Switch Theme:

Destroyer weapons and Look Out Sir  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Speed Drybrushing





The eye of terror

So my apoc groups facebook page is wondering if you can look out sir destroyer weapons by RAW, I'm on the fence, does look out sir count as a pseudo-save like feel no pain and RP or is it allowed as it isn't even a pseudo save.

Also if say a squad of six marines was under a D blast and you rolled for example 1,2,3,4,5,6 on the dice would one model survive as D weapons specify 'the model loses X wounds' thereby preventing spillover to the squad.


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

The only two situations that I am aware of that deny LOS! are
1) challenges
2) Vindicare sniper's Deadshot

So yes, you can LOS! wounds from a StrD weapon; and no, LOS! is no akin to FNP, since a model still dies with LOS! but does not die with FNP.

Clarify your second question?


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Speed Drybrushing





The eye of terror

Think I can agree on the first one, little clarification on the second one then. As D weapons don't roll to wound but instead roll on a table I was wondering if this prevented wound spillover, the table specifies the following:

1 - The model is unharmed
2-5 - The model loses D3+1 wounds
6 - The model loses D6+6 wounds

In a situation where 6 marines were under a D template and you rolled the full range on a D6 so 1-6 would this mean one of the squad survives as the table specifies that 'the model loses X wounds' rather than how it works for normal weapons. As one model has received an 'unharmed' result, or would the excess wounds from the 2-6 spillover into the squad.


 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




LOS could be a bad idea though. if a IC is under the template, he's taking d3+1 or d6+6 wounds, so he'll have to make 2-12 LOS to get rid of the wounds which could end up killing more models then just letting the IC take the wounds.

 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

sirlynchmob wrote:
LOS could be a bad idea though. if a IC is under the template, he's taking d3+1 or d6+6 wounds, so he'll have to make 2-12 LOS to get rid of the wounds which could end up killing more models then just letting the IC take the wounds.


That makes no sense. Thosr wounds are allicared in d3 and d6 groups as they are per model. Maked more sense to los based on rhose groupings.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Bausk wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
LOS could be a bad idea though. if a IC is under the template, he's taking d3+1 or d6+6 wounds, so he'll have to make 2-12 LOS to get rid of the wounds which could end up killing more models then just letting the IC take the wounds.


That makes no sense. Thosr wounds are allicared in d3 and d6 groups as they are per model. Maked more sense to los based on rhose groupings.


You can't look out if you have no wounds. so first you'd have to see how many wounds the character takes, then do the look out sirs.

 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

The model is taking x wounds. X being a standard wound or d3- d6 wounds. I agree that each wound neefs to be los'd raw but I disagree that it should.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I think a follow up question here should be "Do destroyer weapon hits inflict instant death?" If so, all it takes is 1 failed LOS roll and the IC is dead. Best case scenario you could push the wounds to the unit, but most Destroyer weapons shoot multiple times so it seems pointless when the IC will have to take the last Destroyer hit regardless.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




it's not ID

 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




I'd say the wounds don't spill over (if a squad member takes 3 for instance), because it's allocated by model as you quoted. For a character though, I'd say RAW he has to LOS all the wounds (d3/d6) because LOS is done after wounds are inflicted and is done for each wound individually.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/02 03:22:07


Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Order of opperations:

Shoot, determine hits, Roll for wounds, Declare LOS, allocate wounds, make saves (or dont, in the case of D weapons)


Since D weapons first roll on their chart for how many wounds they deal, i'd say for every successful LOS you would allocate each of the dice rolls.

In the example above, i would roll 5 look out sir rolls, and on a 1 then make you roll the D3+1 wounds that the singe failed LOS inflicted.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Destroyer weapons cause wounds to "the target" (which can only mean the target unit). It never actually says that those wounds are dealt to single models.

By strict RAW, this means that you roll to see how many wounds each hit deals, then allocate those wounds from the front as normal (or centre of the blast if it's a barrage). Yes, this means that a destroyer blast has a good chance of causing more wounds than models hit.

I don't think this is what was intended at all, so a viable house rule would be: Destroyer weapons automatically Wound the target, allocated as normal. When a model suffers an unsaved wound against a Destroyer weapon, do not deduct a Wounds from his profile as you normally would; instead, roll on the Destroyer table to see what happens.

Edit: looking at it more closely, the rule just says "lose X wounds", so it's clearly intended to apply to single models and does not really agree with my RAW solution above. The wording is a mess, so I still think my house rule solution would work well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/02 22:06:14


 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




The digital book is different from the hard back book here. you're quoting the digital book, the hard back specifies that the model takes the X wounds.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: