Switch Theme:

And they shall know no fear questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




Hi Dakka, I had a few question yesterday about ATSKNF. Here they are

1. Unnamed chapter master is attached to a sternguard veteran unit. After some shooting, the unit fails its leadership test and moves 9" toward the board edge. SM player turn the unit automatically regroups. Now the SM wanted to shoot the orbital barrage. He first regrouped and we started to have questions. The chapter master must remain stationary in order to use ordnance weapons and regroping states that it can move up to 3". Howevere regrouping also states that the unit is considered to have moved and fires snap shots. ATSKNF states that the unit can shoot normally.
He decided not to consolidate and claimed that he can shoot normally, and proceded to shoot an ordinance weapon. In my opininion shooting normally meant not to snap shot, but the unit was still considered to have moved as it just regrouped. Who was right and why?

2. I'm not sure we play sweeping advances against ATSKNF. Tactical squad fails morale check. Rules state it must fall back 2D6" and my friend rolls (let's say 9"). He procedes to move his toy soldier 9" toward the board edge. I can now elect to make a sweeping advance and I do, winning the roll. Now ATSKNF says that those units are locked in combat. What does this mean? We played that my unit actually chased his and I moved 9" but this felt not right to me.

Thank you for your time.

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
Made in be
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods





I don't know for 1 but for 2: You roll first for sweeping advance and only fall back after that if the sweeping advance fails. So if he passes his sweeping advance the combat continues and no one moves (except for pile in moves).

2.7K 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Eldarcannon wrote:
1. Unnamed chapter master is attached to a sternguard veteran unit. After some shooting, the unit fails its leadership test and moves 9" toward the board edge. SM player turn the unit automatically regroups. Now the SM wanted to shoot the orbital barrage. He first regrouped and we started to have questions. The chapter master must remain stationary in order to use ordnance weapons and regroping states that it can move up to 3". Howevere regrouping also states that the unit is considered to have moved and fires snap shots. ATSKNF states that the unit can shoot normally.
He decided not to consolidate and claimed that he can shoot normally, and proceded to shoot an ordinance weapon. In my opininion shooting normally meant not to snap shot, but the unit was still considered to have moved as it just regrouped. Who was right and why?
.


In order for the CM to fire the OB, he cannot have moved period. It is not enough to count as staying stationary. If he moved (or counts as having moved) then the OB cannot be fired at all.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




Esparoba3 wrote:I don't know for 1 but for 2: You roll first for sweeping advance and only fall back after that if the sweeping advance fails. So if he passes his sweeping advance the combat continues and no one moves (except for pile in moves).


This seems the most logical way to play that but BRB says:"When a unit falls back from combat, the victors make a Sweeping Advance". RAW i sweep after morale check and fall back. Or not?

Happyjew wrote:In order for the CM to fire the OB, he cannot have moved period. It is not enough to count as staying stationary. If he moved (or counts as having moved) then the OB cannot be fired at all.


He did not move physically as he decided not to have 3" consolidate move. The cm started movement phase and shooting phase in the same place. He moved by the rules as stated under regrouping. Just to make sure I was clear.

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




EldarCannon- sweeping advance is performed BEFORE YOU FALL BACK.

You lose combat
Roll sweeping advance -> if caught, the unit is destroyed, or if SM is locked in combat
If they escape, THEN they roll fall back, and you roll consolidation.
   
Made in nz
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Auckland, New Zealand

Sweeping Advance is an Iniative based roll that determines if you need to see how far they go. Sometimes you don't.
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Once a unit regroups it counts as having moved.

A space marine can regroup and then move normally.

There is no permission to ignore the counts as having moved he is just allowed to move normally after it so he cannot shoot the orbital bombardment whether he moves in the movement phase or not.

 
   
Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




nosferatu1001 wrote:EldarCannon- sweeping advance is performed BEFORE YOU FALL BACK.

You lose combat
Roll sweeping advance -> if caught, the unit is destroyed, or if SM is locked in combat
If they escape, THEN they roll fall back, and you roll consolidation.


I can see your point on page 26 "If the falling back unit's total is higher, they break off from the combat successfully. Make a Fall Back move for the losing unit"
Now I can see where my confusion came from. A falling back unit is not a unit that performed a Fall Back movement. It is a unit that lost combat and failed a morale check and will (maybe) make a Fall Back movement.
Thank you all on this one, this is clear now.

spongemonkee wrote:Once a unit regroups it counts as having moved.

A space marine can regroup and then move normally.


It can move normally, indeed. The rules procedes with stating that he can also "shoot (or Run) and declare charges normally".
What does "normally" mean?

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Normally in this case would indicate that the model is not snap firing.

Could the model normally use its ordinance weapon if it counted as moving? If yes then it could be fired, If no then it cannot be fired.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Eldarcannon wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:EldarCannon- sweeping advance is performed BEFORE YOU FALL BACK.

You lose combat
Roll sweeping advance -> if caught, the unit is destroyed, or if SM is locked in combat
If they escape, THEN they roll fall back, and you roll consolidation.


I can see your point on page 26 "If the falling back unit's total is higher, they break off from the combat successfully. Make a Fall Back move for the losing unit"
Now I can see where my confusion came from. A falling back unit is not a unit that performed a Fall Back movement. It is a unit that lost combat and failed a morale check and will (maybe) make a Fall Back movement.
Thank you all on this one, this is clear now.

spongemonkee wrote:Once a unit regroups it counts as having moved.

A space marine can regroup and then move normally.


It can move normally, indeed. The rules procedes with stating that he can also "shoot (or Run) and declare charges normally".
What does "normally" mean?


Normally means they can shoot without any further restrictions, they can shoot how they NORMALLY shoot when they have moved. It does not mean they may magically ignore any restrictions normally imposed on shooting.


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

spongemonkee wrote:
Once a unit regroups it counts as having moved.

A space marine can regroup and then move normally.

There is no permission to ignore the counts as having moved he is just allowed to move normally after it so he cannot shoot the orbital bombardment whether he moves in the movement phase or not.

This.

Last edition, ATSKNF meant that Marines didn't automatically count as moving when they regrouped. So if you didn't use your 3" regroup movement or make a normal move, they would count as stationary.

The 6th ed version of ATSKNF removed this clause. They count as moving now just like everyone else... they just get to make extra movement.

 
   
Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




Thank you all for answering, it's completely clear now.

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: