Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:33:49
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
Iowa City/ Iowa
|
Where is the rule where you can't assault the first turn? I haven't been able to find it, although I keep looking.
Also, is there a rule that you can assault first turn if you go second? I have heard some podcasts talking about some tactics that involve that.
It has actually made some real differences in my games.
|
I miss the good old days when a man would build a skyscraper with his bare hands just so you would stop hitting him with a shovel.
-Catbert
"Welcome to the internet, here is your complementary basket of pornography and one free coupon for a lobotomy of the frontal lobe."
-Ixquic
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:37:04
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
There is no rule. You can't assault on turn one woth infiltrating or scouting units, but if you can somehow get across the board in time to charge on the first turn you are good to go.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:40:56
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Had someone quit on me when they couldn't find the rule disallowing first turn assaults.
|
Pit your chainsword against my chainsw- wait that's Heresy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:45:11
Subject: Re:First turn assaults
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
Iowa City/ Iowa
|
oh really, well thats odd. Was that just a 5th edition rule I was thinking of?
|
I miss the good old days when a man would build a skyscraper with his bare hands just so you would stop hitting him with a shovel.
-Catbert
"Welcome to the internet, here is your complementary basket of pornography and one free coupon for a lobotomy of the frontal lobe."
-Ixquic
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:46:32
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
To be fair, it's really hard to get first turn assault. (Especially if you go first.) The only ways I know of getting it are Stormboys and anyone with the +1" charge warlord trait, though if you go second then the enemy can typically get close enough to charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:49:40
Subject: Re:First turn assaults
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
Iowa City/ Iowa
|
This has effected my games against the Dark Angels. He'll scout up with his bikes right into my Khorne lord, and I thought I couldnt do anything, so I would back away.
|
I miss the good old days when a man would build a skyscraper with his bare hands just so you would stop hitting him with a shovel.
-Catbert
"Welcome to the internet, here is your complementary basket of pornography and one free coupon for a lobotomy of the frontal lobe."
-Ixquic
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:52:46
Subject: Re:First turn assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
chickenbgood wrote:oh really, well thats odd. Was that just a 5th edition rule I was thinking of?
No, there has never, to my memory, been such a rule
In fact 6th is the first time they have explicitly disallowed assault if you scout or infiltrate. Thats it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 21:55:28
Subject: Re:First turn assaults
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
Iowa City/ Iowa
|
Well cool, thanks guys
|
I miss the good old days when a man would build a skyscraper with his bare hands just so you would stop hitting him with a shovel.
-Catbert
"Welcome to the internet, here is your complementary basket of pornography and one free coupon for a lobotomy of the frontal lobe."
-Ixquic
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 22:04:25
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
In fact the opposite was true in 5th with almost everyone able to get turn 1 charges off without even your opponent having to deploy like a moron to allow it. We're talking 40"+ from where you deploy and more.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 22:12:08
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You can still reasonably easily do it with raiders and the like, as you can still gain 3 - 4" from the turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/12 22:18:47
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
But only if your opponent deploys like a moron...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 00:39:39
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
27+2d6" threat range isn't exactly "deploying like a moron".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 00:39:52
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 02:27:28
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote:27+ 2d6" threat range isn't exactly "deploying like a moron".
How can a raider generate a 27+ 2d6" assault threat range? They turn for 3", move 6", disembark 6", charge 2d6. That's 27" max unless I'm missing something.
EDIT: Math
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 02:28:09
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 07:52:58
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah 27" max sounds like deploying like a moron to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 09:16:34
Subject: Re:First turn assaults
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
It wouldn't be deploying like a moron if you're an assault-based army looking to pull this trick yourself and have the initiative seized from you. Or, if you have 24" rapid fire yourself and are looking to risk 11"/12" to get the extra shot off in Overwatch - not unreasonable with Tau or Guard. Or if you have abilities that prevent longer charges (like certain psychic powers) but you have an unlucky fail in pulling them off. Or... or... or... you get the idea. Blanket statements go back in the cupboard, people - nothing in a vacuum.
Rules-wise, don't forget that as well as Scouts and Infiltrators, there is also a rule stating you can't assault from reserves unless you're specifically told otherwise (page 125).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 09:16:57
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 09:22:10
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Assault drop pods anyone?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 09:56:07
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
There is no such thing, as FW has yet to FAQ a way for it to work around 6th edition's no charging when you arrive from reserve rule.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 10:09:24
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
HoverBoy wrote:There is no such thing, as FW has yet to FAQ a way for it to work around 6th edition's no charging when you arrive from reserve rule.
Apart from where it says it can charge on the turn you arrive, you mean?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 10:55:09
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BetrayTheWorld wrote:rigeld2 wrote:27+ 2d6" threat range isn't exactly "deploying like a moron".
How can a raider generate a 27+ 2d6" assault threat range? They turn for 3", move 6", disembark 6", charge 2d6. That's 27" max unless I'm missing something.
EDIT: Math
What's the normal deployment line? 12" from your board edge, right?
We might be saying the same thing, but 39" max range (from your board edge) out of 48" possible is still hardly "deploying like a moron".
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 11:01:35
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
24" separation is the norm, as it is defined as distance from the centre line, not distance from outside edges.
Where are you getting 39" from in 6th? With some of the old DE combos of raiders, fleet and 12" drugged charges I can see that distance, but struggling in 6th
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 11:01:51
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Deploying directly opposite a LR deployed sideways is deploying like a moron. You don't even have to deploy the 3" back just to the side. Remember you've only a 12" deployment so a 3" elipse opposite the LR is all you need to avoid...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 11:05:38
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And if you deploy first, or the unit gets redeployed...
And Nos - that's exactly what I'm referring to, a Raider with Wyches (since that's the scenario you brought up).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 11:16:22
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
rigeld2 wrote:We might be saying the same thing, but 39" max range (from your board edge) out of 48" possible is still hardly "deploying like a moron".
You still appear to be adding in an extra 12 inches that aren't warranted.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 12:30:39
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Drunkspleen wrote:rigeld2 wrote:We might be saying the same thing, but 39" max range (from your board edge) out of 48" possible is still hardly "deploying like a moron".
You still appear to be adding in an extra 12 inches that aren't warranted.
12" deploy
3" rotate
6" move
6" disembark
12" lucky assault roll
Total = 39"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 12:41:05
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:And if you deploy first, or the unit gets redeployed...
And Nos - that's exactly what I'm referring to, a Raider with Wyches (since that's the scenario you brought up).
Ah, I wasnt including the 12" "deploy", as I was only talking about the difference between units
Then the 27" becomes more important vs the 24", and not the 39" I was thinking of.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 16:46:47
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I am not sure how you gain 3" using a Raider. Can someone explain?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 17:06:21
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
They are (I think) referring to the practice of deploying a long vehicle sideways and then using 'free' pivoting before movement to gain a few inches before they measure for movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 17:08:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 17:10:23
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Deploy it right at your deployment edge sideways. Turn 1 you rotate it to face forward gaining 3" before it moves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 17:12:50
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Beast wrote:They are (I think) referring to the practice of deploying a long vehicle sideways and then using 'free' pivoting before movement to gain a few inches before they measure for movement.
That what I do not understand, how does pivoting give you 3 free inches.
The rules say if vehicle only pivots, then it doesn count as moving. It doesn't say that you free inches.
if a vehicle starts the turn sideways, you measure from any point on that hull, lets say 12", no part of that vehicle can extended outside of that twelve 12"
If all it does is pivot, then it still counts and stationary, if it pivots then moves, it can pivot any amount it wants there after but must stay it that 12" bubble that was measure before moved or pivoted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 17:15:35
Subject: First turn assaults
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
40k-noob wrote:Beast wrote:They are (I think) referring to the practice of deploying a long vehicle sideways and then using 'free' pivoting before movement to gain a few inches before they measure for movement.
That what I do not understand, how does pivoting give you 3 free inches.
The rules say if vehicle only pivots, then it doesn count as moving. It doesn't say that you free inches.
if a vehicle starts the turn sideways, you measure from any point on that hull, lets say 12", no part of that vehicle can extended outside of that twelve 12"
If all it does is pivot, then it still counts and stationary, if it pivots then moves, it can pivot any amount it wants there after but must stay it that 12" bubble that was measure before moved or pivoted.
Oh man....  Here we go....
|
|
|
 |
 |
|