Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:40:45
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
If I outflank an assault vehicle with Korsarro Khan (he lets dedicated transports outflank), can I assault with the units inside? Do the units inside the transport still count as arriving from outflank, or is it just the transport that counts, allowing the units inside to assault?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:41:56
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Where were the troops on the prevoius turn?, in reserve? then no you cannot assault. Plus is there any assault DT in the marine dex?.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:44:21
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
MarkyMark wrote:Where were the troops on the prevoius turn?, in reserve? then no you cannot assault. Plus is there any assault DT in the marine dex?.
LR for a command squad iirc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:51:13
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
Yeah, Land Raider.
However the assault vehicle rule simply states:
"Passengers disembarking from a vehicle with this special rule may assault the turn they do so, even if the vehicle has been destroyed."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:52:26
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Yes but that only allows you to assault after disembarking, it doesn't allow you to overcome the no assaulting after coming in from reserves rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 11:53:49
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
And the reserves special rule says:
"Unless stated otherwise, a unit arriving from reserves cannot charge..."
The assault vehicle special rule says "may assault after disembarking"
not "may assault after disembarking if disembarking was the only thing not allowing them to assault."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/21 11:54:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:00:39
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Kelne
|
Hopefully this time I can quote something relevant :
"Do transports with the Assault Vehicle special rule permit their passengers to charge on the turn they arrive from reserve?(p33)
No."
edit: I can't even quote properly ....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/21 12:01:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:02:14
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
No you misunderstand.
You have 2 restrictions, one is assault from reserves and the other is after disembarking.
You need 2 specific permissions to over-ride these.
You have permission to assault after disembarking but only within a vacuum, not when other restrictions are in play. The rules work that a restriction always over-rides a general permission, you need a specific permission to overcome that restriction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:03:38
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
LR would have to be a dedicated transport for terminators, not the command squad. FYI.....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:16:39
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
Boooo, stupid faq.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:21:30
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
In this case the FAQ was just clarifying the rules that already exist.
So don't call the FAQ stupid, you'll hurt it's feelings.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:21:45
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
More like - boo, stupid rules. The FAQ just reminded you of this fact
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:47:59
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
No. That faq should be an erratta. The rules as written clearly allow assault. The assault vehicle rule has no "only if" or condition clause as originally written. Youre just assuming it does. The only thing the assault vehicle rule says is: "Did a unit disembark? Ok, it can assault." There is nothing else to check, and the restrictions on arriving from reserves clearly allow this kind of permission.
How you get "but only if its this one restriction that prevents them from assaulting" from "." I dont know.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/21 12:49:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:54:34
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
That's really not how rules work.
The Assault rules allow for assaulting after disembarking, it does not grant a blanket permission to assault in all circumstances.
The unit has arrived from reserve, so cannot assault , it matters not if heave disembarked from an assault vehicle or not.
The FAQ clarifies this, it doesn't add any new rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 12:56:44
Subject: Re:Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't know why it's hard to understand that there may be several potential restrictions in place. What if you disembark from a land raider and shoot with rapid fire weapons, are you then still allowed to assault?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 13:07:27
Subject: Korsarro Khan and Assault Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Lotus wrote:No. That faq should be an erratta. The rules as written clearly allow assault. The assault vehicle rule has no "only if" or condition clause as originally written. Youre just assuming it does. The only thing the assault vehicle rule says is: "Did a unit disembark? Ok, it can assault." There is nothing else to check, and the restrictions on arriving from reserves clearly allow this kind of permission.
How you get "but only if its this one restriction that prevents them from assaulting" from "." I dont know.
So your claim is that a unit that disembarks from a LR fires a heavy weapon, it can still assault? What about if they Run first? Seen how sily your version of the rules lets things become?
That isnt how the rules work. You have permisison to disembark and assault. You dont have permission to run then assault. You do not have permission to assault from reserves. You do not have permission to fire a rapid fire weapon and then assault. All of these restrictions require SPECIFIC exceptions to them for you to be able to then assault.
|
|
 |
 |
|