Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 11:57:54
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Ok, this is how the whole thing has played out in my head.
We have no idea whether the unit counts as fully MC, or part-MC part Infantry, since we are given no rules for how to handle mixed units. I would argue that that means the existing unit type of each model is individually kept, I can see the argument for drones over-riding this, but that's moot here anyway because...
Bring it down! tells us we can "choose" the Monstrous Creature. That's the first part of the rule. Only once you have chosen does targetting come into play, but we're specifically targetting the MC here (the specific rule has already allowed us to bypass the standard rules for targetting a unit because it's specified what we can choose). So the drone unit type doesn't come into play any way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/26 11:58:21
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 12:06:07
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Enigwolf wrote:
Not in every instance, I would argue. That Ork psyker can snipe ICs.
WIth a specific allowance to do so. Find the specific allowance to target an MC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 14:00:10
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Super Ready wrote:Ok, this is how the whole thing has played out in my head.
We have no idea whether the unit counts as fully MC, or part- MC part Infantry, since we are given no rules for how to handle mixed units. I would argue that that means the existing unit type of each model is individually kept, I can see the argument for drones over-riding this, but that's moot here anyway because...
Bring it down! tells us we can "choose" the Monstrous Creature. That's the first part of the rule. Only once you have chosen does targetting come into play, but we're specifically targetting the MC here (the specific rule has already allowed us to bypass the standard rules for targetting a unit because it's specified what we can choose). So the drone unit type doesn't come into play any way.
This. This is what I'm referring to.
|
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 14:07:32
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
rigeld2 wrote:Drones also have a rule saying they act as additional squad members in all regards.
Additional to what squad? The MC squad.
So changing the unit type of the unit would be breaking that rule.
Squads don't have unit types models do.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 14:53:42
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:And it's a Riptide unit.
Is the Riptide an MC or not? The rest of his unit are normal members of his unit.
Unit type is a property of models, not squads. Being normal members of his unit does not change them from being infantry. There is no such thing as squad based unit types in 6th edition. I'm not arguing for or against how the bring it down rule is used, but your argument has nothing to stand on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/26 19:34:54
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
The ability to turn an entire squad's shots into precision+ shots is very powerful. While it says to target and shoot at the MC, how would wound allocation work in such an instance?
Would it work like in a challenge where you can't assaign wounds to any other model, even for Lookout Sir?
Would it still allocate wounds to the closest model even if that isn't the MC?
How would the unit's cover be determined if the other units are behind cover and focus fire isn't declared?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/27 05:18:46
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Nilok wrote:While it says to target and shoot at the MC, how would wound allocation work in such an instance?
Would it work like in a challenge where you can't assaign wounds to any other model, even for Lookout Sir?
Would it still allocate wounds to the closest model even if that isn't the MC?
How would the unit's cover be determined if the other units are behind cover and focus fire isn't declared?
Now, this is the part that would be unclear. If it does work as I outlined above, that makes the MC the "nominated target" and not the entire unit. Meaning that that shooting attack would be ignoring the other members of the unit - so no Look Out Sir, no Focus Fire possible if it's a single model, and there would be no other members in the "unit" that would be closer.
Obviously, this would be horrifically broken. This is how I see it in strict RAW but there's no way it can be what was intended. Mind you, the other problem with it is that figuring out allocating which wounds where calls aspects of the targetting rules that "choosing" the MC has already bypassed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/27 05:20:04
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/27 15:37:51
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
"Unit type" is a part of the Statline; it is on a model by model basis(an Eldar Autarch on a jetbike attached to a unit of guardians does not cease being unit type jetbike and moves as a jetbike with all of the Jetbike rules). So a unit of MCs would be a unit that consists of only MCs, as a Unit with 3 MCs and an Infantry model is not a unit of MCs(It is a unit with MCs and infantry). the most damning bit is the wording. It is not a MC unit, it is a unit of MCs(IG codex and FAQ/Erratta agree on this terminology). so a unit of 2 MCs joined buy an infantry might be able to be argued as an X unit(where X is the name of the MCs), and therefore possibly an "MC Unit", it is still not a unit of MCs(it contains an infantry model) And this is coming from an ardent IG player.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/27 15:47:32
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/27 17:37:34
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:"Unit type" is a part of the Statline; it is on a model by model basis(an Eldar Autarch on a jetbike attached to a unit of guardians does not cease being unit type jetbike and moves as a jetbike with all of the Jetbike rules).
So a unit of MCs would be a unit that consists of only MCs, as a Unit with 3 MCs and an Infantry model is not a unit of MCs(It is a unit with MCs and infantry).
the most damning bit is the wording.
It is not a MC unit, it is a unit of MCs( IG codex and FAQ/Erratta agree on this terminology). so a unit of 2 MCs joined buy an infantry might be able to be argued as an X unit(where X is the name of the MCs), and therefore possibly an " MC Unit", it is still not a unit of MCs(it contains an infantry model)
And this is coming from an ardent IG player.
Whether or not you're an IG player is irrelevant. We're discussing the semantics of the rules wording here. Technically, it tells you to pick an MC in the first part of the second section of the order - it never said to pick a unit of one MC or all MCs. Therefore, you can solo out the one MC in a mixed unit just as there are other psychic powers that can target specific individuals without the squad.
|
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 01:20:50
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
if the drones are war gear for the riptide then yh the rule should work if they are a seperately paid for unit then no they dsont im off to consult my copy of the codex on this matter
|
1 Tactical Sergeant Finished |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 01:25:18
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Drones are normal members of the unit. They are purchased similar to wargear, but are still unit members.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 01:37:51
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
the way i have just read the two codex's, the order will work against the riptide as i am directly nominating it to be the intended unit thus allowing my heavy or special weapons team to hurt it
|
1 Tactical Sergeant Finished |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 03:46:54
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Happyjew wrote:Drones are normal members of the unit. They are purchased similar to wargear, but are still unit members.
They are not purchased similar to wargear in that case they are bought the same way one would buy additional members for a firewarrior or crisis suit unit.
Drones taken from the "drones list", which is what other units do, are very obviously purchased like wargear since they're on page 95 with all the other gear.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 05:44:02
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Hoverboy is correct - the drones are purchased directly from the Riptide entry - but it makes no difference to this argument anyway. How they're purchased has no bearing on their status in the unit.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 13:35:05
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
i would simply play it the easy way, if you claim i cant targert it using bring it down then as my crappy conscripts charge u, you canot make me take a fear test
|
1 Tactical Sergeant Finished |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 15:16:54
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
|
I choose the riptide (MC), shoot at it, if it has drones that it bought and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
I choose the riptide (MC), shoot at it, if it was joined by another squad and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
Codex says I can choose the target, brb says who in the squad/group is effected first.
Makes sense to me without all of the syntax,rules lawyering schenannigans.
|
Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 16:25:59
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
scitech wrote:I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it has drones that it bought and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it was joined by another squad and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
Codex says I can choose the target, brb says who in the squad/group is effected first.
Makes sense to me without all of the syntax,rules lawyering schenannigans.
The codex dose not give you permission to use your twinlinked against infantry. This is the same problem as the Tau Forge World commander who has preferred enemy IC.
The FAQ says he can only use his PE if he uses precision shots on a IC. Which have to hit on 6 to work. Having to make a hit to activate your re-roll to hit on the already hit rolls seems silly, but that's what they said.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 16:53:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 17:50:14
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
It does help him RR to wound tough.
OT: A unit of monstrous creatures is just that, a unit composed of models with the MC unit type.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 17:51:44
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 19:05:41
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Chris Lysander wrote:i would simply play it the easy way, if you claim i cant targert it using bring it down then as my crappy conscripts charge u, you canot make me take a fear test
Oh? Fear has nothing to do with a unit that has the special rule, only a model. if you charge and none of your models make it into base contact with the Riptide, then there will be no Fear test that turn. The following turns however...
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 19:44:15
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Super Ready wrote:Hoverboy is correct - the drones are purchased directly from the Riptide entry - but it makes no difference to this argument anyway. How they're purchased has no bearing on their status in the unit.
I would argue that it DOES potentially matter how they are purchased. When you look at the "Unit Composition" it says "1 Riptide". It doesn't say "1 Riptide and 0-3 Drones". The "unit" that you've purchased is a Riptide. The Eldar Support Battery specifically calls out "2 Guardians, 1 Support Weapon".
Personally I agree and don't think "Bring it Down" will work on a Riptide until you've killed its drones. I'm just being Devil's Advocate here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 19:49:52
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Murrdox wrote: Super Ready wrote:Hoverboy is correct - the drones are purchased directly from the Riptide entry - but it makes no difference to this argument anyway. How they're purchased has no bearing on their status in the unit.
I would argue that it DOES potentially matter how they are purchased. When you look at the "Unit Composition" it says "1 Riptide". It doesn't say "1 Riptide and 0-3 Drones". The "unit" that you've purchased is a Riptide. The Eldar Support Battery specifically calls out "2 Guardians, 1 Support Weapon".
Because the Support Battery comes with the purchase of the unit. Just like how a unit of Marines would have a Sergeant and 4 Space Marines, but a squad of Broadsides are all Broadside Shas'vres, but one can be upgraded to a Broadside Shas'ui.
|
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 20:42:51
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Murrdox wrote: Super Ready wrote:Hoverboy is correct - the drones are purchased directly from the Riptide entry - but it makes no difference to this argument anyway. How they're purchased has no bearing on their status in the unit.
I would argue that it DOES potentially matter how they are purchased. When you look at the "Unit Composition" it says "1 Riptide". It doesn't say "1 Riptide and 0-3 Drones". The "unit" that you've purchased is a Riptide. The Eldar Support Battery specifically calls out "2 Guardians, 1 Support Weapon".
Personally I agree and don't think "Bring it Down" will work on a Riptide until you've killed its drones. I'm just being Devil's Advocate here.
They have changed how unit composition is shown in the new 6e books.
By that logic, my Crisis Suits can't have any IC attached because it lists their Unit Composition as "1 Crisis Shas'ui", if I go on a little tangent. That also is the same for my Broadside team "1 Broadside Shas'ui".
Unit Composition now only shows what the minimum squad size is.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/06/28 20:54:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 21:01:03
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Nilok wrote:Murrdox wrote: Super Ready wrote:Hoverboy is correct - the drones are purchased directly from the Riptide entry - but it makes no difference to this argument anyway. How they're purchased has no bearing on their status in the unit.
I would argue that it DOES potentially matter how they are purchased. When you look at the "Unit Composition" it says "1 Riptide". It doesn't say "1 Riptide and 0-3 Drones". The "unit" that you've purchased is a Riptide. The Eldar Support Battery specifically calls out "2 Guardians, 1 Support Weapon".
Personally I agree and don't think "Bring it Down" will work on a Riptide until you've killed its drones. I'm just being Devil's Advocate here.
They have changed how unit composition is shown in the new 6e books.
By that logic, my Crisis Suits can't have any IC attached because it lists their Unit Composition as "1 Crisis Shas'ui", if I go on a little tangent. That also is the same for my Broadside team "1 Broadside Shas'ui".
Unit Composition now only shows what the minimum squad size is.
Yeah, you're right. I didn't think what I was saying would hold water for long.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 01:43:23
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
|
Nilok wrote:scitech wrote:I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it has drones that it bought and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it was joined by another squad and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
Codex says I can choose the target, brb says who in the squad/group is effected first.
Makes sense to me without all of the syntax,rules lawyering schenannigans.
The codex dose not give you permission to use your twinlinked against infantry. This is the same problem as the Tau Forge World commander who has preferred enemy IC.
The FAQ says he can only use his PE if he uses precision shots on a IC. Which have to hit on 6 to work. Having to make a hit to activate your re-roll to hit on the already hit rolls seems silly, but that's what they said.
I stick by what I say. I chose the monstrous creature, I shot at it, you stuck your infantry in the way as ablative wounds. Give me a break. Codex says choose a mc, not choose a mc if it's by itself. I chose the mc, if you don't want your infantry dying keep them away from the mc.
|
Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 01:45:37
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well we shall see how it plays out with a new IG codex. However, HIWPI, the Riptide is a JMC unit. The drones act as additional units in all regards, which would count as MC's for the purpose of targetings.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 04:42:20
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Fragile wrote:Well we shall see how it plays out with a new IG codex. However, HIWPI, the Riptide is a JMC unit. The drones act as additional units in all regards, which would count as MC's for the purpose of targetings.
There is no such thing as JPMC or MC unit (squad) in 6e. Unit Types are extensions to a model's profile and have no bearing directly on the squad. Being in the squad dose not convey the MC unit type or rules to the drones.
As such, it would be a unit of composed of a (Jet Pack) MC and (Jet Pack) Infantry. Can you target such a unit with "Bring it Down!"? Automatically Appended Next Post: scitech wrote: Nilok wrote:scitech wrote:I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it has drones that it bought and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
I choose the riptide ( MC), shoot at it, if it was joined by another squad and they are closer to me they take the hits first.
Codex says I can choose the target, brb says who in the squad/group is effected first.
Makes sense to me without all of the syntax,rules lawyering schenannigans.
The codex dose not give you permission to use your twinlinked against infantry. This is the same problem as the Tau Forge World commander who has preferred enemy IC.
The FAQ says he can only use his PE if he uses precision shots on a IC. Which have to hit on 6 to work. Having to make a hit to activate your re-roll to hit on the already hit rolls seems silly, but that's what they said.
I stick by what I say. I chose the monstrous creature, I shot at it, you stuck your infantry in the way as ablative wounds. Give me a break. Codex says choose a mc, not choose a mc if it's by itself. I chose the mc, if you don't want your infantry dying keep them away from the mc.
Are you shooting so you will wound infantry? Can you gain twin-linked against infantry with "Bring it Down!"?
Unless you have a special rule that lets you isolate the target from the squad like precision shots, you are still targeting the infantry you can't make use of "Bring it Down!"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/29 04:58:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 05:00:42
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You should reread what I posted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 05:57:13
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Counting as part of the unit dose change their unit type. Nothing in the rules permits a model to change its unit type. Nor dose counting as part of a unit change how the composition of the unit is viewed.
At best, it is a Riptide Unit that can be composed of either a Jet Pack Monstrous Creature, or a Jet Pack Monstrous Creature and Jet Pack Infantry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 06:56:54
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Fragile wrote:Well we shall see how it plays out with a new IG codex. However, HIWPI, the Riptide is a JMC unit. The drones act as additional units in all regards, which would count as MC's for the purpose of targetings.
Units oddly enough don't have a unit type, models do.
For a unit to be a unit of MCs all the models in it must have the appropriate unit type.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 20:05:11
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Wouldn't the drones be considered upgrades to the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
|