| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 09:20:18
Subject: Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Romania
|
Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
If you have a Librarian in a razorback, and cast Shield, do you measure the range of the shield( 5+ cover in 6") from the vehicle hull or if you cast it, only the Razorback has a 5+ cover save?
Gw says that wargear like KFF is measured from the hull of the vehicle the bearer othat has the wargear is in. Is it the same for psychic powers?
|
BRINGG BACK THE SQUATS!!!! WARHAMMER 40K - SPACE DWARFSSS |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 10:20:45
Subject: Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it is the same for shield as per the FAQ 6 inches from the hull
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 11:37:36
Subject: Re:Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I thought the newest FAQ changed that.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 15:07:30
Subject: Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It only changes it for one item of wargear, for one army.
For everyone else follow the rules in the rulebook.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 16:01:24
Subject: Re:Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Special Rules derived from wargear are meausred from the hull.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Do embarked passengers with ‘area of effect’ wargear, such as
the Big Mek’s Kustom Force Field, measure the range of such items
from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon? (p78)
A: Yes.
This FAQ does not addres Psychic Powers.
I believe that the RB only allows you to cast psychic powers while embarked in a transport under certain circumstances. You can fire a PSA out of a fire point. You can cast a psychic power if it targets the embarked unit. The two FAQs go along with this.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest powers
that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically
allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.
Eldar FAQ wrote:Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 16:05:34
Subject: Re:Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Wasn't that for the DA wargear?
Lucarikx
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 20:20:20
Subject: Re:Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Romania
|
wyomingfox wrote:Special Rules derived from wargear are meausred from the hull.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Do embarked passengers with ‘area of effect’ wargear, such as
the Big Mek’s Kustom Force Field, measure the range of such items
from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon? (p78)
A: Yes.
This FAQ does not addres Psychic Powers.
I believe that the RB only allows you to cast psychic powers while embarked in a transport under certain circumstances. You can fire a PSA out of a fire point. You can cast a psychic power if it targets the embarked unit. The two FAQs go along with this.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest powers
that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically
allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.
Eldar FAQ wrote:Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.
Yes ok fine, but you cast the Power on yourself if you wish...inside the transport. The target is you..and you can see yourself or other unit inside the transport.
So the power works..you cast. BUT do you measure from the hull?
I believe yes...you do
|
BRINGG BACK THE SQUATS!!!! WARHAMMER 40K - SPACE DWARFSSS |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 20:43:01
Subject: Re:Shield of Sanguinius- measuring from vehicle?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
wyomingfox wrote:Special Rules derived from wargear are meausred from the hull.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Do embarked passengers with ‘area of effect’ wargear, such as
the Big Mek’s Kustom Force Field, measure the range of such items
from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon? (p78)
A: Yes.
This FAQ does not addres Psychic Powers.
I believe that the RB only allows you to cast psychic powers while embarked in a transport under certain circumstances. You can fire a PSA out of a fire point. You can cast a psychic power if it targets the embarked unit. The two FAQs go along with this.
RB FAQ wrote:Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest powers
that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically
allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.
Eldar FAQ wrote:Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.
The first only addresses psy powers that need LOS and the shield does not and the second only addresses eldar and the eldar powers but the eldar can still cast BRB powers as normal so both are irrelevant to this debate
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|