Switch Theme:

Flicker/Invulns - Immobilized - Still move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Does it Move or Stay?
Moves - Vehicle moves as normal in that Movement Phase
Stays - Vehicle is unhurt, but has to stay in the Movement Phase, but is free to try again in other phases as normal

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

While making a FF save skips damaging (Becoming Immobilized, specifically) the vehicle, does it still move?

I do have the errata from the DE update for 6e, V1.1 =
Q: "Can I take a FF save becoming immobilized from a Dangerous Terrain test?"
A: Yes


Example: I move a Raider *out* of DT and fail the test. I manage to roll the FF save, but does the Raider stay (to try again next turn or Flat Out) or does it Move to where I tried in the first place?

Let's say you're a TO, how would you call it?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Are you immobilised? If not you can move.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Per the skimmer rules, the Raider doesn't take a test while in the middle of movement. It can fly over DT all day long without needing to test. It's only if you start or end your movement in DT that you need to be concerned.

If you start in DT, and fail the test then you roll FF. If FF passes then you move normally.

If you end in DT, and fail the test then you roll FF. If FF passes, well, you can't move any more because you've already finished the move. Unless you want to Flat Out, in which case you are free to do that.

In light of the skimmer rules, I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "move to where I tried in the first place". Where you taking the test when you were flying over the DT?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/17 18:16:07


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

clively wrote:
In light of the skimmer rules, I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "move to where I tried in the first place". Where you taking the test when you were flying over the DT?
The Raider *starts* its turn in a crater, AT, ruins, etc. A player tries to move it out of the D-Terrain and into Open Terrain and that's when my Q kicks in.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Happyjew wrote:
Are you immobilised? If not you can move.
Which makes perfect sense, HJ.

But.


It could be argued that it got stopped, made the save, but is not specifically given permission (as per Permissive Rules Set) to continue Moving, right now. The vehicle is *not* Immobilized, but nothing says specifically that it can *now* keep going in the Movement Phase.

Sure, it can try to Flat Out or Move in the subsequent turns (causing *new* DT tests? Oy, let's not go there), but ... *now*?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/17 18:47:31


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

For skimmers, DT is only tested at the beginning--when it starts--or at the end--when it finishes--of the model's movement.

If you begin your movement in DT, don't roll a 1. If you do roll a 1 and pass the FF save, then move as normal. If you do roll a 1 and fail the FF save, the vehicle does not move at all, or has it counted as moving.

If you end your movement in DT...it sounds like you're not exactly understanding how Skimmers move. Figure out how far the model wishes to move (0-12"). If that end point is in DT, then take the test using the procedure as described above. It doesn't matter if the Skimmer "passes over" DT, it only matters if the place the model wishes to stop moving is DT.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
For skimmers, DT is only tested at the beginning--when it starts--or at the end--when it finishes--of the model's movement.
Right, at the Start, but this is not the issue.

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
If you begin your movement in DT, don't roll a 1. If you do roll a 1 and pass the FF save, then move as normal.
This is the point of the thread, *does* it move as moral if the FF saves?

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
If you do roll a 1 and fail the FF save, the vehicle does not move at all, or has it counted as moving.

If you end your movement in DT...it sounds like you're not exactly understanding how Skimmers move. Figure out how far the model wishes to move (0-12"). If that end point is in DT, then take the test using the procedure as described above. It doesn't matter if the Skimmer "passes over" DT, it only matters if the place the model wishes to stop moving is DT.
I'm not citing the situation in orange.

Background: I've been playing 40k for 8 years, own/play eldar, tau, DE & plenty of marine speeders, so I do know how skimmers move, through three editions, now.

Again, I'm not talking about "passing over" DT. Just starting in the Turn in it, moving to Open Terrain:
BrotherErekose wrote:The Raider *starts* its turn in a crater, AT, ruins, etc. A player tries to move it out of the D-Terrain and into Open Terrain and that's when my Q kicks in.

Anyone care to cite where it says that you can keep going after the save? OR perhaps a similar situation?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Brothererekose wrote:
Anyone care to cite where it says that you can keep going after the save?
I'm not seeing any reason why it would stop - making the save means it was never immobilized which means it never stops in the first place.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Have you yet moved? No - you dclare you will move, and therefore tae the test. If you fail, but pass FF, you are never immobilised. You now follow the rules, and start to move.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: