| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/24 21:14:57
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
Voice of Twilight, from the Codex Iyanden supplement, is a blessing targeting all friendly units within 12 inches. Whilest in effect, all Wraith-models in the target units have Battle Focus and Furious Charge.
I have a few questions about this, especially since Eldar is the first time I'm using an army with psychic powers. I tend to run 3 Wave Serpents of Wraithguard and one with a Spiritseer, two Lords and one Knight. So when I cast this do I measure form the hull of the Wave Serpent for the 12 inches? Further, do the embarked 'guard receive the blessing? Also, is this technically cast on the Spiritseer, so that during the movement phase, I measure to see what is within 12 inches of him? Or when the spell is cast, do all units in range just now have the blessing and it doesn't matter where the Spiritseer is come shooting time?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/24 21:19:04
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
If a psychic power requires LOS (and unless otherwise stated all power require LOS) then an embarked psyker can only affect himself, his unit, or the transport.
Furthermore, based on your post, the target is not the Spiritseer, it is all friendly units within 12".
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/24 21:20:21
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
From the Hull to the hull. embarked units, page 79 from memory? 1000 miles away from rulebook for now
per the blood Angel faq, it is when you want to use the benefit that you measure
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 00:46:37
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:From the Hull to the hull. embarked units, page 79 from memory? 1000 miles away from rulebook for now
per the blood Angel faq, it is when you want to use the benefit that you measure
Not really relevant. The Psyker rules are pretty clear on who a Psyker in a transport can target (page 67, Declare Target), and models outside the transport aren't on the list. So if the target really is units in range, the only units in range are going to be his own and his ride. Likewise if he's outside a transport, he won't be able to effect anyone inside one. So whether you can measure to or from the hull never comes in to it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 00:51:27
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Except the only restriction on casting outside the transport is targeting.
Not having the codex, it sounds like the power isn't targeted, but is measured from the caster. Meaning page 79 is relevant.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 00:55:23
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Except for the OP stating it is a Blessing that targets all units within 12". Of course, if he's wrong, that's a different story.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 00:57:41
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
My initial post is almost verbatim the rule.
I think so far this discussion has actually confused me more D:
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 00:59:18
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I don't own the supplement so I don't know the exact wording.
Assuming the OP is correct on his post, the power in question is a Blessing that targets all friendly units within range.
Since the power does not specify that it does not need LOS, it does require LOS and as such an embarked Psyker is limited to what can be targetted.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 01:00:05
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
If it targets all units within 12", using it in the transport won't help.
If its cast and then benefits all units inside 12", using it in transport will help.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 02:13:41
Subject: Voice of Twilight and embarked units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
I'm with rigeld.
The fact that it says it "TARGETS" units within 12" means it follows the rules outlined on 67 - "If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target."
To reiterate rigeld - if the power says "all units within 12" of the caster are affected" then you would measure hull to hull as on p.79.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 02:14:09
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|