Switch Theme:

Do vehicles like chariots suffer penalties when charging through dificult?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The reason I ask is they ignore terrain for the purpose of movement distance, they just test for immobilized. Would they have 3d6 worst 2 charge or 2d6 change all the time. Obviously they still suffer initiative penalties on their riders.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Why do Chariot riders suffer an Initiative penalty? The chariot unit, not the rider, is declaring a charge. The Chariot does not have an Initiative value, and the rider is not moving through terrain.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That is an interesting way of looking at it. I figured if they don't have frag grenades they suffer the penalty. The chariot itself does do worst 2 of 3d6 based on summary sheet i found in the back of the brb.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yup, the rules for assaulting with Chariots do say that it's the Chariot, not the rider, that declares the charge.

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





So no charging bonuses for the passenger then.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Tarrasq wrote:
So no charging bonuses for the passenger then.


yet another interesting twist.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Tarrasq wrote:
So no charging bonuses for the passenger then.
An interesting point. And as far as I can see, that would indeed be the case.

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

"If at least one model in the charging unit moved through difficult terrain...all of the unit's models must attack at Initiative step 1" (p22). Did a model in the unit charge through terrain? Yes. Is the rider one of the "unit's models"? Ummmm....the BRB doesn't really talk about riders.... I read all three entries for chariot units in my Daemon book, and that also does not mention riders.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The rider (ie the embarked model) cannot be part of the chariot's unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





rigeld2 wrote:
The rider (ie the embarked model) cannot be part of the chariot's unit.


That makes an interesting problem with a mounted unit entering combat without declaring a charge, however being able to attack..
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's not a problem at all, since it is specifically allowed by the Chariot rules.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: