Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 17:19:42
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
This may be a really dumb question but I can't seem to find an answer.
If you had a DA HQ with a Powerfield generator ( 4++) and also had the banner of fortitude (FnP) mounted in a vehicle, would the vehicle get to a FnP roll? The Powerfield would grant it a saving throw so i would think FnP would then apply but i may be missing something or not reading it correctly.
thanks in advance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 17:21:28
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Vehicles do not suffer wounds. FNP does nothing for vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 17:42:08
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
WOUNDS!! that is the one word that makes it all impossible! Thank you, I know i was not seeing something correctly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 06:01:14
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Now i imagine all my destroyed rhinos screaming in pain. Thanks 40k-noob.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 08:32:43
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Just remember that there is no rule to allow Invul saves against non-wounds as well, though common convention seems to allow it (otherwise lots of pieces of wargear and special rules become completely useless). So, if an Invul save can be taken against a glancing/penetrating hit, then why not also FNP?
Just playing devil's advocate here.
Neronoxx wrote:Now i imagine all my destroyed rhinos screaming in pain. Thanks 40k-noob. 
If you play Chaos, then that is entirely possible
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 12:35:56
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Cheexsta wrote:Just remember that there is no rule to allow Invul saves against non-wounds as well, though common convention seems to allow it (otherwise lots of pieces of wargear and special rules become completely useless). So, if an Invul save can be taken against a glancing/penetrating hit, then why not also FNP?
Just playing devil's advocate here.
Neronoxx wrote:Now i imagine all my destroyed rhinos screaming in pain. Thanks 40k-noob. 
If you play Chaos, then that is entirely possible 
Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken and the rules for FNP state that it can only be taken vs wounds. Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 13:26:49
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Azrell wrote:Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken
For vehicles? Citation required.
Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
When you're asserting a rule exists it's normally a good idea to verify that it does.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 13:57:38
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
rigeld2 wrote: Azrell wrote:Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken
For vehicles? Citation required.
Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
When you're asserting a rule exists it's normally a good idea to verify that it does.
Shield Generators, Force Dome Generators, Skyshield Landing Pad, Telekine Dome.
All would provide vehicles an invulnerable save (they all state they affect a "model" or "unit" within a particular range. Model and Unit includes vehicles)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 13:58:48
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Rorschach9 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Azrell wrote:Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken
For vehicles? Citation required.
Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
When you're asserting a rule exists it's normally a good idea to verify that it does.
Shield Generators, Force Dome Generators, Skyshield Landing Pad, Telekine Dome.
All would provide vehicles an invulnerable save (they all state they affect a "model" or "unit" within a particular range. Model and Unit includes vehicles)
Great. Now look up invulnerable saves. See how they can only be taken on wounds?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 14:19:47
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Azrell wrote: Cheexsta wrote:Just remember that there is no rule to allow Invul saves against non-wounds as well, though common convention seems to allow it (otherwise lots of pieces of wargear and special rules become completely useless). So, if an Invul save can be taken against a glancing/penetrating hit, then why not also FNP?
Just playing devil's advocate here.
Neronoxx wrote:Now i imagine all my destroyed rhinos screaming in pain. Thanks 40k-noob. 
If you play Chaos, then that is entirely possible 
Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken and the rules for FNP state that it can only be taken vs wounds. Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
He was referring to possessed rhinos screaming in pain, which would indeed happen.
|
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 14:25:47
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Rorschach9 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Azrell wrote:Because the rules state that an invul save can be taken
For vehicles? Citation required.
Go read the vehicles section of the rule book for further explanation.
When you're asserting a rule exists it's normally a good idea to verify that it does.
Shield Generators, Force Dome Generators, Skyshield Landing Pad, Telekine Dome.
All would provide vehicles an invulnerable save (they all state they affect a "model" or "unit" within a particular range. Model and Unit includes vehicles)
Great, you have proiven the first part -that vehicles can possess an invulnerable save. Now, prove they can use one
From memory only Bjorn has explicit instructions in this area.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 14:39:58
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Great, you have proiven the first part -that vehicles can possess an invulnerable save. Now, prove they can use one
I didn't say they could use it, only that they have ("can take", not "can utilize/use") it. There is a difference. The citation that they can take (ie : have available) an invuln is there. Their inability to use it is something else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 14:50:32
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"Can take" does not only mean "has". In the context given "can take" clearly meant "make use of"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 15:00:39
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Rorschach9 wrote:
Great, you have proiven the first part -that vehicles can possess an invulnerable save. Now, prove they can use one
I didn't say they could use it, only that they have ("can take", not "can utilize/use") it. There is a difference. The citation that they can take (ie : have available) an invuln is there. Their inability to use it is something else.
So.. you responded to my original post why? I asked for a citation than an invul save can be taken. You respond with different ways to have them.
Be taken (in context) was to use/roll it, not to purchase it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/10 15:14:13
Subject: Feel No Pain and invuln question DA
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Enough.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
|