Switch Theme:

Necrons Res Orb, Ever Living, Reanimation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





I feel dumb but this is from the faq on the GW site and I don't 100% understand it. Does this mean if your Ever-living fails, you can back it up by using the orb? I'm just confused because I don't understand the difference between Ever-living and Reanimation Protocols/Resurrection orb. I understand the orb gives you the +1 for your reanimation roll. I get that.

Page 82 – Necron Wargear, Resurrection Orb.
Add the following sentence at the end of the second paragraph: “The effect of the resurrection orb applies until the Ever-living counter of the bearer is removed by a failed Reanimation Protocols roll (so roll for the bearer’s counter last!)

THanks
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





What it is saying is the 4+ for the unit's Reanimation Protocols from the Resurrection Orb lasts until the Lord's Ever-living counter has been removed.

Once the Ever-living counter has been removed the Lord is considered killed and all his effects stop. So if you attempt the Lord's Reanimation Protocols first and fail, the rest of the unit will not be able to make use of the Reanimation Orb because the model carrying it is dead, and can only reanimate on a 5+.

So follow the FAQ and reanimate your Lord last since you can reanimate your Necron models in any order.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/08 06:16:21


 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


Correct me if I'm mistaken.

I thought the Lord's roll was EL not RP.

As EL is just a "special type of RP"


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





The Lord (or overlord or cryptek for that matter) use Everliving which is a special RP.

I believe the order of EL vs RP rolls is covered in the most recent FAq and even recommends doing your lord with resOrb first and then rolling the rest of the unit. If The Lord is dead, the unit doesn't get the 4+ RP roll until he stands back up; so do him first.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


They are the same. EL = RP without needing everyone else in the squad to live. You don't get 2 rolls.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

Unholyllama wrote:
The Lord (or overlord or cryptek for that matter) use Everliving which is a special RP.

I believe the order of EL vs RP rolls is covered in the most recent FAq and even recommends doing your lord with resOrb first and then rolling the rest of the unit. If The Lord is dead, the unit doesn't get the 4+ RP roll until he stands back up; so do him first.


I believe you have that backwards. You want to do your lord last, so the whole unit can use the res orb. If you did him first and he failed, no one else would get to use the orb.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 ToBeWilly wrote:
Unholyllama wrote:
The Lord (or overlord or cryptek for that matter) use Everliving which is a special RP.

I believe the order of EL vs RP rolls is covered in the most recent FAq and even recommends doing your lord with resOrb first and then rolling the rest of the unit. If The Lord is dead, the unit doesn't get the 4+ RP roll until he stands back up; so do him first.


I believe you have that backwards. You want to do your lord last, so the whole unit can use the res orb. If you did him first and he failed, no one else would get to use the orb.


Hmm I must be thinking of an old FAQ. Current FAQ (1.4) does show that a downed lord with res orb can still benefit his unit's RP rolls. So as of right now, yes, roll the lord's EL roll after the unit's RP rolls.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


They are the same. EL = RP without needing everyone else in the squad to live. You don't get 2 rolls.


Wait what why and how?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 Desubot wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


They are the same. EL = RP without needing everyone else in the squad to live. You don't get 2 rolls.


Wait what why and how?


He's asking if you get 2 rolls. According to his understanding, if you fail RP, you get to roll for EL.

That is incorrect. You get 1 roll, and only 1 roll. EL is just a modified version of RP.

If a lord dies, he rolls EL. If failed, he stays dead. That's it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/08 22:01:52


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


They are the same. EL = RP without needing everyone else in the squad to live. You don't get 2 rolls.


Wait what why and how?


He's asking if you get 2 rolls. According to his understanding, if you fail RP, you get to roll for EL.

That is incorrect. You get 1 Roll, and only 1 roll. EL is just a modified version of RP.


I see because iv had people do both. il have to take a look at the rules a bit closer but is it specified under EL?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 Desubot wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Chipperwig wrote:
So if the lord fails his reanimation roll, can he then use his Ever-Living?


They are the same. EL = RP without needing everyone else in the squad to live. You don't get 2 rolls.


Wait what why and how?


He's asking if you get 2 rolls. According to his understanding, if you fail RP, you get to roll for EL.

That is incorrect. You get 1 Roll, and only 1 roll. EL is just a modified version of RP.


I see because iv had people do both. il have to take a look at the rules a bit closer but is it specified under EL?


It's under the Ever Living section. At no point does it say that a model with the Ever Living rule gets to make 2 rolls.

PG29:

"If a model with this special rule is removed as a casualty, do not place add a Reanimation Protocols counter to it's unit. Instead place an ever living counter where the model was removed from play. At the end of the phase, roll for this counter, just as you would a Reanimation Protocols counter"

Really? People interpreting it as 2 rolls is common? I thought it was obvious :/

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/08 22:07:21


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





Maybe obvious for some. I'm just a dumb grunt. I'm pretty new to actually playing and learning this game. What may be obvious for you, may not exactly jump off the page at me. I mean I could send you to drop the breach for inspection on an M1A1 Abrams which, in my mind, a child could do with the manuel but you would have many questions.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Thanks for the clarification guys.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/08 22:35:19


 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

I apologize if I came off as a bit snooty.
I also made some pretty silly mistakes when starting out. I once thought that activating the nightmare shroud in the old 3rd meant that no one in the necron army could fire a weapon, which certainly resulted in some...interesting scenarios.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/08 22:42:56


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





Its all good. These rules and bouncing between two books (rule book and codex) and some FAQ can be overwhelming for me. I learn better hands on.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: