS1.


This is correct. So the drones use his full BS5


I agree that RAW the rules work this way. The question is simply the reverse of one of the ones on the first page: If the drone controller does not fire snap shots in a situation where the drones do (ie, controller has skyfire), what BS do they use?

They still use his BS but with no skyfire of their own they snapshoot.
Same as the other case their BS is still=drone controller use, just the shots are resolved at BS1, i see no RAW way for him to transfer his special rules just his BS and in the more specific case of targetting a unit with hard to hit they kinda loose out.


And agian it comes down to when do we use the Drone controller's BS because it does not defines a set "phase" to transfer it. in the FAQ about using special attacks to modify BS on snap shots it mentions abilities that all happen before you actually roll to attack, where as the drone controller mentions no time (ie before/during/after) when you use the Bearer's ballistic skill, just that you use it instead of the model's own. the drone controller needs GW answer.

"I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK" - Batman
"It exist because it needs to. Because its not the tank the imperium deserve but the one it needs right now . So it wont complain because it can take it. Because they're not our normal tank. It is a silent guardian, a watchful protector . A leman russ!" - Ilove40k
3k
2k
/ 1k
1k 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I have another question about the Paradox of Duality. It says the wound is discounted as if a cover save has been passed. How does this interact with the Tally of Pestilence rule, and how does this interact with weapons that ignore cover saves?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

Marker lights and supporting fire. Are all supporting fire happening simultaneously with overwatch? If not then can marker lights be utilized from the overwatch squad to help supporting squads or vice versa?

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

 Tomb King wrote:
Marker lights and supporting fire. Are all supporting fire happening simultaneously with overwatch? If not then can marker lights be utilized from the overwatch squad to help supporting squads or vice versa?

Why would there be specific permission for them to affect overwatch, if they can't be used in a manner where it matters.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Tomb King wrote:
Marker lights and supporting fire. Are all supporting fire happening simultaneously with overwatch? If not then can marker lights be utilized from the overwatch squad to help supporting squads or vice versa?


When an enemy charges, the units that are in Range and have Supporting fire can choose to "Overwatch"

"Resolve Overwatch" is a subphase of the Assault phase and if chosen, is immediately after an enemy declares a charge against one of your units.

Support Fire allows other units to also Overwatch and if they choose to, then it also occurs immediately after an enemy declares a charge against one of your units.

Thus both the unit being Charged and any "Supporting Fire" units that choose to, will fire and resolve Overwatch at the same time.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




40k-noob wrote:
Thus both the unit being Charged and any "Supporting Fire" units that choose to, will fire and resolve Overwatch at the same time.

Pg. 27 in the rulebook tells you to resolve each units shots seperately.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





overkongen wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Thus both the unit being Charged and any "Supporting Fire" units that choose to, will fire and resolve Overwatch at the same time.

Pg. 27 in the rulebook tells you to resolve each units shots seperately.


Resolve Separately but at the same time. You can't go from one declared charge to the next declared charge and then go back to that first supporting unit and fire at that first charger.

Also if you are firing at the same time, no marker lights are on the unit as you fire. But I can see a faq going the other way as well.

edit: spelling

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 20:27:39


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Nowhere does it say it's resolved at the same time. Instantly is not the same as simultaneously. It's resolved as a normal shooting attack which follows the shooting sequence listed on page 12.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

40k-noob wrote:

Resolve Separately but at the same time. You can't go from one declared charge to the next declared charge and then go back to that first supporting unit and fire at that first charger.

Also if you are firing at the same time, no marker lights are on the unit as you fire. But I can see a faq going the other way as well.

edit: spelling


You know how you know your interpretation is dead-wrong (besides the fact that the rules don't support what you're saying)? Because markerlights specifically say that they can be used to improve overwatch shooting.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 yakface wrote:
40k-noob wrote:

Resolve Separately but at the same time. You can't go from one declared charge to the next declared charge and then go back to that first supporting unit and fire at that first charger.

Also if you are firing at the same time, no marker lights are on the unit as you fire. But I can see a faq going the other way as well.

edit: spelling


You know how you know your interpretation is dead-wrong (besides the fact that the rules don't support what you're saying)? Because markerlights specifically say that they can be used to improve overwatch shooting.



guess I missed that part of the codex. What page would that be on?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

40k-noob wrote:

guess I missed that part of the codex. What page would that be on?


The last sentence of the 'pinpoint markerlight' rules.

I have the iOS version of the codex, so I can't give you a printed version page #.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




40k-noob wrote:
guess I missed that part of the codex. What page would that be on?

Pg. 68.
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





Multi tracker - says you can fire an additional weapon in the shooting phase is this an oversight or is it intended that you can only overwatch with 1 weapon per battlesuit?

Pathfinder shas'ui can take a blacksun filter for 1pt, even though blacksun filters on pathfinders are almost useless, however the fire warrior team leader cannot, oversight or intended?

huh.. until reading this thread I never even noticed that the codex states a twin linked burst cannon instead of two burst cannons... great... gotta build some smart missiles now, thats sure to be FAQ'd but until then thats a pain

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/15 22:59:38


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

It will need faq'd though as they technically happen at the same time and I can see people arguing both ways.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bobug wrote:
Multi tracker - says you can fire an additional weapon in the shooting phase is this an oversight or is it intended that you can only overwatch with 1 weapon per battlesuit?

Pathfinder shas'ui can take a blacksun filter for 1pt, even though blacksun filters on pathfinders are almost useless, however the fire warrior team leader cannot, oversight or intended?

huh.. until reading this thread I never even noticed that the codex states a twin linked burst cannon instead of two burst cannons... great... gotta build some smart missiles now, thats sure to be FAQ'd but until then thats a pain


Not so sure it will get FAQ, I am thinking the TLing of the SMS and BC as to "make-up" for losing the ability to fire as a fast vehicle.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Do the Sniper Drones' longshot pulse rifles count as "pulse rifles" for the purposes of the Fireblade's Volley Fire ability?

Two sniper shots at 48" and 3 at 24" might be enough to convince me to try out sniper drone teams.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bobug wrote:
Multi tracker - says you can fire an additional weapon in the shooting phase is this an oversight or is it intended that you can only overwatch with 1 weapon per battlesuit?


Already asked and answered - ALL shooting states "in the shooting phase", so either all "in the shooting phase" work or none do
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Hom many weapons can a commander with "early warning override" and 3 weapons fire with interceptor?

1, 2, because of multi tracker, or 3, because all 3 weapons have the interceptor special rule?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: