Switch Theme:

Space Marines arriving via Drop Pod and Interceptor  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

*NYI*
1850pnts
lost
Stolen

Beezlebub has never seen, a solider quite like me. Who not only does his job but does it happily. I'm the fear that keeps you awake. I'm the shadows on the wall. I'm the monsters they become. I'm the nightmare in your skull. I'm the dagger in your back, an extra turn upon the rack. I'm the quivering of your heart, a stabbing pain, a sudden start. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Were they in Reserves before the Turn started? If so they are an eligible target.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Yep, I believe it's in the reserve rules, they all count as arriving from reserve.
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Yeah, definitely.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

Yes

2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

However, most people would consider that absolutely ridiculous, and would say that you've got the right of it already.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 azazel the cat wrote:
TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

That is actually not at all what i had said...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Intercept is done at the end of the opponent's movement phase, the reserves coming on the board isnt a part of the movement phase you can do it whenever you want long as they came in at all. And seeing as you cannot stay embarked in the drop pod, they disembark before the movement phase is completed.

They were in reserves prior to this, thus viable targets. Shooting the pod itself is kinda pointless (unless they FAQ it somewhere where if you kill the pod in the Intercept fire the embarked unit dies too...which would be HILARIOUS to see people rage over that)

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in eu
Alluring Sorcerer of Slaanesh






Reading, UK

 Vineheart01 wrote:
Intercept is done at the end of the opponent's movement phase, the reserves coming on the board isnt a part of the movement phase you can do it whenever you want long as they came in at all. And seeing as you cannot stay embarked in the drop pod, they disembark before the movement phase is completed.

They were in reserves prior to this, thus viable targets. Shooting the pod itself is kinda pointless (unless they FAQ it somewhere where if you kill the pod in the Intercept fire the embarked unit dies too...which would be HILARIOUS to see people rage over that)


If any survived would they have to take impact test as they fell to the ground?

Would they have to roll for scatter as they plummeted and then have to try to move back into coherence after taking a pinning test?

Oh the fun you could have

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 12:38:46


No pity, no remorse, no shoes 
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






 Vineheart01 wrote:

Shooting the pod itself is kinda pointless


That can get you first blood though

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

That is actually not at all what i had said...


I think (read: hope) that azazel was joking. If so it was in poor taste...Especially since getting hit with an Interceptor weapon has nothing to do with IGS.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

 Happyjew wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

That is actually not at all what i had said...


I think (read: hope) that azazel was joking. If so it was in poor taste...Especially since getting hit with an Interceptor weapon has nothing to do with IGS.

I'd allow it, around my 96" Icarus. Try to drop anywhere close to my army? Nope. You can drop on the next table over.

 
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






 Purifier wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

That is actually not at all what i had said...


I think (read: hope) that azazel was joking. If so it was in poor taste...Especially since getting hit with an Interceptor weapon has nothing to do with IGS.

I'd allow it, around my 96" Icarus. Try to drop anywhere close to my army? Nope. You can drop on the next table over.


But then you'd be open to his guard allies basilisking you from the next table over...

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Happyjew wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
TheMind wrote:Quick rules clarification question: Marines arriving via droppod assault still technically arrived from reserves and are therefore valid targets for interceptor y/n?

Well, according to DeathReaper, the Interceptor rule could be considered an obstacle, in the sense that it impedes the progress of the drop pod, and therefore the Inertial Guidance rule allows you to move the Drop Pod far enough away that it is outside the range of the interceptor model.

That is actually not at all what i had said...


I think (read: hope) that azazel was joking. If so it was in poor taste...Especially since getting hit with an Interceptor weapon has nothing to do with IGS.

It was a reference to a joke that DeathReaper posted. But I don't think DeathReaper considered it as such.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 azazel the cat wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
I think (read: hope) that azazel was joking. If so it was in poor taste...Especially since getting hit with an Interceptor weapon has nothing to do with IGS.

It was a reference to a joke that DeathReaper posted. But I don't think DeathReaper considered it as such.

Mind pointing out the joke in that post you linked, because I am not seeing it. (Plus do not forget context).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 20:46:06


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Your choice to read "obstacle" to mean more than the physical object (that is, your extra 1" notion, which is so silly I assumed it was a joke). If you interpretation of an obstacle implies you get an extra 1" of movement so that the unit's progress is not hindered, then obviously the unit would get an extra 48" or 96" or whatever of movement so that the unit's progress is not hindered by the Interceptor's range.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 azazel the cat wrote:
Your choice to read "obstacle" to mean more than the physical object (that is, your extra 1" notion, which is so silly I assumed it was a joke). If you interpretation of an obstacle implies you get an extra 1" of movement so that the unit's progress is not hindered, then obviously the unit would get an extra 48" or 96" or whatever of movement so that the unit's progress is not hindered by the Interceptor's range.


The context dictates that the Obstacle is the impassible terrain or unit, not a Gun emplacement.

Therefore it is your read that is so silly I am going to assume it is a joke.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.

But they came out of reserves as well so wouldn't they be eligible for interceptor as well?

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





A GumyBear wrote:
 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.

But they came out of reserves as well so wouldn't they be eligible for interceptor as well?

No more so than a unit inside a Rhino.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.


Huh, what? Interceptor is used at the end of the movement phase. If the unit arrived from Reserve that turn, no matter how, then Interceptor allows you to shoot at it.

azazel the cat wrote:
A GumyBear wrote:
 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.

But they came out of reserves as well so wouldn't they be eligible for interceptor as well?

No more so than a unit inside a Rhino.


Yeah, and if the unit and the Rhino arrived from Reserve that turn, than a model with Interceptor can choose to shoot at either of them at the end of their movement phase (provided they disembarked as part of that move onto the board).



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
The Marines aren't targetable when Interceptor is tripped. At that time, the Drop Pod is the transport, so your Interceptor has to target that.

Which has no basis in the actual rules. Reread interceptor, and notice the timing of it and what units it is allowed to target

Azazel - given the context proves obstacle has something to do with preventing mishaps, and an interceptor shot isnt a mishap, I assume you are simply making a very poorly constructed joke that has no relvance to the rules.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Said marines are certainly targetable if are in range and satisfy LOS rules.
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





nosferatu1001 wrote:Azazel - given the context proves obstacle has something to do with preventing mishaps, and an interceptor shot isnt a mishap, I assume you are simply making a very poorly constructed joke that has no relvance to the rules.

Actually it was to lambast the foolish notion that a Drop Pod gets to move an additional 1" so as to adoid a Mishap from landing on an enemy unit. The term "obstacle" was being read as to include an event like a Mishap, on the grounds that the definition of an obstacle is "anything which impedes progress". However, if that is the interpretation of what "obstacle" refers to (as in, not only objects, but anything that impedes progress), then I insist that this stupidly-broad definition be used consistently; thus allowing the Drop Pod to move out of range of the Interceptor gun, which would also be considered an "impediment to the progress" of the Drop Pod. And that would also mean that if the entire table is within range of the Interceptor guns, then the Drop Pod cannot actually be deployed on the tabletop.

Or, a less stupid reading is that the Drop Pod moves far enough to avoid landing ON models, but then mishaps because it is within 1" of enemy units.

If that is the case, then why would it be worded as it is? Simple: because it means if the Drop Pod scatters onto friendly units, it can move so that it doesn't mishap by landing ON them. Same with impassible terrain. However, the Inertial Guidance rule only gives the Drop Pod permission to move the minimum distance to avoid the obstacle (which must be interpreted as a physical object, or else you get that assinine Interceptor-avoiding concept as outlined above). So if the obstacle is an enemy unit, then the Drop Pod doesn't land on them, but rather immediately beside them, and thus mishaps due to being less than 1" away.

It's that simple: either you don't mishap and thus get to move far enough away to avoid the Interceptor guns (and if the entire field is covered by Interceptor guns, then Drop Pods cannot deploy on the table), or else you only move far enough to not land on top of the physical object that is the enemy unit.

Basically, you can't have your cake and eat it too.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, a less stupid one would not be following that line, as you are told you can only reduce scatter, not increase it beyond 0.

You also ignore context, but that is par for the course.

Your slippery slope fallacy is just that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/12 23:50:47


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 azazel the cat wrote:
The term "obstacle" was being read as to include an event like a Mishap, on the grounds that the definition of an obstacle is "anything which impedes progress". However, if that is the interpretation of what "obstacle" refers to (as in, not only objects, but anything that impedes progress)
Do not overlook the context of the IG rule. not only objects, but anything that impedes progress that has to do with impassible terrain or the unit you scattered onto, as noted in the IG rule.
 azazel the cat wrote:
then I insist that this stupidly-broad definition be used consistently; thus allowing the Drop Pod to move out of range of the Interceptor gun
Only if you ignore the context of the Inertial Guidance rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Or as Azazel and I pointed out they could simply be referring to the model or terrain. The most logical reason for using obstacle being they could not use model nor terrain piece when referencing both options later in the rule so they used obstacle to cover both. They never even imply that mishaps are included as part of the "obstacle" even though the rule exists to avoid a mishap. The intent of the rule is to avoid the mishap, I agree, but nothing in the rule even implies they are to be included in the implementation of the rule. In the end this should be still in the other thread.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They are simply "referring to the model or terrain", and the IG rule tells you to reduce the scatter distance to avoid the obstacle.

The obstacle, when dealing with an enemy unit, includes the 1 inch mishap distance.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Again I would agree if they had written it to say landing within 1" of an enemy model instead of "landing on a model (friend or foe)" You are adding intent of the writer in order to include the 1" as it is not mentioned in the rule. It doesn't even separate the two types of models but lumps them together. As there is no rule that covers moving an inch away from all models that is yet more proof that it does not reference an inch bubble. You are including more in the definition then is indicated in the rule in order to stretch obstacle to include the bubble.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





DeathReaper wrote:They are simply "referring to the model or terrain", and the IG rule tells you to reduce the scatter distance to avoid the obstacle.

The obstacle, when dealing with an enemy unit, includes the 1 inch mishap distance.

No. This is the fundamental we disagree on. I do not consider 1" to be part of the obstacle.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: