Switch Theme:

Land Raiders and Scoring  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






I saw in another thread someone was talking about land raiders and big guns never tire with them being scoring but not denying which sparked a question of my own...



Do land raiders taken as dedicated transports count as heavy support units or not since they aren't taking slots on the FOC (afaik) ?

1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





They count as whatever slot the unit that took them is.

If an Elite unit took them as a dedicated transport, they're Elites.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yes, this is often times why you will see orks or terminators that can take dedicated LR or battle wagons use an open heavy slot instead as it gives you the potential to score with it where a dedicated elite or troop could not score.
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






rigeld2 wrote:
They count as whatever slot the unit that took them is.

If an Elite unit took them as a dedicated transport, they're Elites.


So if i take Rhinos for my combat squaded devastators (as if..), i would have 3 scoring units for 265 points?

tgf wrote:
yes, this is often times why you will see orks or terminators that can take dedicated LR or battle wagons use an open heavy slot instead as it gives you the potential to score with it where a dedicated elite or troop could not score.


could you start the game with the terms inside the heavy slotted LR ?

are you allowed to change the slot mid tourny? ie say its a transport first game and swap it when BGNT comes around?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/14 16:24:46


1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





You can only take one dedicated transport for each troop choice or what have you, not for each combat squad.

Also normally they do not count as scoring, but certain missions modify this for vehicles specifically. if you are playing one of those missions, then yes the dedicated transport of a unit from that FOC would count, but only in that specific scenario: (aka during a mission that both counts another FOC as a scoring unit 'and' explicitly mentions vehicles as benefiting from such).
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Awfeel wrote:
could you start the game with the terms inside the heavy slotted LR ?
Yes, non-dedicated transports have no restrictions on who can start in them.
 Awfeel wrote:
are you allowed to change the slot mid tourny? ie say its a transport first game and swap it when BGNT comes around?
I would seriously doubt it, but individual TO's might. But it would be the start of a slippery slope of "oh, this mission came up, let me just change my list to include this unit."
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Awfeel wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
They count as whatever slot the unit that took them is.

If an Elite unit took them as a dedicated transport, they're Elites.


So if i take Rhinos for my combat squaded devastators (as if..), i would have 3 scoring units for 265 points?

For BGNT yes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






Quanar wrote:
 Awfeel wrote:
could you start the game with the terms inside the heavy slotted LR ?
Yes, non-dedicated transports have no restrictions on who can start in them.
 Awfeel wrote:
are you allowed to change the slot mid tourny? ie say its a transport first game and swap it when BGNT comes around?
I would seriously doubt it, but individual TO's might. But it would be the start of a slippery slope of "oh, this mission came up, let me just change my list to include this unit."


so its not practical

rigeld2 wrote:
 Awfeel wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
They count as whatever slot the unit that took them is.

If an Elite unit took them as a dedicated transport, they're Elites.


So if i take Rhinos for my combat squaded devastators (as if..), i would have 3 scoring units for 265 points?

For BGNT yes.


but still possible




reason i ask is my local hobbyshop does builder tournys and starts at a low point allocation (currently at 1k) and im thinking loading up on HQ / Tac / Tac / Assault / Dev / RhinoGalore would benifit me for objective based games because the local TO does a roll off of missions and i ALWAYS end up with BGNT or Scouring as missions.

edit** wait does that mean that dedicated transports for tacticals are troop choices?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/14 17:04:44


1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, they are. But by default vehicles cannot score. BGNT and Scouring override that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

They don't deny the objective however. So you could have the odd situation where both sides claim the same objective.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






 Grey Templar wrote:
They don't deny the objective however. So you could have the odd situation where both sides claim the same objective.


is there a codex faq or something related that says dedicated transports are anything other than dedicated transports? local shop seems to think that dedi dont get to be anything but dedi



nevermind. pg 109 dedicated trasnports if anyone wants to know as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 06:12:28


1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Page 109, Dedicated Transports.

Meh, you ninjaed the answer for yourself before I had a chance to point it out. But yes, this section has a bold sentence which sums it all up, so your local group can now be further educated. The way the where trying to play it would create huge amounts of problems as they would be a unit which does not state it is 'slot-less' and at the same time there is no slot for it to fill. This section makes it possible to get around the issue, by simply making them take up the same slot as the unit which purchased them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 06:16:54


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Awfeel wrote:
are you allowed to change the slot mid tourny? ie say its a transport first game and swap it when BGNT comes around?


Not likely. Most tournaments of any size require you to have a finalised copy of your army list, which you won't be able to change.
In most cases, if you have the slot open already then there's absolutely no downside to taking the vehicle in the open slot anyway. It even gives you more options for deploying different units inside to start with. The only time the choice matters is if it's a dedicated transport for a Troops unit (for instance, taking one for Blood Angels or Deathwing when you have Belial or Azrael) - or even more rarely, a transport for Fast Attack units (again Blood Angels are the only ones I can think of where Fast Attack can take a Heavy Support as transport).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 06:47:17


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

There are of course some other benefits to Dedicated Transports besides not taking up a FOC slot. Like if you have a dedicated transport for a unit with the Scouts USR, it transfers to the transport as well.


   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I have frequently found it to be more beneficial to have the Land Raider in my lists as an Elites selection (a dedicated transport for my termies) than as a Heavy Support. While it prevents it from scoring in Big Guns Never Tire, it also prevents it from giving up a kill point, and that seems to be far more likely to me.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in se
Lord of the Fleet






What missions are you playing that use kill points? That was last edition and DTs gave kill points. If you're referring to victory points in Purge the Alien then DTs count separately there as well.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I think people just use the terms interchangeably now.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

 Scott-S6 wrote:
What missions are you playing that use kill points? That was last edition and DTs gave kill points. If you're referring to victory points in Purge the Alien then DTs count separately there as well.

He means is that in BGNT heavy support choices give the enemy 1 extra VP for killing them.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: