Switch Theme:

Ethereal Invocation questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Hello all,

Quick questions,

1) Can an ethereal while embarked on a vehicle invoke an element, so that after he disembarks that same turn, units around him will benefit from the aura.
2) Can he invoke from a vehicle that comes out of out flanking?
Citation if possible so that i may read it up as well.
That timing is a little confusing for me

Thank you

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

AFAIK, units cannot issue attacks or effects which are not shooting attacks or PSAs from a vehicle with no Fire Points. I could be wrong but I think as it's not a generic "affect all units within 12" effect or something along those lines you wouldnt be able to.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 Valkyrie wrote:
AFAIK, units cannot issue attacks or effects which are not shooting attacks or PSAs from a vehicle with no Fire Points. I could be wrong but I think as it's not a generic "affect all units within 12" effect or something along those lines you wouldnt be able to.


Ok well that makes sense,

would i be able to disembark, then invoke?. i would think not as its at the beginning of the ethereal squads movement phase right?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

"At the beginning of the movement phase" is before any movement is done, and disembarking is part of the Ethereal's movement.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 Valkyrie wrote:
"At the beginning of the movement phase" is before any movement is done, and disembarking is part of the Ethereal's movement.


Ok thanks, that pretty much covers my fears that my tactic wont work

thank you.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Murrieta, CA

Effects that measure to a unit measure to the hull of any vehicle that unit is embarked upon. This works for units like the ork KFF, DA dakka banner, and BA sanguinary priests.

It used to work for the DA powerfield but the latest FAQs stopped that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 17:23:51


Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k

-Thaylen 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






There is nothing in the BRB or FAQ that states invocations cannot be triggered while inside a vehicle.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

thejughead wrote:
There is nothing in the BRB or FAQ that states invocations cannot be triggered while inside a vehicle.

That's not how the rules work, you need permission to do it. I would say however that following other wargear items etc that work when embarked it would be fine.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 liturgies of blood wrote:
thejughead wrote:
There is nothing in the BRB or FAQ that states invocations cannot be triggered while inside a vehicle.

That's not how the rules work, you need permission to do it. I would say however that following other wargear items etc that work when embarked it would be fine.


But this shouldn't work coming out of outflank right?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Kinda.
You come check/come out of reserves at the start of a movement phase/turn, you also check for blessings and other psychic powers at the same time.

As you are in control you can choose the order when rules that kick in at the same time kick in.

Since the movement onto the board of the reserves and the power kick in at the same time, I don't see any reason why it cannot work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/14 00:29:23


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






That's interesting then as i wanted to outflank a squad of fire warriors in a devil fish with an ethereal and dark strider + 2-3 more squads of pathfinders with accelerators for some sideswiping dakka. but i wanna make sure the rules are covered before i try it.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The invocation has to be used at the start of the Ethereal's movement phase, so it can't be used the turn he arrives from Reserve, per the restriction in the Reserve rules.

However there's no restriction on him using it from inside a vehicle. As with most radius powers, it will actually work better, because as the transport rules tell us (same as in 5th), for such effects you measure to and from the hull of the transport. So this actually expands the radius.

There are restrictions on using other things from inside a vehicle. For example, to use a shooting attack you need a fire point. And unless it's a shooting attack, you can't use any effect or power from inside a vehicle if that power requires Line of Sight, unless the power is targeting yourself, another unit in the transport, or the transport itself. This is explained in the psychic rules.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: