Switch Theme:

1st turn assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller




Can a unit, let's say bikes (but any one really), can assault the first turn?
We looked in the book, checked the FAQs, and the only thing we saw was that no one can assault out of reserves or deep strike. Are we all missing something in the rulebook? We checked in them last wekeend (all 5 of us) and for what it was worth, we saw nothing at all blocking someone to assault right off the bat at turn 1.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





That's correct - unless a unit infiltrated our scouted that unit can assault on the first (player) turn.

It's relatively difficult to do against a decent opponent but possible.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nothing in general the BRB prevents a first turn assault. However, the movement rules do make First turn assaults much more difficult in this edition vs. previous editions.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Indeed nothing prevents a first turn assault except most rules that concern deployment. its specifically states no assault in, outflank, scout, deep strike, infiltrate etc.

and it is entirely impossible to assault turn one if you go first and your opponent has not scouted or infiltrated.

it is possible if you go second and your opponent has moved towards you within 24" of a bike/beast/etc.

also lucius pattern drop pods

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Desubot wrote:
and it is entirely impossible to assault turn one if you go first and your opponent has not scouted or infiltrated.

That's not true. Warlord with the +1" charge range on a bike has a 25" charge threat.
There are other examples.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






rigeld2 wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
and it is entirely impossible to assault turn one if you go first and your opponent has not scouted or infiltrated.

That's not true. Warlord with the +1" charge range on a bike has a 25" charge threat.
There are other examples.


Oh right i forgot about those.

(actually i don't know too many codex specific rules that can change move/charge distance ether.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/18 17:10:44


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

Probably the easiest way is BT. If you take the abhor the witch vow, then stick chaplain w. crusader seals in a unit of assault marines (chaplain not necessary but makes it easier). If the enemy army has a psyker (probable) then every unit in your army moves d6" towards it (rerollable with chaplain IIRC), then 12" move, possible 12" charge = win

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Gavin Thorpe




Orks can have a real go at it.

Trukks and Wagons with a Red Paintjob can move 7", deploy infantry 6" and then get a lucky charge of 12" for a potential 25". Just enough to squeak past the deployment requirements.

Alternatively, the often-overlooked Stormboyz. Move 12"+D6 and then charge 2D6 Jump, +D6, means they have a real stab at it. The rerolls from a Jump Pack mean it isn't even that unlikely.

WarOne wrote:
At the very peak of his power, Mat Ward stood at the top echelons of the GW hierarchy, second only to Satan in terms of personal power within the company.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






If you move 7" you cant deploy though no?

Edit: i think new Eldar warp spiders can do it too

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/18 17:48:17


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

 Desubot wrote:
If you move 7" you cant deploy though no?

Edit: i think new Eldar warp spiders can do it too

Red paint job gives you an extra 1" of movement that doesn't count as having been moved.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Desubot wrote:
If you move 7" you cant deploy though no?
It's an Ork upgrade. They get an extra free 1", so they can move 7" (counting as 6") and still disembark.
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Mozzamanx wrote:
Orks can have a real go at it.

Trukks and Wagons with a Red Paintjob can move 7", deploy infantry 6" and then get a lucky charge of 12" for a potential 25". Just enough to squeak past the deployment requirements.

Alternatively, the often-overlooked Stormboyz. Move 12"+D6 and then charge 2D6 Jump, +D6, means they have a real stab at it. The rerolls from a Jump Pack mean it isn't even that unlikely.


You have to choose between using a jump pack in the movement phase or in the assault phase. So while it's possible to go 12+D6" in the movement phase, you wouldn't get the assault range re-roll. Still doable, but not quite that easy.
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

tgjensen wrote:


You have to choose between using a jump pack in the movement phase or in the assault phase. So while it's possible to go 12+D6" in the movement phase, you wouldn't get the assault range re-roll. Still doable, but not quite that easy.

Really? I don't remember reading THAT can you give a quote so I can show the BA player in my group please?

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Tactical_Genius wrote:
Really? I don't remember reading THAT can you give a quote so I can show the BA player in my group please?
Page 47, BRB. First sentence after the bolded fluff stuff. "- they cannot use their jump packs in both phases in the same turn."
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Answered 30 seconds before I did, so... ignore.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/18 19:13:43


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Look under the jump pack rules. It clearly states it there.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

 Quanar wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
Really? I don't remember reading THAT can you give a quote so I can show the BA player in my group please?
Page 47, BRB. First sentence after the bolded fluff stuff. "- they cannot use their jump packs in both phases in the same turn."


Cheers
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

The intent is quite clear - you're not supposed to be able to charge without your opponent being able to prepare for the possibility. The gap between deployment zones allows this to happen for Seizing the Initiative, where your opponent won't see where your attack could come from before having to deploy himself.

However - it's important to note that with Infiltrators and Scouts and the like, the rules for them only state that that unit can't charge in the first *turn* - that's player turn. If you're going second, your Infiltrating and Scouting units can still assault straight away (that first player turn is the opponent's chance to get out of the way). Likewise, if your opponent Infiltrates or Scouts their own units you are free to charge them.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster






 Super Ready wrote:
The intent is quite clear - you're not supposed to be able to charge without your opponent being able to prepare for the possibility. The gap between deployment zones allows this to happen for Seizing the Initiative, where your opponent won't see where your attack could come from before having to deploy himself.

However - it's important to note that with Infiltrators and Scouts and the like, the rules for them only state that that unit can't charge in the first *turn* - that's player turn. If you're going second, your Infiltrating and Scouting units can still assault straight away (that first player turn is the opponent's chance to get out of the way). Likewise, if your opponent Infiltrates or Scouts their own units you are free to charge them.


Exactly what I was about to say.

I tried this with Genestealers a few times recently. They're a bit too squishy to hold up under a turn of dedicated fire (which they will receive if theyre that close!) but if they do make it into assault first turn then they really screw with your opponents formation!!

I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: