Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 01:35:53
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
If one were to use the callidus and place her in a unit, does one have to attack or could one leave her in that unit for an attack at a later time?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 01:39:54
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It happens when she comes from reserve. Do you have a rule allowing you to delay reserves?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 01:44:52
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Yes i understand that but it also states "only revealing her self when it is time to strike" so if she is joins a unit via reserve but does not strike can she stay in that unit until i choose when to strike?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 01:52:21
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Fluff =/= rules. She follows the Reserve rules just like any other unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 02:15:31
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
I didnt read in the reserve rules where it says a unit must attack after coming into the field. if anything it states can not use special rules that are to take place at the beginning of the turn, which the callidus doesnt have either. It takes place immediately after coming in from reserve
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 02:33:58
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Is the assassin an IC ??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 02:39:46
Subject: Re:Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
She comes into play from reserves, being placed within 3" of the enemy unit (it's specified as an enemy unit, which takes D6 S4 AP2 hits). She doesn't have to flame them with the shredder if that's what you're talking about (I don't know why you wouldn't want to), but I read it as the attacks being part of her coming into play. She doesn't join the enemy unit, and in fact she cannot join any unit as she is not an independent character.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/16 02:41:15
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 03:26:22
Subject: Re:Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
The assassin is not an IC, and is a unit that always consists of only one model. She may never join nor be joined by any other unit, more or less making your question moot?
Also if she is in reserves, from the wording of her rules-text you have to (as per the 'Polymorphine' rule) put her within 3 inches of an enemy unit and cause the hits. It does not appear to be optional.
You may choose to deploy her in your deployment zone as normal and bypass this rather than in reserves, however you'd have to have chosen such at the beginning of the game; not the turn when she comes in from reserves.
Fadolren Warcry 527387 wrote:Yes i understand that but it also states "only revealing her self when it is time to strike" so if she is joins a unit via reserve but does not strike can she stay in that unit until i choose when to strike?
Absolutely not. After she is placed on the table, she follows the rules for any unit in your army placed there and may be shot at or what have you as normal. You cannot choose to have her 'stay hidden' within a squad.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/05/16 03:32:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 10:54:11
Subject: Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
The D6 strength 4 AP 2 hits is more of a fluff attack basically its used as an "Association" so that whatever model is killed is then replaced by the callidus under the guise of the polymorphine. If it was a true callidus attack she has the c'tan sword which is a power weapon so AP 3 and the neural shredder is AP 1 and this is resolved against leadership not toughness.
I can agree that she doesnt "join" an enemy unit but so long as she is withing 3" of a unit then she is once again under the guise of the polymorphine, once she engages in combat she comes out of disguise. She also has the hit and run special rule and fleet allowing her to after combat disengage and run to another in range unit where she can use the polymorphine again.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 11:18:16
Subject: Re:Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
No she does not. You are misunderstanding the 'Polymorphine' rules more or less in their entirety with that statement.
For the purposes of game-play: you may use it exactly once and for one specific purpose: At the moment the assassin leaves reserves and to arrive close enough to inflict some hits on a hapless squad of whatever enemy unit it is you prefer. After that polymorphine does nothing further.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 15:01:12
Subject: Re:Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
Pacific NW
|
What Neorealist said. You seem to be confusing the fluff with the rules. In game terms, when the Assassin comes in from Reserves it is the "time to strike" as described in the fluff. The assassin throws off the disguise and opens fire on the unit he had infiltrated. You don't have any choice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 04:34:59
Subject: Re:Callidus Assassin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
cowmonaut wrote: In game terms, when the Assassin comes in from Reserves it is the "time to strike" as described in the fluff. The assassin throws off the disguise and opens fire on the unit he had infiltrated. You don't have any choice.
This. The "time to strike" is just fluff, adding some flavor to the special rule the assassin just used to enter play. Just as you don't demand Guardsman Marbo be placed behind an enemy unit when he enters the game even if his special rule is called "He's behind you!".
|
|
 |
 |
|