Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:17:53
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Greece
|
Hi guys, i would like a clarification!
in the codex it says that: the squad can select a land raider of any tyoe as a dedicated transport. My question is: my squad can go up to 10 termies. Aren't they supposed to be bulky units and thus count as 20 models considering the carrying capacities of a certain DT? Does that mean that i can't fit all 10 of my termies in a single land raider? and if so, can i give each combat squad it's own land raider? (2 DT for 2 CS)
i'm really new so please dont flame! thanks a lot
|
ermargad not the trolls.. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:24:53
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You don't combat squad a unit during list-creation. They are one squad at this point, so only one dedicated transport.
And you're right, you can't fit 10 terminators in a LandRaider.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 15:25:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:27:09
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Yes, they cound as 20.
No, you cannot cram them in there anyway, you need to work with the restrictions.
You only get 1.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/17 15:27:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:29:44
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
You can still take a Dedicated Transport for any unit that can't fit in it, as you're not required to deploy the unit within it. This is covered in the FAQ for the Rulebook, which you can find here - I suggest a look through both that and the Blood Angels one if you haven't already seen them. The latter covers a few things relevant to 6th edition, as the Codex was originally released for 5th.
To Combat Squad a unit, that unit needs to have the rule in the first place - you'll find that Terminators don't. In any case, you can still only buy one transport for Combat Squads as you don't make the decision to split them until deployment - by which point it's far too late to be going back and messing with your list.
Normally a unit of 5 Terminators will do the trick, but bear in mind that the other variants can carry 6 and 8 Terminators each, so these are your best options if you absolutely must have a bigger squad or if you're attaching an Independent Character or two (or more...!). A word of warning, though - doing this takes up a lot of points for not many models and makes the whole thing one great big target for your opponent.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:39:47
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Greece
|
SO, if i absolutelly desperatelly want to take 10 terminators, my only choice is to fit 5 of them in a LR and the rest a combat squad on foot?
To Combat Squad a unit, that unit needs to have the rule in the first place - you'll find that Terminators don't.
I don't know if they have removed it in any of the codex updates, but in the BA codex it clearly states that they can combat squad, in the army list entries.
WOW THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR SUPER FAST REPLIES PPL!!
|
ermargad not the trolls.. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:49:20
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Or just take 10 on foot with a Land Raider to drive alongside.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:54:57
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Greece
|
Or just take 10 on foot with a Land Raider to drive alongside.
As silly as my question may sound, do units get a cover save from a LR or you can just hide you units out of line of sight so your enemy cant hit you?
|
ermargad not the trolls.. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 16:01:04
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
If they can't see you, they can't hit you.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 16:26:24
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Greece
|
OK ! thx a lot!
|
ermargad not the trolls.. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 16:36:18
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Super Ready wrote:You can still take a Dedicated Transport for any unit that can't fit in it...
Unless the codex says otherwise, such as Codex Orks limiting a trukk to a squad of boyz of 12 models or less.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 17:15:50
Subject: BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Use Spartan LR (25 transport capacity), Caestus (10 termies) or Storm Eagle (20 transport capacity)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 17:16:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 18:05:42
Subject: Re:BA TERMINATOR DT question pls help!
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Ordanas wrote:I don't know if they have removed it in any of the codex updates, but in the BA codex it clearly states that they can combat squad, in the army list entries.
Argh, of course they can! I apologise. Thinking of older rules again.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
|