Switch Theme:

Riptide Nova-charge save.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




This is another call as a TO that I had to make (yes, same person's riptide) and again am wanting a consensus to make sure that this rule is correctly called in the future.

The player of the riptide arguement was that the riptide still gets an invulnerable save when failing a Nova-charge.

The codex states that a failed nova charge make the riptide suffer "a single wound with no saves of any kind allowed and the attempt fails."

In the BRB FAQ, it states that the BRB wording for Invulnerable saves are to be: " Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound...."

The BRB also states that Advanced Specific rules (codex) are to always override basic (BRB) rules.

If the riptide fails an Nova-charge, can it get an invulnerable save?

I ruled that it does not get an invuln, but want to make sure that this is correct for future tournaments. And, of course, you can get a 'feel no pain' roll if applicable.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You're correct - no invul save but Feel No Pain would apply.
Reference Perils for a precedent.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

jazzpaintball wrote:
In the BRB FAQ, it states that the BRB wording for Invulnerable saves are to be: " Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound...."


You were correct. This FAQ means Invulnerable saves may always be taken, *if the model has one*. At the point you roll for the nova charge, it doesn't have one - and "the attempt fails" means it would continue not having one.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If the rule says, no saves of any kind allowed, that includes Invulnerable ones.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

No Invulnerable save as the rule says "no saves of any kind". It doesn't say "no armor saves" or "no cover saves" or "no invulnerable saves", it says "no saves of any kind".

So the only thing you get against it is FnP, which is not a save.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Page 7 holds your answer: In any situation where a basic rule and a codex rule is in conflict, the codex trumps.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: