Switch Theme:

Q: charging through ruins with jetbikes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




This one came up last month, but completely forgot to get a consensus on it.

On one side, we have a riptide on the third story of a building.

The opponent is playing Samuel (Jetbike character from Dark Angels Codex) and Samuel is on the 2nd story of the same building.

The question: Does the 3 inches of level change get counted towards charge distance to a jetbike?

BRB Page 45:
Bikes and Jetbikes:
1) "Bikes are never slowed by difficult terrain."
2) "Jetbikes can always move over all other models and all terrain freely."
3) "Bike charge moves are not slowed down by difficult terrain."

BRB Page 101:
Ruins and assaults:
1) No information is given on how charges are made in ruins. Just information on how to find out if additional models can fight if they are not on the same level as someone in base to base contact with the opposing faction.

The only thing to take into consideration that I can find is on page 98 of the BRB:

Infantry:
1) "Even though different building models can vary, the typical distance between levels is 3". a Model moving on foot in a ruin therefore needs 3" of its movement to go up or down a level."

This entry is specifically for infantry on foot for all that I can see.

Thus, from what I can find, that a Jetbike model does not need to take vertical distance into consideration when determining charge distance.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Missed a huge quote:

BRB page 99:

"All surviving jump and jetbike models are then [after taking dangerous terrain tests in ruins] simply placed within 12" of their starting point, including on a different level of ruin."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/11 06:12:25


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Jet bikes, as they move over terrain, not through it, count the straight line distance between start and end. So if you went from the ground to the 2nd level y ou would take the hypotenuse as the distance, not the sum of the other two sides.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Jet bikes, as they move over terrain, not through it, count the straight line distance between start and end. So if you went from the ground to the 2nd level y ou would take the hypotenuse as the distance, not the sum of the other two sides.


That's how a ruled it in the game.

I am just covering all my bases on TO decisions I made.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The 5th edition rulebook had a nice little diagram showing a jet bike moving the "diagonal" distance into ruins - not sure if it made it into the 6th edition one?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
The 5th edition rulebook had a nice little diagram showing a jet bike moving the "diagonal" distance into ruins - not sure if it made it into the 6th edition one?


Nope, can't say it did.

Hell, even the ASSAULT IN RUINS section has no notion of needing to measure 3 inches per level for ground troops. We all assumed it due to the way movement is.

Well, that and page 21's rule, but some people throw that out the door when the rule does not favor them...

BRB page 21:
CHARGE MOVE:
1) "All of the models in a charging unit make their charge move - up to the 2d6 distance you rolled earlier - following the same rules as in the movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of the enemy model."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/11 08:42:38


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I was going to say - you dont have to specify 3" per level for assualt moves, as that is specified in the movement section, and a charge move is a move with one less restriction
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: