Switch Theme:

Need your help with the Scout and Infiltration special rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I've read the rules regarding scouts and infiltrators about 200 times.
it clearly states infiltrators can't assault first turn. It also clearly states if scouts re-deploy theg can't assault.
Yet sure enough people will pitch a royal fit when they see me move my beasts through cover into assault position..
i always say they didn't redeploy, but they still harp, saying scouts can't assault first turn...when i ask to show me where it says this no one can.
Help me out here. Is there a rule or are people just confused?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/09 00:46:21


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If you didn't use your pre-game Scout move, then the restriction on assaulting first turn doesn't apply. But of course, the mandatory >24" separation will make a first turn assault extremely difficult if you didn't redeploy. And first turn is first player turn, so if you're going second go nuts.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






You answered your own question. Infiltration or scout moves prevent those units from assault.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

It's not impossible just very hard to get a first turn assault without scout or infiltrate. I looked the other day to check and there is no rule people just hate to get caught unaware.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




tanker19 wrote:
I've read the rules regarding scouts and infiltrators about 200 times.
it clearly states infiltrators can't assault first turn. It also clearly states if scouts re-deploy theg can't assault.
Yet sure enough people will pitch a royal fit when they see me move my beasts through cover into assault position..
i always say they didn't redeploy, but they still harp, saying scouts can't assault first turn...when i ask to show me where it says this no one can.
Help me out here. Is there a rule or are people just confused?


Just a wild stab in the dark here. Are you rolling 3d6 for move through cover and moving the full total? Beasts move 12" through difficult terrain.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Wait a sec. Scouts get deployed before enemy deploy his army (inflitrators after). If he is stupid enough to deploy troops over a hill 16 inches away not realizing my flesh hounds aren't slowed by the terrain....i don't see why i can't take um over the hill and assault.
Is there something forcing me to re-deploy?
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

tanker19 wrote:
Wait a sec. Scouts get deployed before enemy deploy his army (inflitrators after). If he is stupid enough to deploy troops over a hill 16 inches away not realizing my flesh hounds aren't slowed by the terrain....i don't see why i can't take um over the hill and assault.
Is there something forcing me to re-deploy?


Nope, if he deploys his infiltrators in assault range feel free to demonstrate why that is a terrible idea. Just don't use your scout move to put yourself in Assault range first, or you'll be prevented from assaulting unless he has first turn.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





It wasn't his infiltratore. 72 inch border with 24 inch deployment. Scout darn near dead center with hill blocking los. He deploy troops tip top of his zone thinking hill would keep him safe thinking they couldn't assault.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





tanker19 wrote:
It wasn't his infiltratore. 72 inch border with 24 inch deployment. Scout darn near dead center with hill blocking los. He deploy troops tip top of his zone thinking hill would keep him safe thinking they couldn't assault.

Then you're playing Scout wrong. It triggers after both sides deploy (including infiltrators).
And if you scout you can't assault.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




tanker19 wrote:
It wasn't his infiltratore. 72 inch border with 24 inch deployment. Scout darn near dead center with hill blocking los. He deploy troops tip top of his zone thinking hill would keep him safe thinking they couldn't assault.

Scout is a move you do, after Infiltrators are deployed. Did you do a Scout MOVE?

You deploy Scouts NORMALLY, then get to use a move if you wish.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So scouts don't get deployed in a forward position BEFORE they other side deploys his guys?
If this is true then in gonna have some words for people where i normally play.
They said you deploy army...then scouts..then opponent places his and you can move scouts if you need to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 13:20:19


 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






tanker19 wrote:
So scouts don't get deployed in a forward position BEFORE they other side deploys his guys?
If this is true then in gonna have some words for people where i normally play.
They said you deploy army...then scouts..then opponent places his and you can move scouts if you need to.


Scouts are part of normal deployment. Scout redeployment is done after everything was deployed (including infiltrators). You should read the entry in the BRB p. 41. This should clear up all of your questions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 13:26:34


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





tanker19 wrote:
So scouts don't get deployed in a forward position BEFORE they other side deploys his guys?
If this is true then in gonna have some words for people where i normally play.
They said you deploy army...then scouts..then opponent places his and you can move scouts if you need to.

Reading actual rules is cool. I encourage it.
The Scout USR is absolutely clear.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





For Scouts, you deploy your army like normal, including your scouts all within your deployment zone. After both armies are deployed you can deploy infiltrators, and then scouts. The scout "re-deployment" is a 12" move from where they were located during the normal deployment. *** Scouts belonging to the player who goes FIRST (first game turn, first players turn) CANNOT assault. *** Scouts belonging to the player that goes SECOND (first game turn, second players turn) CAN assault.

Does that make sense?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I did and that's what i did. That's why there's confusion when people are saying im doing it wrong. I want to know where im wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 13:38:14


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





tanker19 wrote:
I did and that's what i did. That's why there's confusion when people are saying im doing it wrong. I want to know where im wrong.

Actual rules:
Deploy your entire army.
He deploys his entire army.
You re-deploy scouts up to 12" forward.

The way your post reads:
Deploy your entire army.
You re-deploy scouts up to 12" forward.
He deploys his entire army.

Even ignoring that, if you re-deployed them at all you cannot assault on the first turn.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle




You did meaning you deployed normally, then used a scout move after you deployed? (I am assuming you deployed second) Then your opponent played his turn, then you on our turn moved then assaulted him? (This is the second issue, the where you are wrong part?) So, on your turn it is no longer the first turn of the game; since unless otherwise noted turn refers to player turn not game turn. It's in the first couple of pages of the rule book, sorry don't have it on me to look it up.

So if you are going second, even if you use your scout move you can assault on your first turn, because its not THE first turn.

My personal opinion is this rule exists to balance the first turn somewhat. There is a large advantage to going first, you can kill the other guys units before he has a chance to do anything with them. So in return that guy can put units closer to yours during deployment, risk them getting shot at and the reward is a first turn (for him) assault.

darkcloak wrote:

I don't give a damn about GW, their crap rules, their extortionist prices, hot models, limited edition books, Digital Release and spam in a box armies. I don't care about Forgeworld or their shoddy resin and their wacky unit rules or whether or not they're allowed. I don't care. I don't.

I love Warhammer 40000 and if you want to try to spoil that for me, or impose your own vision of it onto mine, then you can go suck a lemon.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I must apologize for my ignorance here.
""APPARENTLY."" a couple players whom I faced in past games decided to pull a fast one over on the new player.
They were using the infiltrator rules and deployed their scouts REALLY close to my lines and would say since they didn't re-deploy they could assault.
So pardon my confusion but tomorrow there's gonna be a couple people explaining just how they came up with this rule.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

tanker19 wrote:
there's gonna be a couple people explaining just how they came up with this rule.


LUUUUUUUUUUCY, you've got some 'splaining to do!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Bristol, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
tanker19 wrote:
I did and that's what i did. That's why there's confusion when people are saying im doing it wrong. I want to know where im wrong.

Actual rules:
Deploy your entire army.
He deploys his entire army.
You re-deploy scouts up to 12" forward.

The way your post reads:
Deploy your entire army.
You re-deploy scouts up to 12" forward.
He deploys his entire army.

Even ignoring that, if you re-deployed them at all you cannot assault on the first turn.


Just to point out, Infantry redeploy 6", non-infantry 12".

If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!

6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: