Switch Theme:

Aegis how can we deploy it?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say




WI

foolishmortal wrote:


You can't put it on a ruin. The ADL and Quad are placed on the table before normal terrain.


You know what... I think this right here is one of the keys to this argument. The real reason folk are arguing for putting the ADL gun where ever they want is so they can place it on top of another Terrain piece. You throw that Quad gun up on top of a 3 story building that gives it a better Cover save than the ADL wall and better LoS and it is a superior weapon... one can argue it would be unfair. My 2 cents is that it is a upgrade of the ADL and thus must follow the rules given in the FAQ that it must be in base to base contact with the ADL. I, of course, would put it /behind/ a wall segment to give it a cover save but still in base to base contact with it.

This also means that your opponent can now put a piece of terrain in front of your ADL gun to block it's LoS. I do not find this satisfactory at all, as it doesn't make sense that the ADL gun would be placed in such a poor place, much less a building was put up after the ADL and crumbled into ruin (or a big rock was placed there, or what have you for terrain options).

To be honest, despite some people arguing semantics with a incredibly loose use of the word 'attached', the easy thing would be for GW to get off of their ass and FAQ the ADL fortifications. This is really starting to feel like the 5th Ed Chaos marine Dreadnaught 'Fire Frenzy' rule. I would like to see GW...

A) Say the gun has to be in base contact with the wall (I read it as this) or not
1A) Then say where you can or can not place it
B) Place Fortifications /after/ terrain
B1) If B is not allowed, allow for the gun to be placed after terrain so the owner still has a clear field of fire (but still attached to the ADL?)
C) Fix the LoS rules concerning the ADL and counting the ADL as a "Friendly unit" so those Sponson weapons on vehicles folk like talking about actually can shoot past it, since 6th has rules vehicle weapon LoS is the gun.

Been playing 40k on and off since 89.
Armies...
Orks, Eldar, Lamentors, Pre-Heresy EC, CSM EC, and IG.  
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

People place Terrain in front of my ADLs all the time

I don't love it, but, it's a game where you try to kill the other guys toys... fair is fair.

I try to place my ADL in a 2x2' with only 1 terrain piece rolled for it. Baring that, there is a minimum distance of 3" but that is still pretty darn close.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You only place before terrain in non tournament games, I find. In a tournament you may be allowed to place your fortification on existing terrain
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say




WI

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You only place before terrain in non tournament games, I find. In a tournament you may be allowed to place your fortification on existing terrain


Yeah, this is why I was kinda taken aback by the realization that the ADL had to be placed before terrain. The people I play with have been doing it wrong and placing it as part of their army... so it could be on top of a hill and the like. Might have been influenced from Tourney play were terrain is placed first and they just didn't realize it.

Been playing 40k on and off since 89.
Armies...
Orks, Eldar, Lamentors, Pre-Heresy EC, CSM EC, and IG.  
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

 BlkTom wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
You only place before terrain in non tournament games, I find. In a tournament you may be allowed to place your fortification on existing terrain


Yeah, this is why I was kinda taken aback by the realization that the ADL had to be placed before terrain. The people I play with have been doing it wrong and placing it as part of their army... so it could be on top of a hill and the like. Might have been influenced from Tourney play were terrain is placed first and they just didn't realize it.
My FLGS does the pre-placed terrain also, but they require you to remove a piece of terrain to place a Fortification.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

This is an important consideration for TOs.

Per standard Fortification setup rules in the rulebook, Fortifications can never be on top of other terrain or within 4” (3”?) of it. If, for speed of setup, a TO is using pre-set terrain and allowing Fortifications to be placed after the other terrain, before deployment, the TO really should retain a minimum distance from other terrain in their rules for placing Fortifications.

If the boards have a lot of terrain (luxury) and this minimum distance makes placing Fortifications difficult, a good additional rule is the one Foolishmortal mentioned. For Fortifications to replace an existing item of terrain on the table (swap that out and put it under the table during the game), as again this mimics the rulebook’s rules, in which a Fortification counts as a piece of terrain for terrain density, so a given board section is normally expected to have one fewer piece of regular terrain if it has a Fortification in it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia






I still go with the rule books says "add". And if it is being placed anywhere, then it is not added to the ADL. just like the directions for putting on the Com unit with the wall, shows where to attach it, and is to under the "add" section.
Saying that no where in the rules does it say I can't place it where ever I want, is like saying "No where in the rules does it say I can't throw chicken nuggets at the person I am playing"
The gun is with the ADL entry, you pay for it after you buy the ADL and add it to the ADL, as it is worded in the entry.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Waaaghpower wrote:

My point being...
Adding 'Citation Needed' to any argument you disagree with is not a counterpoint. Respond with a logical, thought out opinion, a quote from the rulebook, sure. But at least have an opinion besides "You're wrong."


Ah, excuse me, but Citation needed please.

Lol couldnt resist. Ok on to the meat of the matter!

As I was reading this it came to me: Dedicated transports. Lets take IG chimeras and squads. You can take the squad without purchasing the chimera.
You can take the squad and purchase the chimera, and at the start of the game start the squad inside of the chimera.
You can purchase the squad and the chimera and you dont have to start the game with them inside of it. (Its an option, right?)

I see the ADL and the quad gun in a similar light (now).

On a personal note though I dont see the point in separating the two, but thats just me.



 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Right. Some folks believe that you "add" a Gun Emplacement or Comm Relay to an Aegis or Bastion the way you select a Dedicated Transport for a unit. The two are still two separate entities, but only take up one Force org slot.

I disagree with that interpretation, but it's not absurd or the equivalent of throwing chicken nuggets.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia






 Mannahnin wrote:
Right. Some folks believe that you "add" a Gun Emplacement or Comm Relay to an Aegis or Bastion the way you select a Dedicated Transport for a unit. The two are still two separate entities, but only take up one Force org slot.

I disagree with that interpretation, but it's not absurd or the equivalent of throwing chicken nuggets.


The Chicken Nugget comment, when not taken out of context, makes sense. People keep saying "The rules don't say I cant do it" when in fact it does not say you can or can not do it. There are a lot of things the rules do not say you can not do, it does not mean you can or should do it.
Now if someone can come up with a reason for why they can, that is cool. Just saying "Doesn't say I can't" I find that as silly as Chicken Nugget throwing.
I am going with the gun being part of the ADL because the entry says "add"
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 RicBlasko wrote:
People keep saying "The rules don't say I cant do it" when in fact it does not say you can or can not do it.


No, that's not what people are saying at all. The rules say very clearly where you can place components of a fortification: in your half of the table and not within X" of another fortification. The actual argument we're making is that the rules don't give any other limits (besides the unit-specific rule about the walls of the ADL forming a single unbroken chain), so the rules DO say that you can put the gun emplacement away from the rest of the ADL.

(And if you disagree with that general ruling, then why did the ADL require its special "unbroken chain" rule to keep you from placing it in several separate places?)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/11 22:15:25


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The FAQ clarified/altered the rule to make it so that the sections of the wall have to be placed all in a contiguous formation, instead of just each piece touching at least one other piece.

Another FAQ question refers to the Gun Emplacement as being "attached" to the wall. Some folks read that as just meaning organizationally, and others think it means physically. The latter view seems to be more prevalent, but it's certainly worth clarifying with opponents and TOs locally to your area.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in be
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





Belgium, Mechelen!

 DeathReaper wrote:
dkellyj wrote:
I would allow you to put your sponsons anywhere you wanted.
Of course I would then ask how you intend to shoot them since they are not an emplaced gun/gun emplacement (so a troop can't walk up to them and fire them) nor attached to a vehicle.

It is a weapon that was bought as an option for the predator, once you nominate the predator to make a shooting attack, the lascannons can shoot as well, as the lascannons were an option for the predator.
 Grey Templar wrote:
If its not on the model you don't have the upgrade. WYSIWYG.

Citation needed. I can not find the WYSIWYG rule in the book.
Also, permissive rule set. As a fortification I am allowed to put the quad-gun anywhere on my table half.

The quad gun is the same fortification as the ADL.
The ADL itself(the actual wall sections) have been clarified to have to be in BtB with at least one other wall section in an unbroken chain. The Quad-gun has no such restriction.

The quad gun is as much a part of the ADL as Sponsons on a predator are a part of that predator, or a meltagun is a part of the model it is an option for.
Sponsons are not given permission to be anywhere. they simply represent an upgrade for the vehicle.

The same applies for the ADL gun.
Thus by inference they have to be on the vehicle(note you can put them wherever you want on the vehicle, barring MFA rules)

The same inference applies to the ADL.


I just wanna say here, there's no pred in any codex where it doesn't say that you just buy the Lascannons, you buy the sponsons. Sponsons are clearly stated to be on the vehicle for which they are bought as you upgrade THAT vehicle with THOSE sponsons. Your own words are Citation Needed fella.

Back on thread: Yes indeed the ADL is a bit confusing and sometimes you will go like WTFFFF and yes those are grey knights and yes that could be grey knight codex chimeras but it could also be imperial guard allies and then have the nice ass camo netting thus giving this guy a reason to claim a 3+ cover.

Check out the Avengers vid! : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9D_Vi2_BtKc&feature=youtu.be

Also take a peek at the new intro I managed to develop for my future videos! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xk4yVUsqvy0

Avenger Crons : AVENGERS ASSEMBLE! <= fully in painting process. View progress in this thread = http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/454194.page 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Mannahnin wrote:
The FAQ clarified/altered the rule to make it so that the sections of the wall have to be placed all in a contiguous formation, instead of just each piece touching at least one other piece.


Exactly. The WALL sections have to form a single unbroken chain, but the gun emplacement is not a wall section. And, given that it would be "reasonable" and "fluffy" to have the wall sections form a box with the gun in the center (not touching any walls) it can't really be argued that it must have been intended to cover the gun emplacement as well.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 RutgerMan wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
dkellyj wrote:
I would allow you to put your sponsons anywhere you wanted.
Of course I would then ask how you intend to shoot them since they are not an emplaced gun/gun emplacement (so a troop can't walk up to them and fire them) nor attached to a vehicle.

It is a weapon that was bought as an option for the predator, once you nominate the predator to make a shooting attack, the lascannons can shoot as well, as the lascannons were an option for the predator.
 Grey Templar wrote:
If its not on the model you don't have the upgrade. WYSIWYG.

Citation needed. I can not find the WYSIWYG rule in the book.
Also, permissive rule set. As a fortification I am allowed to put the quad-gun anywhere on my table half.

The quad gun is the same fortification as the ADL.
The ADL itself(the actual wall sections) have been clarified to have to be in BtB with at least one other wall section in an unbroken chain. The Quad-gun has no such restriction.

The quad gun is as much a part of the ADL as Sponsons on a predator are a part of that predator, or a meltagun is a part of the model it is an option for.
Sponsons are not given permission to be anywhere. they simply represent an upgrade for the vehicle.

The same applies for the ADL gun.
Thus by inference they have to be on the vehicle(note you can put them wherever you want on the vehicle, barring MFA rules)

The same inference applies to the ADL.


I just wanna say here, there's no pred in any codex where it doesn't say that you just buy the Lascannons, you buy the sponsons. Sponsons are clearly stated to be on the vehicle for which they are bought as you upgrade THAT vehicle with THOSE sponsons. Your own words are Citation Needed fella.


Okay, how about the case of a Hunter killer missile or Storm Bolter as an option for a predator?

It says "May take any of the following" "a storm bolter" "a hunter-killer missile"(143 Codex SM).

Do these have to be connected to the predator? They have similar rules to the ADL and Gun Emplacement that says "Add one of the following"(114 BRB)

Or a Multi melta on a Land Raider it says "May take any of the following...a Multi-Melta" (142 Codex SM). Following the logic of some, it seems that you do not have to add the weapon to the vehicle.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran







Lol It would be funny to go against a player that at the beginning of the game tells you he took a multi melta...you and then at the end you go Whoa dude! You remember you took the melta and never used it? To which he replies I didnt forget, the meltas in the trunk of the landraider, and you cant fire if you dont have los!

Doh!

Itd be equally funny to see a new player, who follows the RAW verbatim and sees the point cost of the items you can take (or add) but sees no rules telling you where you may place them, and declines purchasing them due to thinking of them as a waste of points because youd just have to hold them in your hand or something.

Just a funny.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/12 04:56:51




 
   
Made in au
Raging Ravener





I always deploy my Comms away from my aegis and often behind stuff like buildings, afterall it does say in the description of the aegis it could be a defensive structure that is unpacked, so I can put it where ever I want it, and have never had a player complain!... likewise I have seen people place the aegis Quad gun away from the wall, but why not give it a cover save as well?... If its behind the wall then it gets the 3+ as well as the 4++... Even more stupid is the fact you could place the aegis quad gun around the corner of a building away from LOS, then have the model fire the gun from his position in the open while the gun stays safe from enemy fire (As being able to be targeted independently from unit firing it)... Also isn't terrain actually placed after fortifications during the battlefield setup?, I think this is to deliberately stop people placing it on hills, some on a cliff, the other half on the plateau etc, so the road is really not meant to be there as it could offer cover by raising the wall and also disallowing a quad gun to be 3 storeys high or sideways on a rock...

6500pts
5500pts
5500pts
1500pts
Sons of Orar 2000pts
1850pts
2500pts
Knights 1850pts
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

major_payne wrote:
I always deploy my Comms away from my aegis and often behind stuff like buildings, afterall it does say in the description of the aegis it could be a defensive structure that is unpacked, so I can put it where ever I want it, and have never had a player complain!... likewise I have seen people place the aegis Quad gun away from the wall, but why not give it a cover save as well?... If its behind the wall then it gets the 3+ as well as the 4++..

The wall grants 4+ cover. Obviously whether the wall and any added upgrades to it can be deployed deparately is the subject of this thread.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Mannahnin wrote:
major_payne wrote:
I always deploy my Comms away from my aegis and often behind stuff like buildings, afterall it does say in the description of the aegis it could be a defensive structure that is unpacked, so I can put it where ever I want it, and have never had a player complain!... likewise I have seen people place the aegis Quad gun away from the wall, but why not give it a cover save as well?... If its behind the wall then it gets the 3+ as well as the 4++..

The wall grants 4+ cover. Obviously whether the wall and any added upgrades to it can be deployed deparately is the subject of this thread.
Think he meant he 3+ armour save on it's profile, and the 4+ cover

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/12 15:13:47


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

major_payne wrote:
Even more stupid is the fact you could place the aegis quad gun around the corner of a building away from LOS, then have the model fire the gun from his position in the open while the gun stays safe from enemy fire (As being able to be targeted independently from unit firing it)...


That would be cool if it were possible, but it is not possible.

The Gun Emplacement is terrain. As terrain the Gun Emplacement can not be "around the corner of a building away from LOS" as you have to place terrain 3 inches or further from other or terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/12 15:29:58


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: