Switch Theme:

Outflank Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






I'm sure I'm just missing this one but can't seem to locate it in the rule book.

I was playing a game the other day with a Tau max Kroot list and my opponent went first. On turn two he brought in 4 of 6 units of Kroot and lined the entire left and right board edges in anticipation of my war walkers outflanking as well. I was unable to move on but we could not find what happens next. In 5th I think I would have lost all my units but what happens in 6th?

As stated I am sure we just missed the rule....beer was certainly involved!

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Check the index for the Reserves rule, it has the information you are looking for.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






I just read all of Outflanking and Reserves, cant seem to find anything about being unable to place a model. (except the rule about being unable to place a vehicle wholly within 6" of the table edge at which point you place the back end touching a table edge and it becomes immobile)

Edit: Also relevant
[Thumb - 399px-Kroot_Trolling.jpg]

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/20 19:43:30


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






@ Death Reaper - I'm must not be seeing what you are referring to in the rule book.

@ Desubot - I agree we could not find the mechanism for when you can move on the the board. Obviously you could not place a model on the board edge since you can not be within 2 inches of another model but it doesn't say that you should then go in to ongoing reserve or that you should move those models out of the way to be able to place your own....

That is the famous picture we were thinking about!!

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Page 124 Right column, 7th Graph, 1st sentence (The part just after the bold text).

Also keep in mind the movement rules about how far you need to stay away from enemies.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






Ok so you're saying they would be able to move out past the unit that is blocking the board edge?

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Cpt Stubbs wrote:
Ok so you're saying they would be able to move out past the unit that is blocking the board edge?


Only if they can stay 1 inch away from them.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 DeathReaper wrote:
Page 124 Right column, 7th Graph, 1st sentence (The part just after the bold text).

Also keep in mind the movement rules about how far you need to stay away from enemies.



"Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield"

But you cant move through enemy models (baring jump/jetpacks)
what happens if you cant place any model on the field if your getting krootblocked?
Edit:hypothetically it is dawn of war, and kroot have been outflanked in such a number that the entirety of 6"s from each table side is packed that there is no possible way to come on the field.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/20 21:22:23


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






Which isn't all that difficult to do if you have 120 Kroot.

I guess they would still move out and beyond the unit as they are clearly not destroyed and do not enter ongoing reserve.

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The normal movement restrictions denying any unit to move through the enemies '1 inch bubble' would still apply. Therefore, unless the unit has permission to jump over enemy units, it would be denied from coming onto the board as it would be required to move through this bubble, which it can not do. It is the general consensus that this means the unit is removed from the game as a casualty at this point, as it can not exist off the board.

The question I have to ask is where in the book does it states such a unit becomes casualties?

I am positive I have read it but I can't seem to find the correct page that states this. I know there are many situations within some other rules, such as deep striking off the table, but it can be easily argued those are rules unique to just that method of deployment. For the life of me I still can't find that page which outright states this... I'm going blind in my old age I guess.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/20 21:34:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior






There is no rule stating that you are destroyed if you can't move on to the board from reserves. I agree that may be the consensus but is that only a holdover from 5th where it clearly gave us guidance for such a case?

8000
10,000
5000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





In 5th it had to be FAQed. Expect the same answer if/when it gets addressed here.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in sg
Brainy Zoanthrope





As the rules are now this is simply not covered RAW.

The unit MUST move onto the board like so. It can't because of the wall of Kroot. Then what happens? RAW the game throws and unhandled exception and crashes.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: