Switch Theme:

Single models and multi-assaulting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

I know this was an easily answered question back in 5th edition but I was just looking through my 6th edition rulebook and saw that no where, that I could find, did it say that a single model couldn't multi-assault. I'm referring of course to large based monstrous creatures or even a Space Marine Terminator that happens to have a base big enough to touch two units. So my question is where in the rulebook (page and paragraph) does it say single models can (or can't) charge multiple units simultaneously.

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It is still restricted.

Find Multiple Combats in the index and read what it has to say about the Initial Charger.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 06:42:35


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It was impossible, because to charge two targets you had to declare the second target AFTER the first model had moved.

This is no longer the case, it is now merely very difficult. The initial charger must move into base contact with the nearest model in the target unit by the shortest distance possible. Going even 1mm further than the shortest distance in order to contact multiple models is forbidden, which means you need careful pre-charge positioning to be able to pull it off.


Scratch all of the above. It's still impossible. It's a combination of the parenthesis'd bits under move initial charger on page 21 and Move Initial Charger on page 28, taking into account the distinction between Primary and Secondary targets from page 27. My bad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/24 06:47:56


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Have thought the same thing and as DR says moving intial charger will stop it happening.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Chrysis wrote:
It was impossible, because to charge two targets you had to declare the second target AFTER the first model had moved.

This is no longer the case, it is now merely very difficult. The initial charger must move into base contact with the nearest model in the target unit by the shortest distance possible. Going even 1mm further than the shortest distance in order to contact multiple models is forbidden, which means you need careful pre-charge positioning to be able to pull it off.

Actually it is still forbidden. Check the rules about Multiple Combats and the Initial Charger.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Yeah, I went back and had a better look and noticed that the single target "Move Initial Charger" is no longer "enemy units that are not being charged" but simply "other enemy units." If it was the former it would work, but the latter distinctly doesn't.
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

Thanks for the help guys. I found it! Mods can lock thread now.

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I don't think this is quite answered. The bit on page 21 in parentheses mentions going around enemy models, but the bold text under Charge Move above it still states that you can move within 1" "of enemy models". It doesn't specify only the unit being charged. Therefore I believe the part about moving around enemy models is there to cover models whose base is directly in the charge path.

Perhaps best if I illustrate:



Red is the charging model, blue is the primary target and yellow is the secondary target.

Figure A is what I believe the part in parentheses refers to. If a model from another unit is actually in the way - that is, their base is in the path - then the charging model may skirt around it to reach the target. However, they can still come within 1" in doing so because the Charge Move rules allow this.
Figure B is another example, but this time the other model isn't directly in the path - so nothing is stopping the charge from taking place as a straight, direct line. Even if it means coming within 1".
Figure C is the only way I see it being possible to charge two units with a single model - if the direct path also places the charger into base contact with another unit's model.

Note that if I'm wrong on the above - and the intent of the parentheses is not to allow the initial charger within 1" of another enemy unit - then it would be practically impossible (if not theoretically) to charge a unit that the opponent has chosen to intersperse with another unit, since the 1" restriction doesn't apply to friendly models.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You missed pg 21.. about moving the Initial.

""and cannot move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not charging.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oh, balls. So I did - was concentrating on the parentheses too much. And I laboured over that pic and everything...!

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: