Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 01:35:43
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Was reading a thread about Riptides and it got me wondering if there is a limitation stated anywhere as to the number of times a single model can have Puppet Master used on them in a turn. If I had three Zoanthropes with Puppet Master in range of a model, could all three use puppet master on the same model and give me three goes at shooting with it? Could not find anything but just want to be sure.
Also, when it says "The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models" what does that mean for target models that fire more than one weapon when they 'make a shooting attack'?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 01:36:04
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 01:42:04
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Due to the fact it says that the model makes a shooting attack as if it were one of your own, and your own models can only make a singe shooting attack per turn, I would say that a given model can only be subjected once.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 02:19:29
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Happyjew wrote:Due to the fact it says that the model makes a shooting attack as if it were one of your own, and your own models can only make a singe shooting attack per turn, I would say that a given model can only be subjected once.
It says "The target immediately makes a shooting attack" in the powers effects. Wouldn't that override the general shooting rules that limit the number of ranged attacks it can make?
It sounds to me like it takes the shot because the psychic power says it does and then explains the manner in which it does so "as if it was one of your models".
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 02:35:31
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Abandon wrote: Happyjew wrote:Due to the fact it says that the model makes a shooting attack as if it were one of your own, and your own models can only make a singe shooting attack per turn, I would say that a given model can only be subjected once.
It says "The target immediately makes a shooting attack" in the powers effects. Wouldn't that override the general shooting rules that limit the number of ranged attacks it can make?
It sounds to me like it takes the shot because the psychic power says it does and then explains the manner in which it does so "as if it was one of your models".
It makes a shooting attack as if it were your own model. If it just said it immediately makes a shooting attack (full stop) then I could see an argument.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 02:48:59
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You could not use the power correctly if it did not say "as if your own model". Otherwise PM would allow you to have the enemy you control, shoot your guys, which would make no sense. The caveat "as if your own Model" lets the target of PM shoot its allies legally, since you cannot otherwise target friendly units with shooting attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 03:16:13
Subject: Re:Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
From a similar thread on a different forum.
"The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models (this cannot target his own unit). After resolving the attack, the target shakes free of the Psyker's control and immediately reverts to the owning player's control."
I don't see any restrictions in the actual power on a unit making multiple shooting attacks due to Puppet Master, so I'll go to the shooting phase section of the rulebook; on pg. 12 under The Shooting Sequence:
"1. Choose one of your units that is able to, but has not yet, fire this turn"
That is the only rule I found forbidding a unit to make multiple shooting attacks, but it doesn't apply to Puppet Master, as a) it wasn't your unit up until Puppet Master treated it so, and b) it's not a choice, you're forcing that unit to fire. If it were treated as your unit for the entire phase, this would restrict it, but it "immediately reverts to the owning player's control" after Puppet Master is resolved. So I believe, by RAW, you can force an enemy unit to make multiple shooting attacks with Puppet Master.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 03:16:34
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 03:49:26
Subject: Puppet Master - just want to be sure.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Hum, thanks Prince. There is no rule in the shooting section that actually says a model or unit cannot fire multiple times. It only gives permission for a unit that has not already fired to do so. It seems in this case the permission is given by Puppet Master and it has no such stipulation about not having already fired.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
|