Switch Theme:

Tau target lock and assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior




Norwich,UK

When assaulting ( I know assaulting with tau sounds like a bad idea but the farsight bomb isn't to bad in assault.) can i charge any of the units i shoot at or do i have to choose a main target and charge that squad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/05 17:29:18


Tac Ticz, Whatz Dat?  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

You choose a main target that the squad is shooting at for the purposes of assaulting it.

Then you nominate any targets that you are shooting at with Target Locks. Then you resolve the shooting simultaneously.



"This squad is going to shoot at this unit. And these models with Target Locks are going to shoot at these other targets."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/05 18:33:44


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I disagree.

The models with Target Locks are still "targeting" whatever it is they fire at, which is the requirement for assaulting after shooting, that you targeted the enemy you are attempting to assault in the shooting phase.

It's determined on a per unit basis, but a unit that utilizes Target Locks has targeted more than one enemy unit, thus each of them is a valid unit to charge.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Drunkspleen wrote:
I disagree.

The models with Target Locks are still "targeting" whatever it is they fire at, which is the requirement for assaulting after shooting, that you targeted the enemy you are attempting to assault in the shooting phase.

It's determined on a per unit basis, but a unit that utilizes Target Locks has targeted more than one enemy unit, thus each of them is a valid unit to charge.


A unit has to charge the unit they shot at. A model with a target lock can fire at a different unit then the rest of the unit. Therefore since the squad fired at Unit A, and model fired at Unit B, the squad can only charge Unit A.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Yes I understand how you are coming to the conclusion you are, I simply don't agree that a unit has only targeted it's primary target, I believe it has targeted all enemies that the component parts of the unit have themselves targeted.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Things with Split Fire can assault either target they fired at. Seems like a reasonable precedent.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Drunkspleen wrote:
Yes I understand how you are coming to the conclusion you are, I simply don't agree that a unit has only targeted it's primary target, I believe it has targeted all enemies that the component parts of the unit have themselves targeted.


You seem to have missed the point. The unit fires at the enemy unit. The models, not unit, of the unit with target lock are permitted to select a different target to what the unit is firing at. As you can only charge what the unit, not individual models in the unit that changed their target, fired at then you must declare what the unit is firing at as the primary target for assault. Declaring you are charging any other unit that individual models, not the unit, in the unit fired at is not permitted by the rules. Even assaulting the primary target and one of the other units will count as a disordered charge as the unit, not models in the unit with target lock, did not declare its target as that unit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DarknessEternal wrote:
Things with Split Fire can assault either target they fired at. Seems like a reasonable precedent.


Since when can split fire choose? Its a single model making an immediate shooting attack before the unit resolves its shooting as normal. there is nothing in the rule book or the FAQ that permits the unit to charge the unit that the model that was chosen to split fire fires at.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/06 04:10:54


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 Bausk wrote:
You seem to have missed the point. The unit fires at the enemy unit. The models, not unit, of the unit with target lock are permitted to select a different target to what the unit is firing at. As you can only charge what the unit, not individual models in the unit that changed their target, fired at then you must declare what the unit is firing at as the primary target for assault. Declaring you are charging any other unit that individual models, not the unit, in the unit fired at is not permitted by the rules. Even assaulting the primary target and one of the other units will count as a disordered charge as the unit, not models in the unit with target lock, did not declare its target as that unit.


I do get your point, and it is a good one to raise.

My issue is, I don't feel the game actually delineates between units and their constituent members in the way that you are suggesting.

Off the top of my head I know Stealth and Shrouded don't, they give a cover save bonus specifically to a unit, rather than to all models in the unit, even though units, strictly speaking, don't have cover saves. We take this to mean that all models in the unit receive the bonus, I'm sure I could find many more similar instances too.

Which is why I don't subscribe to the belief that you can accurately say "the unit targeted X, but members of it targeted Y using target locks", the unit targeted everything that models in the unit targeted, because a unit isn't a unique entity from the models that make it up, they are one and the same.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/06 07:53:17


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Drunkspleen wrote:
 Bausk wrote:
You seem to have missed the point. The unit fires at the enemy unit. The models, not unit, of the unit with target lock are permitted to select a different target to what the unit is firing at. As you can only charge what the unit, not individual models in the unit that changed their target, fired at then you must declare what the unit is firing at as the primary target for assault. Declaring you are charging any other unit that individual models, not the unit, in the unit fired at is not permitted by the rules. Even assaulting the primary target and one of the other units will count as a disordered charge as the unit, not models in the unit with target lock, did not declare its target as that unit.


I do get your point, and it is a good one to raise.

My issue is, I don't feel the game actually delineates between units and their constituent members in the way that you are suggesting.

Off the top of my head I know Stealth and Shrouded don't, they give a cover save bonus specifically to a unit, rather than to all models in the unit, even though units, strictly speaking, don't have cover saves. We take this to mean that all models in the unit receive the bonus, I'm sure I could find many more similar instances too.

Which is why I don't subscribe to the belief that you can accurately say "the unit targeted X, but members of it targeted Y using target locks", the unit targeted everything that models in the unit targeted, because a unit isn't a unique entity from the models that make it up, they are one and the same.


Special rules make for specific allowances in specific circumstances. In the case of stealth and shrouded the special rule applies to the whole unit if the requirement is met, being one model with the rule. As for a rule like split fire the rule is also applied to the whole unit but only makes one specific allowance for a single model make an immediate shooting attack at a different unit to that the unit is firing at. It does not grant any permission beyond that. Meaning, it does not give permission for the unit to assault the enemy unit a single model from its unit fired at. The unit still makes a normal shooting attack, point and fact split fire states as much rather specifically, which is to be taken as the units normal shooting for all intents as there is no permission to treat it as otherwise.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I think you missed my point with regards to stealth and shrouded.

you say:

In the case of stealth and shrouded the special rule applies to the whole unit if the requirement is met, being one model with the rule.


And this is exactly what I was getting at. The rules use a wording that refers to the cover save of the unit, but we take that not to mean the unit as a separate entity, and instead increase the cover save of every model in the unit.

Similarly I would argue, that when the assault rules tell us a unit must have targeted an enemy with a shooting attack, we take that to mean, models within the unit must have targeted the unit we intend to charge. So long as some models have targeted the unit we are charging, then the unit can be said to have targeted them, to some extent.

The unit still makes a normal shooting attack, point and fact split fire states as much rather specifically, which is to be taken as the units normal shooting for all intents


I also disagree with this assertion in that, Split Fire doesn't tell you the unit makes a normal shooting attack, it tells you "the rest of the unit" resolve a shooting attack at a different target.

It's an important distinction because "the rest of the unit" is as much as subsection of the unit as the lone model who fired before them, neither is the whole unit, so to say one can count as "the unit" but the other can't doesn't seem accurate to me.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





IMO and HIWPI

The unit nominates a target as per BRB, nothing in the Tau codex over rides this.

Then you chose to use targetlock to shoot at a different target to the "rest of his squad" (this overrides the BRB rule of all models in the unit must shoot at the same target).

The target for the purposes of charging is the orignal target selected, not the targets selected for the purposes of the target lock as that is done on a per model basis not a unit basis as per the Tau codex

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




In the case of you have a unit of 3 crisis suits all with target locks, and you shoot at 3 different targets with the 3, i think you can assault any, or you must choose which of the 3 before shooting is your "main target" for a assault.

This is a easier case with Drones, as they dont have splitfire and whatever the drones shoot at you have to assault as they are the unit.

Its a interesting issue, i guess it wasnt cleared up due to dau isnt supposed to assault in the first place

 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





North Denver

"can shoot at a different target than his unit".

Unit has a target established. That is the target that you can charge. The "target locked" shot is NOT the unit's target. You cannot charge it.

Plain English, this isn't hard.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: