Switch Theme:

Interceptor and Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

Can I use a Interceptor special rule against Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity?

At the end of the enemy Movement
phase, a weapon with the Interceptor
special rule can be fired at anyone unit
that has arrived from reserve within its
range and line of sight. If this rule is
used, the weapon cannot be fired in the
next turn, but the firing model can shoot
a different weapon if it has one.

In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the
unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must
start the game in reserve. When placing the unit in reserve,
you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep
Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike reserve).
Some units that must arrive by Deep Strike. They always
begin the game in reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike.
When working out how many units can be placed in reserve,
units that must be deployed by Deep Strike (along with any
models embarked upon them) are ignored. In addition, a
unit that must arrive by Deep Strike (such as a Drop Pod)
must do so even if you are playing a special mission where
the Reserves special rule is not being used. Of course, all the
Eternal War missions presented later do use Reserves, so you
won't usually need to worry about this distinction.

In the Movement phase during which they arrive, deep
striking units may not move any further
, other than to
disembark from a deep striking Transport yehicle if they
are in one. Units deep striking into ruins are placed on
the ground floor. Deep striking units count non-ruined
buildings (except for their battlements) as impassable terrain...

A Cryptek with a veil of darkness can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield The veil of darkness cannot be used if the Cryptek or his unit are locked in combat.
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Has the unit entered the game from reserve?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Best not to publish whole rules up here.. GW's lawyers don't like that. A page number will do.

The key part for interceptor is the unit must arrive from reserve.
Abilities like Gate use deepstrike but the unit never arrives from reserve.
   
Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

 grendel083 wrote:
Best not to publish whole rules up here.. GW's lawyers don't like that. A page number will do.

The key part for interceptor is the unit must arrive from reserve.
Abilities like Gate use deepstrike but the unit never arrives from reserve.


I agree, but what to do with wording what deepstrike always considered to be entering from reserve?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Darog wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Best not to publish whole rules up here.. GW's lawyers don't like that. A page number will do.

The key part for interceptor is the unit must arrive from reserve.
Abilities like Gate use deepstrike but the unit never arrives from reserve.


I agree, but what to do with wording what deepstrike always considered to be entering from reserve?
It doesn't consider them to be in Reserve. It's a requirement. You can't Deepstrike unless you're in Reserve.
Then we have an ability that specifically allows the use of the deepstrike rules, despite them not starting in Reserve.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




Boston, MA

Use Grey Knights with Warpquake, Deepstrike problem solved.

0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. 
   
Made in fi
Been Around the Block




I see it just like Grendel does,

They teleport using the deep strike rules but they do not come from reserves, so no - you don't get to use interceptor on them.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




New York, NY

D'oh

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/31 18:10:38


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It depends on the wording of the ability. GoI in the SM codex just places models by deep strike so no arrival no interceptor. GoI rulebook power makes the unit arrive by deep strike. Thus it triggers abilities that require arriving by deep strike (I.e. Far sights warlord trait).

But does that trigger interceptor. Well check the rules for what arriving by deep strike is and we see it is considered a type of arriving from reserve and therefore triggers interceptor.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 FlingitNow wrote:
Well check the rules for what arriving by deep strike is and we see it is considered a type of arriving from reserve and therefore triggers interceptor.
It doesn't consider the unit as arriving from reserve, it requires the unit to be in reserve. Quite a difference.
Since Gate is using DeepStrike from the tabletop, at no point is the unit considered being in Reserve. It is being used despite the normal requirement to be in Reserve first.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Grendel has it...

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I have to side with the side that states gates of infinity does not trigger Interceptor. The rule for gates, page 422, states the unit immediately arrives using the rules for deep striking with no mention about putting them into an ongoing reserve before hand, though they are removed from the table as part of the sequence this is different then going into reserves. While the rules for deep striking do talk about reserves, the majority of that occurs before a sub-section titled 'arriving by deep strike' which is what gates is referencing. The single line that can be found in this sub-section, which is talking about reserves, is directly related to 'rolling for arrival per reserve method' and nothing more. This is clearly irrelevant when using the gate of infinity and I personally believe it would be a stretch to state this single line means your going into reserves any time you use deep strike.

The only possible time when interceptor could be occurred is if the unit mishapped and was put into ongoing reserves, then arrive from there the next turn.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

The Veil can also be used when the unit walks on from the board edge "instead of it's normal movement" which, in that case, you may fire against it via Interceptor.

However, since the unit did not arrive from reserve when using the Veil normally you can't use interceptor against it.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 grendel083 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Well check the rules for what arriving by deep strike is and we see it is considered a type of arriving from reserve and therefore triggers interceptor.
It doesn't consider the unit as arriving from reserve, it requires the unit to be in reserve. Quite a difference.
Since Gate is using DeepStrike from the tabletop, at no point is the unit considered being in Reserve. It is being used despite the normal requirement to be in Reserve first.


Arriving by deep strike is a subset of arriving from reserve. Any unit arriving by deep strike according to the DS rules is arriving from reserve.

How can you read that any other way? Models deployed or placed are not necessarily arriving by deep strike. But if you are you are arriving from reserve.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 FlingitNow wrote:
Arriving by deep strike is a subset of arriving from reserve.
No it isn't.
It's mentioned briefly there (p124) but that's it. It's a USR (p36), not a subset of anything.
Any unit arriving by deep strike according to the DS rules is arriving from reserve.
No it isn't.
The rule states the unit start the game in reserve in order to Deepstrike.
The unit is not "considered", "counted as" or "treated as" coming from Reserve according to the Deepstrike rules.
Gate tells you to use the Deepstrike rules, despite not meeting the requirements to normally do so (mainly, being in reserve).
How can you read that any other way? Models deployed or placed are not necessarily arriving by deep strike. But if you are you are arriving from reserve.
As pointed out, Reserve is a requirement. At no point is a unit "considered" coming from reserve with Deepstrike, unless it actually IS coming from reserve.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Page 36 arriving by deep strike defines the arriving part as making your reserve roll. First sentence under the title arriving by deep strike. It tells us what arriving is and then tells us how to deploy by deep strike. Arriving is coming from reserve.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Interceptor may not fire at units that are not arriving from reserves. Veil of Darkness removes the unit from the tabletop. This is not equivalent to being placed in reserves. It is it's own special scenario.
When instructed to reenter play via Deep Strike, it is verbal shorthand describing the placing of a model, the rolling of scatter dice, and the potential of misshaps.


 
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Also have to realize that this is a Codex wording over a BRB, so conflicts are always around. Any model with Deepstrike capability cannot deepstrike unless from reserve, Veil of Darkness just says "Nah, i do what i want" in regards to that part of the rule, otherwise it wouldnt work at all since going to reserves would keep them off the board for a table.

Interceptor could fire at a Mawloc twice though, if it burrowed twice in a game and survived long enough (unlikely lol) since it goes into "ongoing reserves" when it burrows.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in pl
Numberless Necron Warrior




Cracow

Can interceptor fire at target that goes out an ogoing reserve?

6000 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Absolutely. It's one reason why if you use flyers, it's a good idea to try and nuke any interceptor units that threaten them before moving off the board.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in gb
Changing Our Legion's Name



Coventry

BRB Specifies that you must be in reserve to arrive by DeepStrike, Codex states "The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield" no mention of reserves, Codex rules always override BRB - so no, you can't fire interceptor shots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/18 11:59:36


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: