Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 15:44:35
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
Under Blessings it says it can affect the psyker but can a Psyker target himself?
It says it can affect the psyker so if he used the power on a guy in his unit and the benefit was for the unit he would also get it.
Plus for some blessings it says it targets the psyker. Specifically saying that you can target the psyker in that abilities leading me to believe that you cannot normal target yourself.
Or am I just reading way to much into this?
|
1225 points
1500 Kan Wall
"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 15:56:37
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Yes, the psyker can target himself. When it says the power targets the psyker specifically, it just means that it can ONLY target himself.
So a sorcerer with Endurance can cast it on himself or a unit in range, while he can only target himself with Warp Speed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 16:57:27
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
Could you say where in the rulebook it says you can target yourself? Thank you
|
1225 points
1500 Kan Wall
"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 17:02:51
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Discodontron wrote:Could you say where in the rulebook it says you can target yourself? Thank you
Page 67 states you target a unit, the Psyker is a unit, unless he is with a unit then you target the unit as a whole, which would include the Psyker.
Unless it is a power like Iron Arm that specifically targets the Psyker as per that particular Psychic power's rules. (There are a few others as well auch as Warp Speed Etc...).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/09/16 17:12:27
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
I do not see it stating anywhere on that page that it targets a unit. All I see is that if it requires a target choose it now. Which would make you go to the type of power and then to blessing. And in blessing it says it targets a friendly unit. and a friend unit is not itself.
|
1225 points
1500 Kan Wall
"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 17:20:07
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point." 67
"Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker,"(Emphasis Mine)
The underscore literally tells you a situation where the Psyker can target himself
Of course a model is friendly to himself...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 17:25:51
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So you are claiming you arent friendly to yourself?
It is a unit, it is by definition friendly....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 18:43:49
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
Being a friendly unit and friendly to yourself is different.
And you are not a friendly unit to yourself, you are not a foe neither you are yourself. You can not be a friendly person to yourself unless you have a couple different personalities.
and for targeting yourself in transports its for the Blessing(ie. Warpspeed) that specifically say that you can target yourself.
|
1225 points
1500 Kan Wall
"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 18:46:54
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, really it is not different. Discodontron wrote:and for targeting yourself in transports its for the Blessing(ie. Warpspeed) that specifically say that you can target yourself.
No it is not. The wording is: "Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker," This is for all Psychic powers as per the rules on Page 67.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/03 18:49:03
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/03 18:51:52
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Not in the 40k rules. When playing 40k, you have to use their terminology, not bring in your own.
If you look at the back of the rulebook, where it lists the several Psychic disciplines, each power has a RANGE. Some blessings say, "Range: Self." There's no other way to interpret this than, "The Psyker targets himself."
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/04 13:29:42
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
If models are friendly with themselves, it wold be illegal to fire a flamer from a vehicle as the templet would fall across a "friendly" model (i.e., itself). If models are not friendly with themselves, all vehicles with flamers, including those fired from fire points, work fine. As such, we can only assume that a Psyker may only target himself if given specific permission to do so within the rules of the power being used.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/04 13:35:21
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
That would be true except for the actual rules on page 52.
A Template weapon never hits the model firing it.
Since your premise is incorrect your assumption cannot be correct.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/04 23:47:36
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Rigeld2, actually read my post this time, before automatically arguing with it.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 00:13:30
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
I think he's responding to the baseless assumptions rather than just saying "No, you're just wrong.".
Can you give a page number for the restriction on a psyker not being able to target his unit or himself with blessings that say "friendly models"?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 04:21:27
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
liturgies of blood wrote:
I think he's responding to the baseless assumptions rather than just saying "No, you're just wrong.".
Can you give a page number for the restriction on a psyker not being able to target his unit or himself with blessings that say "friendly models"?
hmm, wait.
Nope there isn't one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 05:44:22
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I read your post - you were trying to be a devils advocate. I get that - but your entire post was incorrect.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 09:12:18
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is also proven incorrect through other rulings, such as a Sanguinary priest giving themselves FNP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 20:28:16
Subject: Re:Blessings
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Basically, a model is always a friendly unit to himself and he does indeed have LoS to himself.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 22:31:11
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
Are you implying you can see the back of your own head!?! MUTANT! HERETIC!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/05 22:31:18
"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/06 06:12:29
Subject: Blessings
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
deathmagiks wrote:Are you implying you can see the back of your own head!?!
MUTANT! HERETIC!
Well considering models can always draw Line of Sight through models in their own unit, and the firing model is definitely in their own unit...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|