Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:05:22
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
I've been looking over the Mawloc and want to try it, but when going over the rules I encountered a slight problem...
Terror from the deep: if a Mawloc Deep Strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table but instead do the following.
Place the large blast directly over the spot the Mawloc is emerging from. Every unit under the template suffers a number of Strength 6, Ap. 2 hits equal to the number of moels in that unit that are wholly or partially covered by the template. Vehicles are always struck on their rear armour. If any unit still has surviving models under the template, move that unit by the minimum distance necessary to clear all models from beneath the tempalte whilst maintaining squad coherency and avoiding impassable terrain. Units that were locked in combat prior to the Mawloc's attack must remain in base contact if possible, but otherwise models cannot be moved within 1" of an enemy model. Vehicles, including immobile vehicles, retain their original facing if they are moved. Any models that cannot be moved out of the way are destroyed. After all casualties have been determined, replace the large blast template with the Mawloc.
Here's the basics: The Mawloc may elect to DS onto a point occupied by a model. If so, the Mawloc doesn't mishap! Instead, place a Strngth 6 AP 2 Large Blast, and resolve. Then, move all survivors so that they are no longer on the template.
Lets say I successfully do this on some really tightly packed infantry, and don't kill them all. Lets say theyre Necron Wraiths, as multiwound + Invuln means theyre likely to live. So, none die and they all move around the template, completely surrounding it. The rules then tell me to remove the template and replace with the Mawloc. His base is smaller than a large blast, so he fits, but he isn't 1" smaller than the template. Therefore, he is placed within 1" of the Wraiths. Logically, he would mishap when this happens. However, the 'Nid codex says he DOESNT mishap when DSing on enemy models, so thats not the answer. But he doesn't reduce scatter or anything, and the rules only say to move enemy models away from the Template, not the Mawloc itself.
Basically, the rules allow the Mawloc to, in the right circumstances, DS onto a point within 1" of an enemy, but he is not allowed to mishap. What should be done? (Personally, I'd be fine if he did mishap, as it'd be very likely he goes back into reserves and then gets to attack again!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:15:33
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I'm not sure where you're seeing a problem. The rules say he doesn't mishap when he deep strikes onto other models... so he doesn't mishap.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/11 02:15:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:18:52
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
insaniak wrote:I'm not sure where you're seeing a problem. The rules say he doesn't mishap when he deep strikes onto other models... so he doesn't mishap.
But the (general) rules also say he can't be within 1" of a model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:28:39
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
And those general rules are over-ridden by the Morloc's more specific special rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:28:45
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Guess they're within an Inch than as the special rules from codex says it doesn't mishap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:50:45
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
How big is the base? As long as it's less than 4 inches you should be fine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 02:56:09
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Tarrasq wrote:How big is the base? As long as it's less than 4 inches you should be fine.
Its the large MC/flyer base, which is easily more than 4".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 03:08:44
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
insaniak wrote:And those general rules are over-ridden by the Morloc's more specific special rule.
Well, technically, the way it works is:
Decide deployment point. Cannot mishap.
Place ordnance marker. Units take hits/wounds. Remove models.
Move survivors the minimum required distance to not be under the template.
Place Mawloc.
The problem is the Mawloc base is not 1" smaller than the ordnance marker, and it's illegal, as per the rules, for a model to be closer than 1" to an enemy model unless assaulting. So when you place the Mawloc at the center, if it didn't kill much, it'll probably be impossible to legally place on the table. It won't mishap, because the deep strike mishap is negated by the special rule. But it's an odd case in that it can't mishap, but it might still be illegal to place on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 04:26:28
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I disagree. The mawloc just has a completely different process that replaces the mishap. If he would land on enemy models, instead of mishapping you resolve the blast before placing the model. But it's all part of the same deep strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 05:12:19
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
no idea
|
Where there are contradictions, codex trumps rulebook, so no mishap.
Other than that, it seems a technicality worth knowing about so you understand why you should probably ignore it.
|
You wart-ridden imbeciles! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 06:38:12
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Would the models within 1" be considered unable to move out of the way and thus destroyed? Basically this issue comes down to what happens when enemy models are still within 1", and we know mishaps are out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 07:57:37
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
They just stay there even if they are within 1".
There have been discussion on here before about what happens when models do end up with 1" of an enemy without being in combat, and I think the consensus was that if somehow it does happen, there are no rules explaining what happens then, so nothing special happens. They just stay there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 13:14:23
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So if it hits terrain it mishaps?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/11 13:49:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 13:17:20
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Impassable terrain, yes.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 13:52:19
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Just impassible what about difficult and area?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 13:53:19
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It would arrive normally.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 13:56:54
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Well since no one mishaps in difficult and area...
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/11 14:57:29
Subject: Mawloc mishap?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
The FAQ states he can move swooping fmc and flyers so they are 1" away...I am not sure why they didn't expand it to cover all units just to make it clear.
|
- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers |
|
 |
 |
|