| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 05:00:21
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
I have a blast weapon that is twin linked that has gets hot, can i choose to not reroll the gets hot roll but reroll the scatter dice and vice versa?
Sit 1) gets hot roll is 1 but scatter dice are good
Sit 2) gets hot roll is passed but scatter dice are bad
Can i choose to reroll the gets hot independently of the scatter dice? I ask this because the wording of gets hot and rerolls says "... it may also re-roll gets hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll to hit."
thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 05:07:29
Subject: Re:Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Read pg 37 of the BRB ... Gets Hot explains how to handle twin linked as well as Gets Hot and Blast Markers.
You must roll them independently. If you have a Storm Raven for example ( This is the reason I understand what you are looking for ) it can have a TLPC. You are going to fire it. It is a blast so you MUST roll a d6 first.
Say it comes up as a one. In this instance it is in fact twin linked. You re-roll it and it comes up a 3.
Now you may place your blast marker on an enemy unit and roll for scatter. You roll an arrow and, worst case scenario, two 6's. Not so good, but it is twin linked and you may re-roll it but you MUST keep the second roll.
Now you get a target and the guys from the Evil Empire that is the Ultramarines go down faster than my sister on her first date.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/22 05:14:50
Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 05:11:41
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Far as I can see you're allowed to reroll Gets Hot! independent of the scatter dice.
Neither Gets Hot! nor Twinlinked mentions anything about having to reroll both, and TL even specifically mentions having to reroll both the Scatter dice and 2d6 if you wish to reroll that. I'm sure GH would mention having to reroll scatter when rerolling GH if that was required.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/22 05:13:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 05:36:48
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Thanks, this is for a twinlinked Riptide's ion accelerator btw.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 07:41:16
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
You have to roll Gets Hot first since weapons that don't roll To Hit doesn't fire at all if you roll a 1. But if your weapon is twin-linked or fired at BS6+ you are permitted to re-roll both Gets Hot and Scatter Dice + 2D6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/22 11:53:00
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Riptide ion accelerator is not twin linked.. unless you team it with a commander with CNC node?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 06:11:46
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Trasvi wrote:Riptide ion accelerator is not twin linked.. unless you team it with a commander with CNC node?
Planning to attach a support commander to an iontide in a 1000 pt game, basically make it a giant artillery cannon that can take anything out in one shot then have firewarriors cleanup the survivors.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 08:55:35
Subject: Re:Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Ian Pickstock
Nottingham
|
I honestly don't see what in the rules allows you to re-roll.the dice that checks to see if you get hot, as it isn't a to hit roll, nor is it a scatter roll.
|
Naaa na na na-na-na-naaa.
Na-na-na-naaaaa.
Hey Jude. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 09:11:05
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Read the gets hot USR, it is pretty clear you can Is the Riptide not a MC, therefore you cant join IC's to it
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/23 09:11:42
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 09:59:18
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This. The rules for Gets Hot! specify you can reroll
Is the Riptide not a MC, therefore you cant join IC's to it
This rule does not exist.
The ruels for ICs are they cannot join units that *always consist* of one model, and can never join vehicles / squadrons of vehicles. The Riptide is NEVER always a unit of one, as they can take drones
Same as you can attacha Prime to a unit of carnifex - as they compose 1 - 3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 10:10:25
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
This. The rules for Gets Hot! specify you can reroll
Is the Riptide not a MC, therefore you cant join IC's to it
This rule does not exist.
The ruels for ICs are they cannot join units that *always consist* of one model, and can never join vehicles / squadrons of vehicles. The Riptide is NEVER always a unit of one, as they can take drones
Same as you can attacha Prime to a unit of carnifex - as they compose 1 - 3
Ah right, I did look for the rule as I have heard it quite a few times, just didnt know where to look as I had it wrong.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 11:44:48
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Ian Pickstock
Nottingham
|
|
Naaa na na na-na-na-naaa.
Na-na-na-naaaaa.
Hey Jude. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 11:53:37
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I missed it the first time I read it while playing, serves me right just reading the first few lines! ha
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/23 11:55:00
Subject: Re-roll blast with gets hot
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hey BryllCream. I just Blue myself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|