Switch Theme:

GK Psyker Powers; DTW?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

Do you get a Deny the Witch for the following?

Cleansing Flame? The codex doesn't make reference to the power having a "target". The FAQ says it's a close combat attack. So it's like Force Weapons, but obviously not.

Heroic Sacrifice? The power again doesn't "target" but brings the model back to life for an attack with extra properties.

Here is a bonus question. Dark Excommunication does say "target" so clearly a DTW happens. But what does it do to a daemon in their books new form?

Any help here would be fantastic! Thank you.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

1. Not sure.
2. No. The power effectively targets the psyker.
3. They lose the benefit of all Daemonic Gifts (except mounts), just like DE says.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Let me help on number 1.

Simple answer: No

The power targets the unit casting in in a similar way that hammer hand does. If you want ton think of it similarly to a force weapon then that's fine. Then power does not target an enemy unit.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Cleansing Flame, in particular, is difficult for opponents to accept because it does have the potential to cause wounds. However, the Psychic test itself does not directly cause wounds, so to speak: additional dice rolls must be made, and these dice rolls are not psychic checks.

Things that can be denied target the enemy directly; CF, when passed, allows the GK player to roll some more dice.
Hmmm...though that does sound just like a PSA, which, when passed, allows the player to roll more "Hit" dice and then "Wound" dice....

But I would agree with Sothas, CF does not target the enemy unit. It allows a die to be rolled for each enemy model in the combat.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

If CF doesn't target the unit how are the wounds applied to the unit? If multiple squads are engaged are all squads affected? I'm a bit rusty on CF, been a while since I've seen it.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 Sothas wrote:
Let me help on number 1.

Simple answer: No

The power targets the unit casting in in a similar way that hammer hand does. If you want ton think of it similarly to a force weapon then that's fine. Then power does not target an enemy unit.

That doesn't even make sense. Hammerhand effects the unit using the power. Cleansing Flames effect models in close combat with the casting unit. Hammerhand is not an appropriate comparison.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My reading of Cleansing Flame appears to be akin to a Witchfire power, albeit one that is a cc attack and not a shooting attack. As such I would say yes, it can be denied.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
However, the Psychic test itself does not directly cause wounds, so to speak: additional dice rolls must be made, and these dice rolls are not psychic checks.
That hardly distinguishes it from much of anything. Basic Witchfire will involve plenty of rolls that are not psychic checks.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Well, Deny the Witch requires the unit to be targeted for it to be eligible for a roll, which seems to be the reason why a unit in the path of a psychic beam attack, but was not the unit targeted by the psyker, does not get a DtW roll.

Since Cleansing Flames does not target, no enemy unit should get a DtW roll.

The targeting rule seem extremely silly to my group of players, we just allow DtW vs any hostile psychic power that would affect them.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Rumbleguts wrote:
Well, Deny the Witch requires the unit to be targeted for it to be eligible for a roll, which seems to be the reason why a unit in the path of a psychic beam attack, but was not the unit targeted by the psyker, does not get a DtW roll.


That's because you don't get 2 chances to DtW. The target can deny it, and if it does, no one under the path is affected.

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Pyrian wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
However, the Psychic test itself does not directly cause wounds, so to speak: additional dice rolls must be made, and these dice rolls are not psychic checks.
That hardly distinguishes it from much of anything. Basic Witchfire will involve plenty of rolls that are not psychic checks.

And IN THE NEXT SENTENCE I said:
Elric Greywolf wrote:
Hmmm...though that does sound just like a PSA, which, when passed, allows the player to roll more "Hit" dice and then "Wound" dice....

When you quote me, at least leave in all the relevant bits.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Louisville, KY

Aren't all CC attacks, by default, targeting the enemy unit? All attacks you make should be "targeted" while in CC.

- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Purifier wrote:
Rumbleguts wrote:
Well, Deny the Witch requires the unit to be targeted for it to be eligible for a roll, which seems to be the reason why a unit in the path of a psychic beam attack, but was not the unit targeted by the psyker, does not get a DtW roll.


That's because you don't get 2 chances to DtW. The target can deny it, and if it does, no one under the path is affected.


The rules state that any enemy unit targeted by a psychic power may make a DtW roll. If a power targets multiple units each gets to make a DtW roll. I have seen more then one argument that units which were not the target of a psychic power using a blast marker but are touched by the marker do not get a DtW roll. A psyker using a beam attack must target the same unit that the rest of his unit (assuming he has one) targeted, and the first model hit must be from that unit. So the logic of other units not getting a DtW roll against beam attacks seems to be because those units are not targeted.

I cannot find any rule that says that if the first unit that is hit by a beam attack makes the DtW roll then no models from any other unit can be hit. There is the FAQ which talks about Jaws of the Wolf and beam attacks but that does not say that if the first unit makes the DtW roll that all the other units are also unaffected. It says "A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can
attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every enemy unit is affected as normal." I can see where someone might assume that if the test is passed then no units are affected, but that is not what that says. Based on the targeting and DtW rules it would make sense for GW to have answered this way, since no other unit is targeted no other unit can make a DtW role. In addition, the rules for DtW, in boldface page 68, say "the psychic power's effect on that unit is nullified-". It does not say the power is nullified, only the effect on the unit. So, one unit making a DtW roll against an instance of a power has no relation I can find on that power effecting other units.

I will admit I have not read most of the FAQ for the other codices so if there is a ruling somewhere in there that goes counter to my argument I would certainly appreciate being pointed towards it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Roci wrote:
Aren't all CC attacks, by default, targeting the enemy unit? All attacks you make should be "targeted" while in CC.


But it doesn't say "target" so the ability isn't targeted. Kind of like some Magic the Gathering cards in relation to shroud and hexproof, they didn't put target into the rules or any FAQ so it isn't targeted. And unless I am mistaken in my reading of the rule on that power it would actually effect multiple enemy units, since it does not target and says "all enemy models that are part of the same assault". So if the GK did a disordered charge, or were charged by multiple units, owy.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/23 07:00:58


 
   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Rumbleguts wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
Rumbleguts wrote:
Well, Deny the Witch requires the unit to be targeted for it to be eligible for a roll, which seems to be the reason why a unit in the path of a psychic beam attack, but was not the unit targeted by the psyker, does not get a DtW roll.


That's because you don't get 2 chances to DtW. The target can deny it, and if it does, no one under the path is affected.


The rules state that any enemy unit targeted by a psychic power may make a DtW roll. If a power targets multiple units each gets to make a DtW roll. I have seen more then one argument that units which were not the target of a psychic power using a blast marker but are touched by the marker do not get a DtW roll. A psyker using a beam attack must target the same unit that the rest of his unit (assuming he has one) targeted, and the first model hit must be from that unit. So the logic of other units not getting a DtW roll against beam attacks seems to be because those units are not targeted.

I cannot find any rule that says that if the first unit that is hit by a beam attack makes the DtW roll then no models from any other unit can be hit. There is the FAQ which talks about Jaws of the Wolf and beam attacks but that does not say that if the first unit makes the DtW roll that all the other units are also unaffected. It says "A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can
attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every enemy unit is affected as normal." I can see where someone might assume that if the test is passed then no units are affected, but that is not what that says. Based on the targeting and DtW rules it would make sense for GW to have answered this way, since no other unit is targeted no other unit can make a DtW role. In addition, the rules for DtW, in boldface page 68, say "the psychic power's effect on that unit is nullified-". It does not say the power is nullified, only the effect on the unit. So, one unit making a DtW roll against an instance of a power has no relation I can find on that power effecting other units.

I will admit I have not read most of the FAQ for the other codices so if there is a ruling somewhere in there that goes counter to my argument I would certainly appreciate being pointed towards it.
'

Well, that's in stark contrast with what it says on page 67.
"If the Psychic test was passed and the target was an enemy, it now gets a chance to Deny the Witch and nullify the power. If the power is nullified, the attempt fails and nothing further happens."

It's giving explicit permision only to the targeted unit, and states that if that one manages to deny it, it straight up fails, which is the same that happens if you roll poorly and fail to manifest the power in the first place.
The paragraph you cited seems to be taking into account if the power is explicitly TARGETING more than one unit, as it goes on to say "if a psychic power targets two or more units..."

If it is a witchfire of the type you see with a flamer template, you only TARGET one unit. The others are just hit on the way.


 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Goat wrote:


Here is a bonus question. Dark Excommunication does say "target" so clearly a DTW happens. But what does it do to a daemon in their books new form?



Note that everything in their codex that is in the "daemonic gifts" part of their book ceases to work. Thats like 9 pages of wargear and does include e.g. the grimoire of true names or several melee weapons.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Purifier wrote:
Rumbleguts wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
Rumbleguts wrote:
Well, Deny the Witch requires the unit to be targeted for it to be eligible for a roll, which seems to be the reason why a unit in the path of a psychic beam attack, but was not the unit targeted by the psyker, does not get a DtW roll.


That's because you don't get 2 chances to DtW. The target can deny it, and if it does, no one under the path is affected.


The rules state that any enemy unit targeted by a psychic power may make a DtW roll. If a power targets multiple units each gets to make a DtW roll. I have seen more then one argument that units which were not the target of a psychic power using a blast marker but are touched by the marker do not get a DtW roll. A psyker using a beam attack must target the same unit that the rest of his unit (assuming he has one) targeted, and the first model hit must be from that unit. So the logic of other units not getting a DtW roll against beam attacks seems to be because those units are not targeted.

I cannot find any rule that says that if the first unit that is hit by a beam attack makes the DtW roll then no models from any other unit can be hit. There is the FAQ which talks about Jaws of the Wolf and beam attacks but that does not say that if the first unit makes the DtW roll that all the other units are also unaffected. It says "A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can
attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every enemy unit is affected as normal." I can see where someone might assume that if the test is passed then no units are affected, but that is not what that says. Based on the targeting and DtW rules it would make sense for GW to have answered this way, since no other unit is targeted no other unit can make a DtW role. In addition, the rules for DtW, in boldface page 68, say "the psychic power's effect on that unit is nullified-". It does not say the power is nullified, only the effect on the unit. So, one unit making a DtW roll against an instance of a power has no relation I can find on that power effecting other units.

I will admit I have not read most of the FAQ for the other codices so if there is a ruling somewhere in there that goes counter to my argument I would certainly appreciate being pointed towards it.
'

Well, that's in stark contrast with what it says on page 67.
"If the Psychic test was passed and the target was an enemy, it now gets a chance to Deny the Witch and nullify the power. If the power is nullified, the attempt fails and nothing further happens."

It's giving explicit permision only to the targeted unit, and states that if that one manages to deny it, it straight up fails, which is the same that happens if you roll poorly and fail to manifest the power in the first place.
The paragraph you cited seems to be taking into account if the power is explicitly TARGETING more than one unit, as it goes on to say "if a psychic power targets two or more units..."

If it is a witchfire of the type you see with a flamer template, you only TARGET one unit. The others are just hit on the way.



Yes, the list on page 67 is a simple reminder of the order of how things happen. Page 68 gives the full rules for Deny the Witch. Read the first paragraph on page 68. Last line say "sometimes nullify a psychic power's effect". Then go down two paragraphs to the bold faced paragraph. Says the exact same thing. Nothing in between gives any indication those statements only apply for powers that target multiple units. Its only when you get to the second column that they start referring to powers that target multiple units. Which explicitly says the effects are only nullified against units which successfully make a DtW roll. If a DtW roll cancelled the manifestation of a power, then it would make sense that only one unit would get a chance to DtW, otherwise maelstroms and novas would be nearly useless. If they had used the word "resisted" instead of "nullified" this wouldn't be an issue. But way back in 2nd ed (at least, I never played Rogue Trader) one of the Warp Cards was Nullify, which did nullify a power as it was manifested. And GW likes to hang onto its traditions and terminology.

Its how they keep using the word targeted in combination with Deny the Witch that lead to the conclusion that units not targeted by a power receive no chance to Deny the Witch. Which (excuse the really lame pun) my group finds utterly silly.

So that mighty Librarian focused all his might to hurl a vortex of doom upon that encroaching tervigon, but the power slipped from his control and instead smashed into a hive tyrant and his cohort of guards many meters away. Ah well, thinks the Librarian, the Emperor gives and the Emperor takes, at least the scummy leader of the swarm won't get a chance to resist the blast, unlike that tervigon, its all for the best really.

Yes, the template simply hits the other units along the way. And why don't they get a chance to resists its effects? They were not targeted. Why should a unit not targeted not get a chance to resist a power? Because the rules say so and not other reason.
   
Made in sg
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Lost in the Warp

I'm pretty sure that you only get 1 DtW regardless of how many units you hit. I think they FAQ'd it, didn't they?

Think about Cleasing Flame in this manner - it's not targeting anyone BUT yourself. When it is cast, it essentially acts as a Blessing that gives you a similar-to-base-contact damage spell. I believe Fire Shield (or something like that) in Pyromancy does the same thing. It's a Blessing, so they can't DtW, and they take the hits.

Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius

 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




I've always played it as they do get a deny the witch because it makes more sense that way given the way that DTW generally works in 6th. I would classify cleansing flame as a malediction, because the power itself does damage to enemy units, it does not boost the casting unit's stats or enhance them in any way. Instead, you cast it and the enemy unit take a hit on a 4+. Granted the wording is unclear, but the precedent seems to be that if a power does direct damage to an enemy unit you get a DTW roll, so I would allow my opponent one.

Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Enigwolf wrote:
I'm pretty sure that you only get 1 DtW regardless of how many units you hit. I think they FAQ'd it, didn't they?

Think about Cleasing Flame in this manner - it's not targeting anyone BUT yourself. When it is cast, it essentially acts as a Blessing that gives you a similar-to-base-contact damage spell. I believe Fire Shield (or something like that) in Pyromancy does the same thing. It's a Blessing, so they can't DtW, and they take the hits.


If you can find a FAQ ruling saying that if a power that targets multiple units, only one unit may make a DtW roll, please let me know. Its not in the general rules section, where it should be. And would directly contradict the rules in the book, not just explain a vague rule. As far as I can find if the power does not target the unit, the unit gets no DtW roll, ever.

You can choose to think of cleansing flame in that manner, but I don't feel that is accurate since it does not affect the GK unit at all, which all blessings do. Even Fire Shield has a direct benefit to the unit it affects. And, cleansing flame doesn't say it effects the GK unit at all, it effects all units in assault with the GK unit, the GK unit is just the point from which the ability radiates, like a very limited nova, except it doesn't target and a nova does.

Actually, I can find one power that is probably a blessing that only effects enemy units, Sanctuary, from the GK codex. But it could also be considered to be a weird malediction. I admit with access to only 4 codices could be quite a few others I am missing.

Automatically Appended Next Post:
 greyknight12 wrote:
I've always played it as they do get a deny the witch because it makes more sense that way given the way that DTW generally works in 6th. I would classify cleansing flame as a malediction, because the power itself does damage to enemy units, it does not boost the casting unit's stats or enhance them in any way. Instead, you cast it and the enemy unit take a hit on a 4+. Granted the wording is unclear, but the precedent seems to be that if a power does direct damage to an enemy unit you get a DTW roll, so I would allow my opponent one.


My group thinks the rules for DtW in regard to targeting is silly, so we allow a DtW roll for any unit effected by a power. The FAQ for GK states that cleansing flame is a close combat attack.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/06/24 02:26:24


 
   
Made in sg
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Lost in the Warp

Rumbleguts wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
I'm pretty sure that you only get 1 DtW regardless of how many units you hit. I think they FAQ'd it, didn't they?

Think about Cleasing Flame in this manner - it's not targeting anyone BUT yourself. When it is cast, it essentially acts as a Blessing that gives you a similar-to-base-contact damage spell. I believe Fire Shield (or something like that) in Pyromancy does the same thing. It's a Blessing, so they can't DtW, and they take the hits.


If you can find a FAQ ruling saying that if a power that targets multiple units, only one unit may make a DtW roll, please let me know. Its not in the general rules section, where it should be. And would directly contradict the rules in the book, not just explain a vague rule. As far as I can find if the power does not target the unit, the unit gets no DtW roll, ever.

You can choose to think of cleansing flame in that manner, but I don't feel that is accurate since it does not affect the GK unit at all, which all blessings do. Even Fire Shield has a direct benefit to the unit it affects. And, cleansing flame doesn't say it effects the GK unit at all, it effects all units in assault with the GK unit, the GK unit is just the point from which the ability radiates, like a very limited nova, except it doesn't target and a nova does.

Actually, I can find one power that is probably a blessing that only effects enemy units, Sanctuary, from the GK codex. But it could also be considered to be a weird malediction. I admit with access to only 4 codices could be quite a few others I am missing.

Automatically Appended Next Post:
 greyknight12 wrote:
I've always played it as they do get a deny the witch because it makes more sense that way given the way that DTW generally works in 6th. I would classify cleansing flame as a malediction, because the power itself does damage to enemy units, it does not boost the casting unit's stats or enhance them in any way. Instead, you cast it and the enemy unit take a hit on a 4+. Granted the wording is unclear, but the precedent seems to be that if a power does direct damage to an enemy unit you get a DTW roll, so I would allow my opponent one.


My group thinks the rules for DtW in regard to targeting is silly, so we allow a DtW roll for any unit effected by a power. The FAQ for GK states that cleansing flame is a close combat attack.


I found it. GW BRB FAQ Page 7, but it applies to Beam Powers in this reference. Only one DtW roll is made regardless of the number of units hit, if it fails, the power affects all of them. That being said, this doesn't call into mention "targeting", though if you need a "target" then Novas don't permit DtWs either. I looked at the Cleansing Flame entry again, to be fair, it doesn't state whether it even expends a warp charge or not, which call into question its validity as even a psychic power.

Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius

 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Rumbleguts wrote:
LOTS of text


I don't understand the problem. You're always allowed a DtW and if you manage it, NO ONE IS AFFECTED BY THE SPELL.
It's not like the off-targets somehow get no protection. Is just a case of "all or none."

You argue like you are under the impression that it's better to hit off targets than the actual target?

1) Attempt to manifest
IF unsuccessful END
ELSEIF successful GOTO 2
2) Declare target
3) Target attempts DtW
IF successful END
ELSEIF unsuccessful GOTO 4
4) use your witchfire like a shooting attack. This is when it gets to scatter or whatever.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 09:31:59


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Enigwolf wrote:
I looked at the Cleansing Flame entry again, to be fair, it doesn't state whether it even expends a warp charge or not, which call into question its validity as even a psychic power.

Yeah, a codex written in 5th edition would totally mention Warp Charges.
It's a psychic power because its listed as one in the codex.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in sg
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Lost in the Warp

rigeld2 wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
I looked at the Cleansing Flame entry again, to be fair, it doesn't state whether it even expends a warp charge or not, which call into question its validity as even a psychic power.

Yeah, a codex written in 5th edition would totally mention Warp Charges.
It's a psychic power because its listed as one in the codex.


Fair point. I don't play Purifiers and it slipped my mind that it was under the Psychic Powers entry. In any case, Deny the Witch states:

If a psychic power is targeted on an enemy unit, and the Psychic test is passed, the target can attempt to Deny the Witch before the psychic power is resolved.


RAW, Cleasing Flame is not "targeted".

Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Enigwolf wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
I looked at the Cleansing Flame entry again, to be fair, it doesn't state whether it even expends a warp charge or not, which call into question its validity as even a psychic power.

Yeah, a codex written in 5th edition would totally mention Warp Charges.
It's a psychic power because its listed as one in the codex.


Fair point. I don't play Purifiers and it slipped my mind that it was under the Psychic Powers entry. In any case, Deny the Witch states:

If a psychic power is targeted on an enemy unit, and the Psychic test is passed, the target can attempt to Deny the Witch before the psychic power is resolved.


RAW, Cleasing Flame is not "targeted".


This. You cannot DtW because its missing the prerequisite of targeting a unit.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

If the psychic test is passed, all enemy models that are part of the same assault suffer one wound on a roll of 4+. Armour saves can be taken as normal.


it could really be argued either way. it's "targeting" a specific unit or units. You just don't get to choose what you target.

On the other hand it doesn't specifically state that it is targeting.

I can't really see it being conclusive either way.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well you actually gave the conclusive argument - "target" is a defined 40k term. Given this power does not target anything, it cannot be subject to DTW
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: